International Relations *

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of international energy and related areas of research.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Databases that offer multidisciplinary coverage of energy and extractive resources literature from scholarly and non-scholarly sources.

• Credo Reference -- comprehensive collection of highly-specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks across all subject areas. Good place to go for succinct definitions, explanations, and analysis of concepts, theories, or topics.
• Google Scholar -- the scholarly part of the Google empire. To set up Google Scholar with access to full-text journals and databases, go here.
• JSTOR -- a multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles covering most major disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for identifying historical research on a topic.
• Oxford Handbooks Online -- contains in-depth, high-level articles covering a variety of disciplines. Entries offer a thorough introduction to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
• Policy Commons -- platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, and intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations. The database provides advanced searching across millions of pages of books, articles, working papers, reports, policy briefs, data sets, tables, charts, media, case studies, and statistical publications, including archived reports from more than 200 defunct think tanks. Coverage is international in scope.
• ProQuest Multiple -- comprehensive, multidisciplinary database of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles updated daily. Content is more focused and manageable in locating relevant research than Google Scholar.

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH RESOURCES

Key Databases

• Energy Citations Database -- contains records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. The database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present and includes research published in research reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, and dissertations.
• Global Registry of Fossil Fuels – a new, open source repository of data on oil, gas and coal production and reserves worldwide, expressed in terms of its embedded carbon dioxide emissions and obtained from government and private-sector sources. The Registry contains data for over 50,000 fields in 89 countries representing projects covering 75% of global production and includes life-cycle emissions from fossil fuel projects for both carbon dioxide and methane. The database also ranks countries based on absolute emissions and emissions intensities.
• Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources [GREENR] -- focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia.
• Water Resources Abstracts -- provides summaries from 1967 to the present of the world's technical, scientific, and public policy literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources as well as the legal aspects of water supply, use, control, or management. Good place for locating research on hydroelectric energy, hydroelectricity, and related topics.

Related Research Resources

• African Development Bank: Energy and Power -- resources and information page devoted to energy initiatives and projects supported by the African Development Bank, particularly hydro, solar, geothermal and wind resources of the continent and investments in power generation, inter-connections, transmission and distribution. Includes access to videos, relevant working papers and policy briefs, and a current news feed.
• Asian Development Bank: Energy -- access to information about the bank's work to increase access to reliable, affordable, low-carbon energy across Asia and the Pacific to reduce poverty and promote development. The site contains information on projects in renewable energy generation, electricity transmission and distribution, and energy utilities statistics as well as a current news feed.
• Environment Index -- provides access to articles from domestic and international journals, books and conference papers covering applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
• Global Energy Resources Database -- a database created and maintained by the Shell international energy company that facilitates searching how the world’s energy resources are distributed. Filter by region, country, and energy source to build a picture of the global energy landscape.
• HeinOnline Law Journal Library -- full text access to digitized content of more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals that cover criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from first issue and volume through the current issue or volume for most titles.
• International Energy Agency -- a Paris-based autonomous intergovernmental organization established in the framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development in 1974 to help its members respond to major oil supply disruptions, a role it continues to fulfill today. The agency's mandate has expanded over time to include tracking and analyzing global key energy trends, promoting sound energy policy, and fostering multinational energy technology cooperation. Site includes access to regional and country-specific research ports and analysis studies.
• OnePetro -- provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry derived from different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. NOTE: Domain address validation will now occur on OnePetro within each user's My OnePetro account. The steps to domain address validate are as follows: Click on Register and complete a very short form to build your own My OnePetro account. Once done, click on My Account and then click on the Go button under Domain Validation. You will be asked to click on a button that says Validate Me. Once validated, access will be granted for 90 days.
• Pollution Abstracts -- offers coverage on scientific research and government policies for air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management and land pollution. Good resources of research about the effects of pollution on people and animals resulting from energy production, mining, and other global extraction activities.
• World Energy Council Publications -- research reports and working papers published by the Council, a member-based global energy network consisting of over 3,000 member organizations in ninety countries, that cover a wide variety of issues, including energy security,  energy affordability and equity, and environmental sustainability.
• WorldWideScience.org -- maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information, this database enables federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. It provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature. Good resource for locating research literature on energy and natural resource extractives derived from non-English language sources.

Renewable/Clean Energy Research Resources

• International Renewable Energy Agency – a global intergovernmental agency for energy transformation with membership comprising of 167 countries and the EU. The agency organization supports countries in their energy transitions, and provides data and analyses on technology, innovation, policy, finance and investment, including bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind energy in the pursuit of sustainable development, energy access, and energy security.

GROUP PERSPECTIVE

Databases that offer the opportunity to understand and contemplate the implications of energy affairs through the eyes of people who may be most impacted by those decisions.

• Family and Society Studies Worldwide -- covers research, policy, and practice literature in family science, human development, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, and social welfare from a wide range of publications in the social sciences. Includes research about the relationship and impact of armed conflict on families.

DATA AND STATISTICS--COMPREHENSIVE

• Google Dataset Search -- facilitates searching approximately 25 million datasets provided by government, public, and private groups. Users can filter results based on the type of data desired [e.g., images or text]. Data availability is based on the original source being formatted using schema.org standards, an open discovery standard for data on the web.
• National Statistical Offices -- a directory of country-specific statistical agencies maintained and updated by the United Nations Statistics Division. Also included is a list of countries and organizations which includes a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical program and much more.
• UNData -- searchable statistical database provided by the United Nations Statistics Division that provides access to current statistics. The database covers a number of different areas such as employment, industry, and trade. A single interface facilitates the creation of customizable tables and the use of various filters and search options to sort and locate specific statistical information.

DATA AND STATISTICS--SPECIALIZED

• Cepalstat: Energy Resources -- a regional data portal produced by the Economic Commission for Latin America. Click on the link in the left-hand column of statistical sources to locate various datasets on the production and consumption of energy from non-renewable and renewable sources. Coverage varies but most data is from at least 1990 to the present.
• Council on Foreign Relations Global Energy Tracker -- includes data on energy-consumption trends in seventy-nine countries going back to 1990. Each chart shows how much energy a given country consumes from nine different sources and displays each country’s consumption data for each energy source by the amount of exajoules consumed, by exajoules consumed per capita, and as a share of that country’s total energy consumption [exajoules are a measure of energy; one exajoule is roughly equivalent to California’s annual electricity use]. Use the rightmost drop-down menu above the chart to toggle among those views. The leftmost drop-down menu lets you select groups of countries for display.
• Enerdata World Energy and Climate Statistics -- an independent research and consulting firm specializing in the analysis and modeling of the global energy markets and its drivers. The site includes access to energy statistics and decarbonization indicators and research reports. Note: To request your publication, you need to register for free on the Enerdata web site.
• Energy Data Sources -- a collection created at Duke University of energy data sources and tools for data analysis supported in part by the National Science Foundation. Sources can be filtered by dataset topic or dataset type covering a wide variety of energy sources at global, national, state, and local levels.
• Energy Information Administration -- the U.S. Department of Energy agency that collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Key source of detailed, comprehensive, and historical energy data for the United States. Includes global energy statistics and analysis as well.
• Eurostat Energy -- this page provides a clickable overview of all articles on energy within Statistics Explained, the electronic publishing platform and gateway to Eurostat's statistical information made available by the European Union. Coverage includes data on energy balances, consumption in households, production and imports, energy prices, and energy and environment.
• International Energy Agency Data and Statistics -- provides access to timely energy data and statistics related to supply and demand compiled into energy balances, in addition to a number of other key energy-related indicators, including energy prices, public RD&D and measures of energy efficiency, with other measures in development.
• International Renewable Energy Agency Data -- provides detailed statistics on renewable energy capacity, power generation, and renewable energy balances collected directly from members countries and supplemented by agency researchers where official statistics are not available. Renewable power-generation capacity statistics are released annually in March; renewable power generation and renewable energy balances data sets are released annually in July.
• Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries Data (OPEC) -- includes statistics and graphs on OPEC basket price, taxes on oil, OPEC oil reserves, market indicators, and historical production data. Also available is the annual World Oil Outlook available from 2007 to the present. OPEC also maintain a separate site to access the Annual Statistics Bulletin.
• Statistical Review of World Energy -- comprehensive, objective, and globally consistent data on world energy markets provided by the British Petroleum Corporation. Data is from 1965 to the present and covers statistics on energy demand, carbon dioxide emissions from energy use, oil prices and consumption, global natural gas demand and prices, coal prices and demand, electricity generation, and renewable primary energy growth and diversification. A companion publication, Energy Outlook, offers projections to 2050 and beyond.
• World Bank Data: Energy and Mining -- comprehensive statistics comprised of open datasets relating to the work of the Energy & Extractives Global Practice unit of the World Bank, including statistical, measurement, and survey data from ongoing projects. Site also includes access to the Energydata.org, an open data platform providing access to datasets and data analytics that are relevant to the energy sector.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites