SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
These handbooks provide background information about contemporary global issues, events, or topics related to global governance. They are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Bächtiger, André, John S. Dryzek, Jane J. Mansbridge, and Mark E. Warren, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Deliberative Democracy. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JC 423 .O93 2018]
The handbook takes stock of deliberative democracy as a research field, as well as exploring and creating links with multiple disciplines and policy practice around the globe. It provides a concise history of deliberative ideals in political thought while also discussing their philosophical origins, locating deliberation in a political system with different spaces, publics, and venues, including parliament and courts but also governance networks, protests, mini-publics, old and new media, and everyday talk. It also documents the intersections of deliberative ideals with contemporary political theory.
Briguglio, Lino,et al, editors. Handbook of Governance in Small States. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This volume covers a wide spectrum of governance issues relating to small states in a global context, including the setting and implementation of policies aimed at managing a country or territory, and with the related institutional structures and interventions by political actors. The chapters are grouped into four sections broadly covering political, environmental, social and economic governance. Governance is influenced by many, often intertwined, factors; the division of the book into four parts therefore does not detract from the fact that governance is multifaceted, and such division was based on the primary focus of each particular study and its main disciplinary background.
Malito, Debora Valentina, Umbach, Gaby, and Bhuta, Nehal. The Palgrave Handbook of Indicators in Global Governance. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JF 1525 .P6 P354 2018]
This volume brings together contributions from scholars from a variety of disciplines and perspectives, as well as policy-makers from international organizations and non-government organizations working in the field, to examine the production, use, and contestation of indicators in global governance. It provides a comprehensive guide to research in the study of indicators and their use in global governance and policy making, summarizing the vast body of literature and practice on measuring governance and measurement as governance at the global level along with analysis of social science research on indicators at both the transnational and the global level.
Popelier, P., Giacomo Delledonne, and Nicholas Aroney, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Subnational Constitutions and Constitutionalism. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook provides a toolbox of definitions and typologies to develop a theory of multilevel constitutionalism and subnational constitutions. The volume examines systems with subnational entities that have full subnational constituent autonomy and systems where subnational constituent powers, while claimed by subnational governments, are incomplete or non-existent. Understanding why complete subnational constituent power exists or is denied sheds light on the status and functioning of subnational constitutions. The book deals with questions of how constitutions at multiple levels of a political system can co-exist and interact. The term 'multilevel constitutionalism', recognized as explaining how a supranational European constitution can exist alongside those of the Member States, is now used to capture dynamics between constitutions at the national, subnational and, where applicable, supranational levels. The book encompasses many different types of multi-tiered systems worldwide to map the possible meanings, uses and challenges of subnational or state constitutions in a variety of political and societal contexts.
Visoka, Gezim, John Doyle, and Edward Newman, editors. Routledge Handbook of State Recognition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This work provides a comprehensive and multidisciplinary overview of the theoretical and empirical aspects of state recognition in international politics. It brings together a group of international scholars who examine important theoretical and comparative perspectives on state recognition, including debates about pathways to secession and self-determination, the broad range of actors and strategies that shape the recognition of states, and a significant number of contemporary case studies. The handbook is organized into four key sections: theoretical and normative perspectives; pathways to independent statehood; actors, forms and the process of state recognition; and, case studies of contemporary state recognition.
Wilkenfeld, Jonathan, editor. Research Handbook on Mediating International Crises. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2019.
This book addresses current conceptions of mediation and the complexity and intricacy of modern conflicts by examining how international mediation practices, mechanisms, and institutions should adapt to the changing characteristics of contemporary international crises. Chapters consider the challenges facing the international community when aiming to achieve lasting resolutions in intrastate and interstate conflicts during acute periods of crisis and potential or actual violence escalation. The authors also provide much-needed context for ‘gray zone conflict’, the actions of non-state actors, gender dynamics, and biases that hinder mediation as well as mediation related to human security, climate diplomacy, and cyber disputes.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.