Skip to Main Content

International Relations *

A guide to databases and scholarly online sources that support conducting research in international relations and comparative politics.

Introduction

This page consolidates the many scholarly, news, statistical, and multimedia resources available concerning the ongoing incursion into eastern Ukraine and the recent Russian invasion. For additional resources, refer to the relevant tabs in this guide or review the following USC Libraries research guides:

General Background Information

These are databases and websites that provide general background information about Ukraine and Russia and can be used to understand specific theories, concepts, terminology, events, and biographical profiles of key individuals associated with the conflict.

  • Biography Index Past and Present – combining retrospective coverage with current indexing, this database covers people from across all disciplines and areas of endeavor. Information on writers, artists, statesmen, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, actors, business people, and many other backgrounds is reflected in citations from thousands of periodicals internationally, plus notable books indexed back to 1946. Approximately 22,000 new citations are added each year.
  • Blackwell Online Reference -- brings together online research materials in the social sciences and humanities, with a particular strength in providing access to several hundred handbooks [a concise reference book that covers a specific subject area].
  • Credo Reference -- comprehensive collection of highly-specialized reference works, primarily dictionaries and encyclopedias, across all subject areas. Good place to go for succinct definitions of concepts, theories, or topics. Very good place to begin your search for background information.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library -- includes several hundred subject encyclopedias and other specialized reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities. A good source for authoritative background information.
  • Global Issues In Context -- offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online -- contains in-depth, high-level articles covering a variety of disciplines. Entries offer a thorough introduction to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
  • Oxford Reference Online -- provides access to the content of approximately 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press in a single cross-searchable resource.
  • OxResearch Database -- provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over scholars from leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Country Information

Listed below are scholarly sources where you can obtain cultural, socioeconomic, political, administrative, and historical information about Ukraine and Russia as well as links to Ukrainian government agencies. Use these sources to compare and contrast the profiles of each country and the fundamental internal dynamics of each leading up to and including Russia's invasion of Ukraine.

Directories and Scholarly Web Sites

  • BBC News Country Profiles [copy and paste this link: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/country_profiles/default.stm] -- provides information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories as well as maps, facts, and current leaders. Each profile includes links to news items on that country that have appeared on the BBC network.
  • CIA World Factbook -- provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Content is updated weekly as needed. This is a good source for basic, authoritative information about a country.
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine [copy and paste this link: http://www.encyclopediaofukraine.com/default.asp] – an on-going project sponsored by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies at the University of Alberta. Once completed, the encyclopedia will be the most comprehensive source of information in English on Ukraine, its history, people, geography, society, economy, and cultural heritage. Currently entries have been completed under the categories of history, land, people, culture, art, and literature.
  • Global Edge Country Profiles -- source for statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, the database includes summary information on historical, economic, and political conditions and risk assessment.
  • United Nations: Ukraine -- page devoted to the key activities of the United Nations in Ukraine. The site also provides up-to-date access to official pronouncements, stories, and press releases concerning the war in Ukraine and the role the UN is playing providing humanitarian, refugee settlement, and economic support.

Country Studies Research Databases

  • CultureGrams -- an online resource of concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. This resource offers facts and figures and more (photos, video streaming, interviews with natives, printable maps and tables, recipes, etc.) to deliver an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports -- a source of business intelligence on political and economic trends in 180 countries. An overall profile of each country is provided annually and a current report is produced quarterly. Both include current detailed statistics. Excellent resources for obtaining forecasts for future economic and political developments.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports Archive -- presents the historical reports from 1952 to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form, providing an archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts.
  • EMIS Intelligence -- updated daily, this database provides detailed coverage of research and analytical data and comparative analysis for over 125 emerging economies in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America. Country-specific information includes Russia and Ukraine, covering seventeen categories of economic indicators, full-text primary news sources, economic risk reports, industry analyses, legal information, and the latest news on economic policy, economic forecasts, gross domestic product, domestic prices and inflation, exchange rate, and foreign investments that can be tracked over time.
  • HeinOnline World Constitutions Illustrated -- this database includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for most countries. It also includes periodicals, full-text books, bibliographic references and links to scholarly articles and online resources. Access by clicking on link in left-hand column.

Ukrainian Government

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Maps

Links to maps and interactive visualization sites that can help you understand the spatial positions and relationships among cities, rural areas, transportation corridors, and natural features within Ukraine as well as resources that visualize specific aspects of the war.

  • Historical Maps of Ukraine and Recent Russian Invasion -- maps available from edmaps.com, a free online cartographic resource site for global and domestic maps.
  • Historical Ukraine Maps -- a list of maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, unless otherwise indicated.
  • LandScan High Definition (HD) Data for Ukraine -- completed and released in January 2022. LandScan provides gridded population estimates at 3 arc-second (~100m) resolution. Values for each LandScan HD cell represent an ambient (i.e., 24 hour average) population count estimate.  In this way, the data capture the full potential activity space of people throughout the course of the day and night rather than just a residential location. Informative perspective just before the invasion. Note that you must fill out a form to obtain a free copy of LandScan HD for Ukraine.
  • Live Universal Awareness Map [Liveuamap] -- a leading independent global news and information site dedicated to factual reporting of a variety of important topics including conflicts, human rights issues, protests, terrorism, weapons deployment, health matters, natural disasters, and weather related stories, among others, from a vast array of sources.
  • MAPA: Digital Atlas of Ukraine -- a program, undertaken by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University and its partners, brings the latest innovations of information technology to studies of modern Ukrainian history and contemporary political geography. Available for scholars and students to use Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for illustrating and explaining economic, historical, political, and social transformations within Ukraine using spatial and temporal analysis.
  • Mapping the Russian Invasion of Ukraine -- a project created by the Institute for the Study of War and the Critical Threats Project in Washington, D.C. that includes information briefs and updated maps of Russian maneuvers.
  • Russia Invades Ukraine -- maps depicting occupied territories and related graphics on refugees with a timeline of events from the Reuters news service.
  • Russian-Ukraine Monitor Map -- a crowdsourced effort by the Centre for Information Resilience, Bellingcat, Mnemonic, Conflict Intelligence Team, and the wider open source community to map, document, and verify significant incidents during the conflict in Ukraine.
  • Russia's War on Ukraine MEDEVAC Operations --  up-to-date map created by the European Commission's Directorate-General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations [Reliefweb] that show the medical evacuation of displaced people from Ukraine in need of medical care. Updates and infographics of fifteen other countries providing humanitarian assistance are included. Excellent source for understanding current humanitarian aid conditions in Europe resulting from the war.
  • Russo-Ukraine War - 2022 -- a daily compilation of maps produced by various news organizations, research centers, and other entities dating from pre-war period to the present. Site is sponsored by GlobalSecurity.org, a public policy organization that provides background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security. Site includes advertisements to support open access to contents. Good source for reviewing maps over time.
  • Satellite Images Map of Ukraine -- a project created by Dr. Hidenori Watanave, University of Tokyo, that incorporates satellite images, drone footage, and 3D visualization to track, organize, and verify damage to Ukraine, as well impacts on the civilian population. Various cities and regions in Ukraine have been mapped so far, including Mariupol, Irpin, Chernihiv, and Bucha.
  • Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus: Crop Production Maps -- created by the USDA, Foreign Agricultural Service, International Production Assessment Division [IPAD], a collection of maps that show crop condition assessments and estimates of area, yield, and production for barley, corn, millet, rapeseed, soybean, sunflower seed, and wheat. The IPAD home page includes up-to-date maps on the war’s impact of food production in Ukraine [e.g., Ukraine Wheat: Russian Invasion of Ukraine Reduces MY 2022/23 Production by 35 Percent map and press release].
  • Ukraine-Russia Port Situation Map -- created by Wilhelmsen Company, a comprehensive global maritime group based in Norway, the site provides an interactive map covering various new restrictions and regulations on vessels and port of calls in the Black Sea and the Sea of Azov. Click on each port or country in the map to view the latest port restrictions and updates. Map is updated up to two times per day; the last updated timestamp can be found in the map's legend information box.
  • VIINA/Violent Incident Information from News Articles -- a spatial visualization resource created by Dr. Yuri Zhukov at the University of Michigan, this site scrapes and parses news reports from Ukrainian and Russian media, geocodes them, and classifies them into standard conflict event categories (e.g. firefight, artillery shelling) through machine learning. All the data are now publicly available through GitHub.
  • World Bank Map -- interactive map for visualizing The World Bank projects and datasets to gain insights across areas of interest, including regions, countries, custom areas, and more.

“Maps Show–and Hide–Key Information about Ukraine War.”

An article written by Dr. Timothy Barney, an Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Communication Studies, University of Richmond, that critiques the inherent incompleteness of maps, in this case maps visualizing the war in Ukraine. The article was written for The Conversation, a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good [note that the article itself may be incomplete, but it could be useful in critically assessing how maps visualize the war].

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Statistical Sources

Listed below are comprehensive and specialized statistical sources for locating essential data, both contemporary and historical, about Ukraine and Russia and in relation to the war.

Ukrainian Government Sources

  • National Bank of Ukraine Statistics -- links to economic and financial data for use in making monetary policy decisions and monitoring compliance with policy decisions. The data are also used to conduct macroeconomic analyses, assess financial stability, and inform users including government bodies, financial market participants, and the public.
  • State Statistics Service of Ukraine [copy and paste this link: http://www.ukrstat.gov.ua/] -- official government agency under the Ministry of Economic Development and Trad responsible for collection and dissemination of statistics in Ukraine. Areas of coverage include population and migration, demographics, labor market, trade, industry, energy, income and living conditions, communities and housing, and education.

Conflict-Related Sources

  • ICRC Resource Centre: Ukraine -- page providing search results sorted in chronological order of International Committee of the Red Cross humanitarian mission initiatives relating to the war. Among the results are links to news releases, articles, videos, photo galleries, and official statements.
  • International Monetary Fund: Ukraine -- a portal to coverage of the war in Ukraine and its impact on Europe analyzed by experts at the IMF. The page includes links to press releases, news coverage, blog entries, and videos concerning the crisis as well as country data and analysis.
  • Peacemaker -- website and NGO based in Kyev that publishes a running list, and sometimes personal information, of people who are considered by authors of the organization to be "enemies of Ukraine," or, as stated on the website, individuals "whose actions have signs of crimes against the national security of Ukraine, peace, human security, and the international law". The website was launched in December 2014 by Ukrainian politician and activist Georgy Tuka.
  • Russia Sanctions Dashboard -- a visualization dashboard that tracks consolidated Russia sanctions data. The page is updated weekly. Russia sanctions are divided as before February 21 when Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized separatists in Donetsk and Luhansk as independent and ordered Russian troops to the region and February 22nd when U.S. and allies responded with the first of what would become thousands of sanctions.
  • Russia-Ukraine War 2022  -- compiled and published from Statistica, a database that consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources, this page provides links to data related to the war. Data covers military capabilities, military assistance, civilian deaths, number of refugee, international reaction, impact on selected industries, impact on selected companies, public opinion in Ukraine and Russia, and public opinion worldwide.
  • Ukraine Crisis -- data hub from the Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED), a disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project, that aims to provide near real-time statistics that can be used to monitor key conflict developments. The site is updated once a week, on Tuesdays, with data covering events from the previous Saturday through Friday.
  • Ukraine Data Explorer -- produced by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs Humanitarian Data Exchange group, this is an open platform for sharing data across crises and organizations. The site provides access to statistical and visualization data that measures the humanitarian impact of the war.
  • Ukraine Data Grid  -- a compilation of statistics presented by The Humanitarian Data Exchange, an organization of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. Data is tagged regarding its level of completeness in addressing how essential for preparedness and emergency response the data is. Data sets are posted as they become available.
  • Ukraine Refugee Situation Data Portal -- a portal that contains the latest statistics on refugee arrivals from Ukraine to major receiving countries created and maintained by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees agency.
  • Ukraine Sponsorship Scheme -- a website of the United Kingdom government that contains detailed Excel file data on visas applicants issued to join family members or extend their stay in the UK under the Ukraine Sponsorship Scheme. Tables also include numbers of visas sponsored and issued by the Scottish Government and the Welsh Government.
  • Ukraine Support Tracker -- a project of the Kiel Institute for the World Economy at Kiel University in Germany that lists and quantifies military, financial, and humanitarian aid to Ukraine in the context of the Russia-Ukraine war. This third and current version covers government commitments between January 24 and May 10, 2022. The data covers support by 37 governments, including all G7 and European Union member countries by EU institutions (thus including 38 donors). The institute also added a section estimating government cost of hosting Ukrainian refugees. Private donations and aid through non-governmental are not included. An update will be posted on June 15, 2022.
  • Ukrainian Citizens in the EU --  presents available data on migration from Ukraine from the Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union. Migration from Ukraine data covers the period between 2013 and 2021, which includes the separatist conflict in the Donbas region and the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia. The statistics refer to Ukrainian nationals who either hold a valid residence permit, have acquired a first residence permit, or have lodged an asylum application in the EU. An update of data is planned for September 2022.
  • War in Ukraine -- access to various indicators and visualizations providing context for the war from Our World in Data, an organization based in England devoted to advancing access to knowledge that addresses large global problems, such, as, poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and social inequality.

Specialized Statistical Sources on Ukraine

  • ARDA Data Archive: Ukraine -- a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the Association of Religion Data Archives supported by several universities in the United States. The profile provides data from 2014 or 2015 covering religious demographics, religious denominations, public opinion, and constitution excerpts that reference religion.
  • Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation: Ukraine -- founded in 2007 with the goal of providing an impartial, evidence-based picture of global health trends, this site provides current and forecasted data concerning health, health services, population, and death and disability causes for Ukraine. Also included is a comprehensive list of up-to-date and historical health-related datasets. Impact of the war is not included in the data, but this site is helpful in providing a comprehensive healthcare profile of the country.
  • Migration Data Portal: Ukraine -- created by the International Organization for Migration, the portal provides data and analysis on a variety of issues associated with migration, including migration governance indicators, legal and regulatory frameworks related to border control and enforcement policies, mobility dimensions of crises, indicators on countries’ policies for managing the socioeconomic well-being of migrants, and efforts to cooperate on migration-related issues with other states.
  • OEC Ukraine -- created by the Observatory of Economic Complexity, an online data visualization and distribution platform focused on the geography and dynamics of economic activities, this site visualizes key import and export data on Ukraine. Access to the latest business data trends presented at the most granular resolution requires free sign-in and password creation.
  • OSCE Hate Crime Reporting: Ukraine -- provides data on incidents of hate crimes in Ukraine that is current to 2020 compiled by the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights. The office defines hate crimes as criminal acts motivated by bias or prejudice towards particular groups of people with evidence of  a criminal offence and a bias motivation. Includes external links to the Ukrainian the hate crime criminal code and more information found in the Tolerance and Non-Discrimination Information System (TANDIS).
  • Reuters COVID-19 Tracker: Ukraine -- a page devoted to reporting new Covid infections on average each day and daily reported trends graphs. Also covered is the doses of Covid vaccines administered.
  • Statcounter Social Media Stats Ukraine -- a page created by Statcounter, a web analytics service based in Dublin, Ireland, that shows discrete total figures and line graph data over time of page view user statistics for Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, and VKontakte. Data gathering is based on over 10 billion page views per month recorded across more than 2 million websites. More information about data collection methods and reliability can be found HERE.
  • Ukraine and the WTO -- page of the World Trade Organization that gathers key information on Ukraine's participation in the WTO. Data includes trade statistics, goods, services schedules and tariff data, trade disputes involving Ukraine, and specific trade concerns (STCs) involving draft laws, regulations or procedures that may affect their trade. Also available is a downloadable copy of the publication, “The Crisis in Ukraine: Implications of the War for Global Trade and Development.” Ukraine joined the organization in May 2008.
  • Ukraine International Student Statistics -- compiled by Erudera, a global university and academic program search platform based in Kosovo, provides data derived from official government agency sites on the number of international students studying in Ukranian universities and their place of origin. The site states that "official Ukrainian web sites where such statistics can be found are currently unavailable," but the site remains helpful in understanding the number of international students studying in Ukraine just prior to the war and likely displaced as a result.
  • UNESCO: Ukraine [copy and past his link: http://uis.unesco.org/country/UA] -- comprehensive education statistics compiled by the UNESCO Institute of Statistics. Coverage includes data on the education system, participation in education, progress and completion in education, education expenditures, illiterate population data, and literacy rate. Note that most data is not current.
  • WIPO Statistical Country Profiles: Ukraine -- statistical profile of Ukraine’s intellectual property system for economic, social and cultural development. Site is maintained by WIPO, the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation and a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 193 member states. Data current to 2020.
  • World Prison Brief: Ukraine -- a unique database that provides free access to information about prison systems throughout the world using data largely derived from governmental or other official sources. Each country page gives information on total prison populations, and prison population rates per 100,000 of the national population, the use of imprisonment for women, juveniles and foreign nationals, the extent of pre-trial/remand imprisonment, and news and official reports on prison conditions. Useful for understanding Ukraine’s prison system and incarceration data before the war.

Comprehensive

  • Country Statistical Yearbooks: An Alphabetical Index -- links to the most recent regional and country-specific yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 154 countries worldwide. Includes sources for both Ukraine and Russia. Presented by the Data & Information Services Center at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
  • Data Planet -- an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
  • EuroStat -- the statistical office of the European Union and provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
  • International Monetary Fund's eLibrary -- provides access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. IMF includes information about macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction.
  • National Statistical Offices -- a directory of country-specific statistical agencies maintained and updated by the United Nations Statistics Division. Also included is a list of countries and organizations which includes a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical program and much more.
  • OECDiLibrary -- this is the full-text publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and includes comparable statistics and economic and social data. The OECD monitors trends, analyzes and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade, environment, agriculture, technology, taxation and more.
  • United Nations Comtrade Database -- a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.
  • UNdata -- database facilitates searching and downloading of official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, including estimates and projection, and a variety of statistical resources from the UN system. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.
  • World Development Indicators -- contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960 to the present for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.
  • World Bank Comprehensive DataBank -- an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

News Coverage and Opinion

Below are links to news outlets and news agencies. Use these resources to locate the most current coverage of the war in Ukraine as well as coverage from the beginning of the war in 2014. You can also use these sites as sources of direct evidence about how various media outlets interpret the war and its consequences for the countries involved, for Europe, for the United States, and the world at large.

Ukrainian News Outlets

  • Euromaidan Press -- an online English-language independent newspaper, it focuses on events concerning Ukraine and provides translations of Ukrainian news, expert analyses, and independent research.
  • GORDONUA -- a site of news and opinion moderated by founder Dmitrij Gordon, a prominent Ukrainian journalist. He was the first journalist allowed to conduct a long interview with President Volodymyr Zelensky.
  • Hromadske International -- brings together high-quality journalism, new media tools, and objective analysis in one place. Launched in 2014, Hromadske was founded by a team of Ukrainian and foreign journalists that broadcasts in Ukrainian, English and Russian. Content includes news reports, analysis, a weekly wrap-up of issues, and special projects.
  • Interfax-Ukraine News Agency -- provides news about recent political developments in Ukraine, key Ukrainian economic news, and major current events in the the region and the rest of the world. The agency has been an information provider in the political and economic information market of Ukraine since 1992. The company is a subsidiary of the Russian newsgroup Interfax Information Services.
  • The Kyiv Independent -- Ukraine’s English-language media outlet, created by journalists who were fired from the Kyiv Post for defending editorial independence.
  • Kyiv Post  -- Ukraine's oldest English-language newspaper since 1995.
  • The New Voice of Ukraine -- an independent media holding founded in 2014 by a team of professional journalists. Today, the holding includes the NV weekly news magazine, the NV.ua news website, the Radio NV nationwide talk radio station, and panel discussions.
  • UkraineWorld -- an English-language multimedia project about Ukraine run by Internews Ukraine that produces articles, podcasts, video explainers, analyses, and books about Ukraine in English.
  • Ukrainian Journal [copy and paste this link: http://www.ukrainianjournal.com/] -- an English-language daily newsletter covering breaking political and business news from Ukraine.
  • The Ukrainian Week -- the international, English-language edition of the popular illustrated Ukrainian weekly magazine. Includes access to stories covering politics, economics, society, culture, history, science, and opinion. The site also includes an archive of issues from 2011 to 2020.
  • Ukrainska Pravda -- a Ukrainian online newspaper published mainly in Ukrainian, with selected articles published in or translated to Russian and English. The newspaper is tailored for a general readership with an emphasis on the politics of Ukraine.
  • Ukrinform -- founded in 1918, this is the only state-owned news agency of Ukraine. The agency has the largest network of regional and foreign news bureaus with correspondents working in most regions of Ukraine and in separate ten countries.
  • UkrStream.TV -- a channel created with personal resources of the media organization’s employees and financed by voluntary donations. UkrStream.TV provides viewers with an opportunity to see everything with their own eyes–no mounting and no comments--just events as they are.
  • UNIAN -- the Ukrainian Independent Information Agency of News is a Kyiv-based independent news agency that publishes political, business and financial information, including coverage of the war In Ukrainian and English. Ukrainian news agency.
  • United News of Ukraine -- an all-encompassing news service to cover the conflict produced by the four largest media groups in Ukraine forged with the co-operation of the Ministry of Culture and Information Policy, the Armed Forces of Ukraine, the National Security and Defense Council, the Office of the President of Ukraine and other government bodies. Listen to coverage in Ukrainian, Russian, or English with RadioPlayer

 Russian News Outlets

  • Agentstvo (in Russian) — independent investigative reporting from Russian journalists forced to flee abroad.
  • Meduza -- an independent Russian news source based in Latvia (in Russian and English). Includes a section devoted to the war in Ukraine.
  • Moscow Times -- an independent Amsterdam-based English-language and Russian-language online newspaper. It became online-only in July 2017.
  • Sputnik News (Russian state-owned)
  • TASS (Russian state-owned)

International News Sources -- News Aggregators

  • Access World News -- provides full-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. Mostly English language news coverage with approximately 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans, and other languages. Currently the database provides full-text access to seven news sources from Ukraine and four news sources from Russia.
  • Facts On File World News Digest -- brings together an archival record of domestic and international news, updated weekly and containing more than one million internal hyperlinks and new features such as tabbed search results. The contents cover all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
  • EurasiaNet -- provides information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in the countries of Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia. The web site also offers additional features, including news maker interviews and book reviews.
  • Euro/Topics -- a database that provides information about more than 500 print and online media in over 30 countries. Content is brought together by correspondents in all the EU member states as well as Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine across the entire political spectrum  Political, economic and social issues are continually examined from different perspectives. Brief introductions supply background information on the debates. Links to the original texts and media are also provided.
  • Project Syndicate -- a non-profit international media organization that publishes and syndicates commentary and analysis on a variety of global topics.
  • ProQuest Global Breaking Newswires -- an aggregated full-text news database with access to current news, newswires, newsfeeds, news from all around the world. Updated three times per day, it is a continually-growing archive of news content that may not be captured via traditional print or online sources.
  • ProQuest Global Newsstream -- provides access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites from around the world. News content is updated daily with archives dating back to 1980.

International News Sources -- News Organizations

  • Aljazeera - Ukraine War Coverage -- launched in 1996, Al Jazeera Arabic was the first independent news channel in the Arab world dedicated to providing comprehensive news and live debate. Al Jazeera English, which was launched in 2006, is part of a growing network comprising more than 10 channels and divisions.
  • BBC-Ukraine Conflict -- provides up-to-date coverage of the war produced by the British Broadcasting Corporation.
  • Bellingcat Ukraine -- a collection of stories written about the war in Ukraine based on in situ data gathering techniques and on-ground observations by an independent international collective of researchers, investigators and citizen journalists using open source and social media sources to gather information about the war.
  • Deutsche Welle Europe -- Germany’s international broadcaster providing comprehensive coverage of news within Europe, including extensive coverage of the war in Ukraine.
  • The Economist - Ukraine at War -- provides access to news articles and general coverage of the war from The Economist Group, an independent global media and information-services company.
  • The Guardian - Ukraine Coverage -- covering American and international news for an online, global audience from one of the leading newspapers in England.
  • Politico - War in Ukraine -- coverage of the war from the global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization that launched in Europe in 2015.
  • Radio Free Europe - Russia Invades Ukraine -- access to coverage by a branch of Radio Liberty, a private, nonprofit corporation, funded by a grant from the U.S. Congress.
  • SkyNews: Ukraine Invasion Explained -- in addition to live updates by journalists in the field, this page links readers by topic to news stories on specific topics.

Domestic News Sources -- Wire Services

Domestic News Sources -- National Newspapers

Podcasts

  • State of Ukraine -- short podcasts, multiple times a day, from National Public Radio.
  • The World -- National Public Radio's longest-running daily global news program and podcast site. Many current podcasts cover current developments about the war in Ukraine.
  • Ukrainecast -- brings the latest from the Russian invasion of Ukraine featuring veteran BBC news correspondents.
  • UkraineWorld -- an English-language multimedia project about Ukraine run by Internews Ukraine. The group produces articles, podcasts, video explainers, analyses, and books about Ukraine in English.

Identifying Disinformation

Films and Video Resources

These are selected film and documentary sources that will help you understand the war as seen through the visual lens of first-hand accounts and in-depth analysis by scholars.

USC Libraries Streaming Video Sources

Analysis by Scholars

Original Source: Ukraine Research Guide, Ohio State University Libraries

Finding Articles in Scholarly Databases

As a dynamic, on-going event, scholars are just beginning to analyze, interpret, and study the current Russian invasion of Ukraine. Use these databases to identify emerging studies about the war and its implications from a multidisciplinary perspective and within the context of specific discipline-based paradigms.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES


SPECIFIC POPULATION GROUPS

Multidisciplinary databases that can be used to understand the impact of the war on particular groups.

  • AgeLine -- provides aging-related research content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, and indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos from 1978 to the present.
  • Child Development and Adolescent Studies -- citations to social and behavioral sciences literature related to growth and development of children though the age of 21, including book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations. Key database for understanding the effects of war on children plus coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
  • Family and Society Studies Worldwide -- comprehensive, systematic, and non-evaluative resource of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, and human development. Records drawn from professional journals, books, conference papers, government reports, and other scholarly sources as well as popular literature.
  • LGBTQ+ Life -- comprehensive resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and transsexual issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content, such as, non-fiction books, bibliographies, and dissertations.
  • Sociological Abstracts -- database for locating articles in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences obtained from more than 1,800 international journals as well as citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage from 1952 to the present.
  • Women's Studies International -- a research database for women’s studies and feminist research, providing indexing and abstracts to more than 810 journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, research reports, and dissertations. It is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, human rights, and international relations.

BUSINESS AND ECONOMICS

These databases access research that relates to business and economics and can help identify studies about a particular company or industry impacted by the war.

  • ABI/Inform Complete -- articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times, covering all aspects of business and the private sector. Good source for studies about the relationship between the private sector and war.
  • EconLit -- provides coverage of a wide range research literature related to economics, business economics, and social economics. Covers both theoretical and applied aspects of economics and related disciplines from the social sciences.

COMMUNICATIONS

Databases covering research in the fields of journalism and communication studies as well as the use of language. These are good sources for studies about the role of social media during the war and the rhetoric of war.

  • Communication Source -- a comprehensive source of communication-related journal articles, research reports, working papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information centers. Includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication studies. Good source for studies about misinformation and disinformation.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts -- accesses the international literature in linguistics and all aspects of the study of language, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. Important database to understanding the use of language in communicating policy during war and the topic of propaganda.

ETHICS

Key database to understand ethical issues related to war.

  • Philosopher's Index -- a comprehensive database covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database provides access to records from publications that date back to 1902 and originate from 139 countries in 37 languages. A good database for finding literature on the ethical questions of war and conflict.

HEALTHCARE

Databases that cover research in the areas of healthcare services and medicine. Use these to find research about the provision of healthcare during conflicts.

  • CINAHL Complete -- comprehensive database offering full-text access to more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals, with additional indexing of more than 5,400 journals, from 1937 to present. Provides thorough coverage of global peer-reviewed open access journals. Use this database to find studies about the role of nurses and allied health professionals during war [e.g., dental hygienists, clinical psychologists, occupational and physical therapists, rehabilitation counselors, speech language pathologists].
  • Global Health -- covers all aspects of public health issues and policies at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields.
  • PubMed@USC -- a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books from around the world. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.

HISTORY

Databases to discover how historians have understood and analyzed the history of relations between Russia and Ukraine.

  • America: History and Life -- database that covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected indexing of relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for historical studies of U.S. relations with Ukraine and Russia.
  • Historical Abstracts -- covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over forty languages back to 1955 and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

Key databases for conducting research in the area of international relations. Click on the Finding Articles in Databases tab in this guide for a complete list of IR databases.

  • Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO] -- provides the full text of a wide range of scholarship books, working papers from universities and research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • IREON Portal -- contains more than 5 million references covering topics, such as, foreign and security policy, business administration, economics and business practice, international cooperation and development policy, European politics and transatlantic relations, regional and country studies worldwide, foreign cultural policy, and climate and environment, energy. NOTE: Your browser may post a security warning when clicking on the site, but this is only due to an unfamiliar domain designation [de] and not a true security risk to your computer.
  • Public Affairs Information Services [PAIS] -- indexes selective subjects and bibliographic access to journal and magazine articles, books, research reports, gray literature, U.S. Congressional hearings and other government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Includes historical coverage from 1915 to the present and therefore, can be a good source for understanding relevant research published at certain moments in history.

LAW

Databases that provide access to studies about the legal aspects of war.

  • European Justice --  provides access to information on justice systems and justice throughout the European Union. The database covers legal information regarding family matters for cross-border issues, detailed information on the process of taking legal action in the EU, various pages pertaining to EU citizens' rights, and applicable legislation to EU citizens and case law judgements.
  • HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database -- [from law library e-resources list] includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent international law yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more.
  • HeinOnline Law Journal Library -- provides full text access to digitized content of major legal research journals. This is where to go to find legal analysis of the war and war in the context of international treaty instruments and human rights and other relevant law.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals -- [from law library e-resources list] a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. The database covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. Excellent source for legal analysis outside of the English-speaking world.
  • International Criminal Court -- investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.
  • Nations of the World - Library of Congress -- an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law. Includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information for different nations, including both Ukraine and Russia.

MILITARY STUDIES

These databases access research about the history of war and society, military practices and institutions, and politico-military affairs.

  • Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals -- an index to significant articles, news items, book reviews and editorials from sixty-three English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Coverage from 1988 to the present with content updated continuously.
  • Military Database -- covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. Included among its contents are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
  • Military and Intelligence Database Collection -- provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
  • SIPRI Yearbook -- provides an overview of developments in international security, weapons and technology, military expenditure, the arms trade and arms production, and armed conflicts, along with efforts to control conventional, nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.

POLITICS AND PUBLIC POLICY

Databases for locating studies on policy-making and politics. Useful for understanding the role of politics, political parties, and the administration of government before and during the war.

  • Policy File Index -- provides full-text access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature published by a wide variety of think tanks, research institutes, and agencies. PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents.
  • Public Administration Abstracts -- provides information on public administration-related publications worldwide covering such areas as administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel, and theory and method.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- indexes international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States. Essential for understanding the political dimensions of war.

PSYCHOLOGY

Comprehensive database of research concerning psychological and personal issues related to the war and its consequences on personal well-being.

  • PsycInfo -- database devoted to scholarly literature of journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations, and research reports in psychology and the behavioral sciences. This is the key database for locating research on the psychological aspects of war and its consequences.
  • Violence and Abuse Abstracts -- covers essential topics related to the study of the legal, medical, psychological, and social aspects of all types of interpersonal violence, including child abuse, domestic violence, rape and sexual harassment, gang violence, and elder abuse. Coverage dates from 1986 to the present. Helpful for accessing studies concerning personal violence and abuse that occurs during war.

Using Google Scholar to Expand Your Search Results

A useful strategy to expand the number of studies you find about your topic is to paste into Google Scholar the title of a relevant article or research report you find from searching a database [link to Google Scholar from the USC Libraries’ main web page by scrolling down under Database Quick Links to ensure you have access to the full-text of anything you find].

If the title of the article or report appears in Google Scholar, look to see if anyone has subsequently cited that item by clicking on the “Cited by” link followed by a number just below the record [e.g., "Cited by 45"]. The number indicates how many times the original source has subsequently been cited by other authors in other studies. This is an excellent way to expand the scope of your review of the literature by locating related, more recently published research on your topic.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Non-governmental Organizations

Academic research centers play an instrumental role in monitoring and conducting research about the war. Non-governmental organizations are active in designing, implementing, and overseeing programs that help people affected by the war in areas, such as, peace building, refugee assistance, child welfare, medical care, and general humanitarian assistance.

NOTE: These organizations may be funded or created for specific purposes, which could be interpreted as being biased in their purpose and, as a consequence, how they report their research. Always read the organization's vision and mission statements and think critically about how this relates to the work that they do and why they are doing it.

Ukrainian-Specific Centers

  • Children Advisory Council -- organization in Ukraine dedicated to providing mental health resources for children affected by war.
  • CultProtest.Me -- artist-led protest site related to the revolutions in Belarus and Ukraine initiated by artist Maxim Tyminko. Each piece of art has a description and artist name.
  • Documenting Ukraine -- a project of the Institute for Human Sciences (Vienna), supports journalists, scholars, artists, public intellectuals, and archivists based in Ukraine as they work on documentation projects that establish and preserve a factual record, through reporting, gathering published source material, or collecting oral testimony; or bring meaning to events through artistic interpretation and intellectual reflection.
  • Policy Commons: Ukraine-Russia -- site contains a list of reports, articles and other documents on the background to the ongoing war in Ukraine and commentary on possible futures.
  • Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Online (SUCHO) -- a group of cultural heritage professionals–librarians, archivists, researchers, programmers–working together to identify and archive at-risk sites, digital content, and data in Ukrainian cultural heritage institutions while the country is under attack.
  • Ukraine Conflict Web Archive -- this collection seeks to document conflict in Ukraine. Contributions to this collection were made by the Archive-It team and subject matter experts from Stanford University, Library of Congress, Global Investigative News Network, and Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute in the fields of investigative journalism, Russian, and Eurasian studies.
  • Ukrainian Institute -- governmental organization with the mission of strengthening Ukraine internationally and domestically as a subject using the tools of cultural diplomacy.
  • Vostok SOS -- a non-governmental organization providing comprehensive assistance to conflict-affected persons and IDPs, promoting democratic transformation and human rights values in Ukraine.
U. S. and International Organizations
 
  • Ukraine [Atlantic Council] -- the Atlantic Council promotes constructive leadership and engagement in international affairs based on the Atlantic Community’s central role in meeting global challenges. The Council provides an essential forum for navigating the dramatic economic and political changes defining the twenty-first century by informing and galvanizing its uniquely influential network of global leaders. The Council also publishes Ukraine Alert, a comprehensive blog that provides regular news and analysis on developments in Ukraine’s politics, economy, civil society, and culture.
  • Crisis Crossroads: Ukraine [Center for Strategic & International Studies] -- highlights timely analysis by CSIS scholars on the evolving situation in Ukraine and its security, economic, energy, and humanitarian effects. The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization dedicated to advancing practical ideas to address the world’s greatest challenges.
  • Ukraine [Chatham House] -- research analyses that attempts to reform a difficult economic and social structure, and the ongoing conflict in its eastern region which leaves it vulnerable. Chatham House is an independent policy institute and a trusted forum for debate and dialogue.
  • Ukraine [Council on Foreign Relations] -- the Council is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
  • Russia Invades Ukraine [Danish Institute for International Studies] -- a compilation of the latest and most relevant research and publications to provide background to the conflict and its possible consequences. DIIS is an independent public research institution for international studies. It conducts and communicate multidisciplinary research and aims to be agenda-setting in research, policy and public debate.
  • Ukraine [Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors without Borders] -- a page devoted to describing the organization's emergency response in Ukraine and in neighboring countries. The site includes data and press releases and "Voices from the Field" reports [personal stories] about emergency supply donations to hospitals and providing vital training to their staff and other essential initiatives.
  • Think Tank Reports on the Invasion of Ukraine [European Council] -- a non-exhaustive collection of reports on the invasion of Ukraine, covering the period from February 2022 to the present, which is regularly updated.
  • Solidarity with Ukraine [European Union] -- web portal to information about EU support to Ukraine, actions related to the war, a platform that describes efforts to address the financing gap and the longer-term reconstruction of Ukraine, a timeline, links to the latest press releases and news, and factsheets and key documents.
  • Policy Insight [The German Marshall Fund of the United States] -- GMF is a non-partisan policy organization committed to the idea that the United States and Europe are stronger together. GMF champions the principles of democracy, human rights, and international cooperation, which have served as the bedrock of peace and prosperity since the end of World War II, but are under increasing strain.
  • Russia's War on Ukraine [Harvard University Ukrainian Research Institute] – page contains resources that help explain the war, its history, and its consequences. Site includes access to publications program includes a peer-reviewed journal and a variety of monographs covering a wide range of disciplines and topics related to Ukraine, documents and tools to help scholars research and understand Ukraine, and various information briefs and research reports.
  • Ukraine [Human Rights Watch] -- portal to documents, coverage, and videos documenting Russia's full-scale military invasion of Ukraine and instances of indiscriminate attacks in violation of the laws of war that may amount to war crimes.
  • Ukraine [International Institute for Strategic Studies] – an international research institute that provides objective information on military, geopolitical and geo-economic developments in the form of publications, blogs, strategic commentary, and analysis. This page consolidates research about Ukraine.
  • Ukraine Conflict Updates [Institute for the Study of War] [copy and paste this link: http://www.iswresearch.org/search/label/Ukraine] -- the Institute advances an informed understanding of military affairs through reliable research, trusted analysis, and innovative education. It is committed to improving the nation’s ability to execute military operations and respond to emerging threats in order to achieve U.S. strategic objectives. ISW is a non-partisan, non-profit public policy research organization.
  • Eastern Europe [International Crisis Group] -- a transnational non-profit, non-governmental organization founded in 1995 used by policymakers and academics, performing research and analysis on global crises focused on preventing wars and shaping policies that will build a more peaceful world.
  • Country Focus Ukraine [International Institute for Strategic Studies] -- an international research institute that produces independent, policy-relevant objective information on military, geopolitical, and geo-economic developments that could lead to conflict. data about conflict, however caused, that may have an important military dimension. Analysts continuously collect and validate defense data on 171 countries.
  • LSE Expertise: Ukraine and the Global Response [London School of Economics and Politics] – academic research and commentary on the unfolding situation in Ukraine. Page includes links to blogs and articles, media commentary, and publications.
  • Focus: Ukraine [Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies] -- a research center at Cornell University that offers analysis of the Ukraine crisis written by scholars working at the center. The site also includes videos and opinion pieces.
  • Ukraine [Modern War Institute] -- the Institute at West Point generates new knowledge for the profession of arms, enhances the West Point curriculum, and provides the Army and the Nation with an intellectual resource for solving military problems. MWI has three mutually supporting functions: Research, Educate, and Integrate.
  • Ukraine Latest News and Statements [Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe] -- regional security-oriented intergovernmental organization in Europe with observer status at the United Nations. Its mandate includes issues such as arms control, promotion of human rights, freedom of the press, and free and fair elections.
  • Ukraine War [Peace Research Institute Oslo] -- a private research institution in peace and conflict studies that conducts research on the conditions for peaceful relations between states, groups, and people.
  • Ukraine [Polish Institute of International Affairs] -- a leading Central European think tank that positions itself between the world of politics and independent analysis. PISM provides analytical support to decision-makers and diplomats, initiates public debate, and disseminates expert knowledge about contemporary international relations.
  • Ukraine Experts [PONARS Eurasia: Program on New Approaches to Research and Security in Eurasia] -- a network of over 125 academics, mainly from North America and post-Soviet Eurasia, advancing new approaches to research on security, politics, economics, and society in Russia and Eurasia. PONARS Eurasia offers analysis and influences policy debates through its policy memos, commentaries, online academy videos, podcasts, and special projects.
  • Ukraine [Rand Corporation] -- nonprofit global policy think tank that helps improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis. RAND was created after individuals in the War Department, the Office of Scientific Research and Development, and industry began to discuss the need for a private organization to connect operational research with research and development decisions.
  • Russia Monitor [Rondeli Foundation] -- this site is dedicated to monitoring and understanding modern Russia’s military, diplomatic, information, and other activities beyond its borders that have impact on its neighbors, on the West, and on the global international system. Project staff monitor Russia’s armed forces and military policy, its actions towards the neighbors and its global strategy as well as adding a Georgian perspective by watching Moscow’s policy in Georgia’s two regions which Russia currently occupies.
  • Crisis over Ukraine and European Security [Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies] -- an independent institution, RUSI produces evidence-based research, publications and events on defense, security and international affairs to help build a safer UK and a more secure, equitable and stable world.
  • Hindsight Up Front - Ukraine [Wilson Center] -- organization that identifies the key forces at play, assess their implications for critical American interests, and explore the viewpoints of all the major players in Europe’s first 21st century strategic crisis. The Wilson Center, chartered by Congress in 1968 as the official memorial to President Woodrow Wilson, is the nation’s key non-partisan policy forum for tackling global issues through independent research and open dialogue to inform actionable ideas for the policy community.
  • Ukraine Emergency Situation Reports [World Health Organization] – weekly situation reports providing information relating to population displacement, public health concerns and WHO actions in Ukraine.

Lesson Plans and Instructor Guides

These teaching resources compiled by the University of West Florida Libraries can be used by faculty to create lesson plans and classroom activities that help students learn about the war. Use the ERIC database at the bottom of the page to locate educational research regarding the pedagogical aspects of teaching about war and peace.

Lesson Plans and Teaching Guides

Research Database

  • ERIC -- a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of research and information covering all levels and aspects of education drawn from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, policy papers, dissertations, and books as well as curriculum guides. The database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education but it's coverage is international in scope.

Original Source: Lesson Plans and Teacher's Guides, Conflict in Ukraine Resource Guide, University of West Florida University Libraries