SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS A-J
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated international law topics. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Andreassen, Bard-Anders. Research Handbook on the Politics of Human Rights Law. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2023.
This work aims to explore, provoke critical reflection on, and inspire further research on how politics are impacting and permeating human rights performances throughout the world. The handbook brings together the fields of politics studies and international human rights law based on the premise that governance, distributive justice, and international relations are key political dimensions for the respect, protection, and implementation of international human rights law. The twenty chapters are presented under these themes linking human rights law to politics.
Angier, Tom P. S., Iain T. Benson, and Mark Retter, editors. The Cambridge Handbook of Natural Law and Human Rights. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2022.
This book provides an overview of the relationship between natural law and human rights, including scholarship on the importance of natural law as a philosophical foundation for human rights and its significance for contemporary debates. The themes covered include: the role of natural law thought in the history of human rights; human rights scepticism; the different notions of 'subjective right'; the various foundations for human rights within natural law ethics; the relationship between natural law and human rights in religious traditions; the idea of human dignity; the relation between human rights, political community and law; human rights interpretation; and tensions between human rights law and natural law ethics.
Arnauld, Andreas von, Mart Susi, and Kerstin von der Decken, editors. The Cambridge Handbook of New Human Rights. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2020.
The book provides in-depth insight to scholars, practitioners, and activists dealing with human rights, their expansion, and the emergence of 'new' human rights. By bringing together a large number of emergent human rights, this book critically examines the development of concrete individual rights. The comprehensive and dialectic approach enables insights from individual rights to overarching theory and vice versa, going beyond a purely legal analysis by observing the contestation, rhetorics, the struggle for recognition of 'new' human rights.
Becchi, Paolo. and Klaus. Mathis, editors. Handbook of Human Dignity in Europe. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This handbook provides a systematic overview of the legal concept and the meaning of human dignity for each European state and the European Union. For each of these countries and the EU, it scrutinizes three main aspects: the constitution, legislation, and application of law (court rulings). The book addresses and presents answers to important questions relating to the concept of human dignity. These questions include the following: What is the meaning of human dignity? What is the legal status of the respective human dignity norms? Are human dignity norms of a programmatic nature, or do they establish an individual right which can be invoked before court? Is human dignity inviolable? The volume answers these questions from the perspectives of all European countries and in relation to events during World War II, human dignity (dignitas) found its way into international law, and Article 1 of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Beckett, Angharad E. and Anne-Marie Callus, editors. The Routledge International Handbook of Children’s Rights and Disability. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This handbook provides authoritative and cutting-edge analyses of various aspects of the rights and lives of disabled children around the world. Taking the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) and the UN Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC) as conceptual frameworks, this work appraises the current state of affairs concerning the rights of disabled children across different stages of childhood, different life domains and different sociocultural contexts. It will be of interest to researchers and students considering future directions for ensuring that disabled children's rights are realized and their well-being and dignity is assured.
Bellamy, Alex J. and Timothy Dunne. The Oxford Handbook of the Responsibility to Protect. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2016. [Medicine Crow Center Center Library bookstacks KZ 4082 .O94 2016]
This book provides a comprehensive assessment of the theory, politics, and practice of responsibility to protect, which interrogates its place in world politics and key international institutions, its impact and relationship with the most significant contemporary crises and its future trajectories. Content is focused around seven themes: examining the evolution of sovereignty, responsibility, and humanitarian intervention; evaluating the key normative and conceptual puzzles provoked by R2P; examining the implementation of R2P through global institutions, especially the United Nations; charting how different parts of the world relate to R2P; focusing on its relationship with peace-building, peacekeeping, gender, protection, and other thematic issues; exploring how R2P relates to the most pressing international problems; and where leading thinkers and practitioners reflect on the norm’s future.
Berman, Paul Schiff, editor. The Oxford Handbook of Global Legal Pluralism. New York Oxford University Press, 2020.
This work covers global legal pluralism as an analytical framework for understanding and conceptualizing law in the 21st century that can help foster more shared participation in the practices of law, more dialogue across difference, and more respect for diversity without requiring assimilation and uniformity. Contents provides a set of useful analytical tools for describing this conflict among legal and quasi-legal systems in relation to non-state actors that fall within the purview of local authorities and jurisdictional entities or involve international courts, tribunals, and arbitral bodies, and regulatory organizations.
Biddulph, Sarah and Joshua Rosenzweig, editors. Handbook on Human Rights in China. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2019.
Examining both the theory and practice of human rights in China, this book provides an important analysis of rights in China in comparison to international standards and China’s international engagements concerning human rights. A wide range of civil and political, social and economic, and group rights in China are explored from an interdisciplinary perspective, examining the traditions behind modern human rights in China right up to contemporary issues such as the rise of the Internet and LGBTQ rights. The book also explores human rights in Greater China, and their relationship to rights in mainland China, revealing a complex reality where human rights recognition and protections are intertwined with Party-state programs and priorities, modes of governance, and the demand for social and political stability.
Bradley, Curtis A., editor. The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Foreign Relations Law. New York: Oxford University Press, 2019.
This work compares and contrasts how nations, and also supranational entities, such as, the European Union, structure their decisions about matters such as entering into and exiting from international agreements, engaging with international institutions, and using military force, as well as how they incorporate treaties and customary international law into their domestic legal systems. Some of the forty-six chapters are empirically focused, others are theoretical, and still others contain in-depth case studies.
Brooks, Thom, editor. The Oxford Handbook of Global Justice. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This book has been selective in bringing together some of the most pressing topics and issues in global justice as understood by the leading voices from both established and rising stars across twenty-five new chapters. The book explores severe poverty, climate change, egalitarianism, global citizenship, human rights, immigration, territorial rights, and much more. The aim is to focus on understanding the nature of global inequality and injustice, the kinds of duties citizens may be under to act, and the urgent need to eradicate severe poverty and other societal issues as citizens of a state.
Brown, Sara E. and Stephen D. Smith, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Religion, Mass Atrocity, and Genocide. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This work explores the many and sometimes complicated ways in which religion, faith, doctrine, and practice intersect in societies where mass atrocity and genocide occur.. The contributions explore the intersection of religion, faith, and mainly state-sponsored mass atrocity and genocide, and draws from a variety of disciplines. This volume is divided into six core sections: Genocide in Antiquity and Holy Wars, The Genocide of Indigenous Peoples, Religion and the State, The Role of Religion During Genocide, Post Genocide Considerations, and Memory Culture. Within these sections central issues, historical events, debates and problems are examined, including: the Crusades; Jihad and ISIS, colonialism, the Holocaust, desecration of ritual objects, politics of religion, Shinto nationalism, attacks on Rohingya Muslims; the Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, responses to genocide; gender-based atrocities, ritualcide in Cambodia, burial sites and mass graves, transitional justice, forgiveness, documenting genocide, survivor memory narratives, post conflict healing and memorialization.
Campbell, Gwyn. and Alessandro. Stanziani, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Bondage and Human Rights in Africa and Asia. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2019.
This handbook examines the deep historical roots of slavery in Africa and Asia along with its contemporary manifestations. It takes an innovative longue durée perspective in order to link the local and global, the past and present. Contributors trace shifting forms of forced labor in the region since circa 1800, connecting punctual shocks such as environmental crisis, conflict, market instability, and crop failure to human security threats such as impoverishment, violence, migration, kidnapping, and enslavement. Together, these chapters illuminate the historical and contemporary dimensions of bondage in Africa and Asia, with important implications for the fight against modern-day bondage and human trafficking.
Chaisse, Julien., Leïla. Choukroune, and Sufian. Jusoh, editors. Handbook of International Investment Law and Policy. Singapore: Springer Singapore, 2020.
This handbook provides an thorough treatment of international investment law which is one of the fastest growing areas of international economic law.The chapters explore key ideas and debates in relation to: international investment substantive law, investor-state dispute settlement, interaction between international investment law and other fields of international law and, the new trends and challenges for international investment law.
Chalmers, Shane and Sundhya Pahuja, editors. Routledge Handbook of International Law and the Humanities. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook brings together forty leading scholars and rising stars who study international law from disciplines in the humanities from history to literature, philosophy to the visual arts to showcase the distinctive contributions that this field has made to the study of international law over the past two decades. Outlining new ways of imagining, and doing, international law when original, critical thought and practice is more necessary throughout the world.
Chapaux, Vincent, Frédéric Mégret, and Usha Natarajan, editors. The Routledge Handbook of International Law and Anthropocentrism. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
The book explores, contextualizes, and critiques the relationship between anthropocentrism-- the idea that human beings are socially and politically at the center of the cosmos-- and international law. This handbook offers a broader study of anthropocentrism in international law as a global legal system and academic field. It assesses the extent to which current international law is anthropocentric, contextualizes that claim in relation to broader critical theories of anthropocentrism, and explores alternative ways for international law to organize relations between humans and other living and non-living entities.
Chase, Anthony Tirado. Routledge Handbook on Human Rights and the Middle East and North Africa. London: Routledge, 2017. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JC 599.M53 R68 2017]
This book emphasizes the need to consider human rights in all their dimensions, rather than solely focusing on the political dimension, in order to understand the structural reasons behind the persistence of human rights violations throughout the Middle Eastern and North Africa. Scholars explores the various frameworks in which to consider human rights--conceptual, political, and transnational/international–and discuss these in the context of particularly debates around gender, religion, sexuality, transitions and accountability.
Chesterman, Simon, et al, editors. The Oxford Handbook of United Nations Treaties. New York: Oxford University Press, 2019. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks KZ 4992.7 .O94 2019]
This book argues that the greatest contribution of the United Nation is the process through which it has transformed the structure of international law to expand the range and depth of subjects covered by treaties. The book offers an analysis of the UN as a forum in which, and an institution through which, treaties are negotiated and implemented. Chapters are written by authors from different fields involved in the negotiation of multilateral treaties and scholars with a broader view on the issues involved. The volume provides insights into UN treaty-making. Through the thematic and technical parts, it also offers a lens through which to view challenges lying ahead and the possibilities and limitations confronting this understudied aspect of international law and relations.
Clapham, Andrew and Paola Gaeta. The Oxford Handbook of International Law in Armed Conflict. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2014. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks KZ 6385 .O94 2014]
This work offers an authoritative and comprehensive study of the role of international law in armed conflicts, including a broad analysis of international humanitarian law, human rights law, refugee law, international criminal law, environmental law, and the law on the use of force. Topics, such as, human rights violations or war crimes allegations that result in exclusion from the refugee regime, what human rights protections apply to an unlawful combatant, and which human rights obligations apply to the actions of armed forces acting abroad.
Costello, Cathryn., Michelle. Foster, and Jane. McAdam. The Oxford Handbook of International Refugee Law. New York: Oxford University Press, 2021.
This is a comprehensive, critical work, which analyses the state of research across the refugee law regime providing both doctrinal and theoretical analyses of international refugee law and practice. It critiques existing law from a variety of normative positions, with several chapters identifying foundational flaws that open up space for radical rethinking. Contributions assess a wide range of international legal instruments relevant to refugee protection, including from international human rights law, international humanitarian law, international migration law, the law of the sea, and international and transnational criminal law.
Cunneen, Chris et al. The Routledge International Handbook on Decolonizing Justice. Milton, MA: Taylor and Francis Group, 2023.
This work focuses on the growing worldwide movement aimed at decolonizing state policies and practices, and various disciplinary knowledges including criminology, social work and law. Centering the perspectives of Black, First Nations, and other racialized and minoritized peoples, the book includes analyses of specific decolonization policies and interventions instigated by communities to enhance jurisdictional self-determination; theoretical approaches to decolonization; the importance of research and research ethics as a key foundation of the decolonization process; crucial contemporary issues including deaths in custody, state crime, reparations, and transitional justice; and critical analysis of key institutions of control, including police, courts, corrections, child protection systems and other forms of carcerality.
Dalla, Rochelle L. and Donna Sabella, editors. Routledge International Handbook of Human Trafficking: A Multi-Disciplinary and Applied Approach. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook is devoted to the growing international crimes of human trafficking and modern-day slavery. It offers in-depth analyses and opportunities for application (through case studies, critical thinking questions, and supplemental learning materials) as well as content experts representing multiple segments of society (e.g. academia, government, law enforcement, and practice) and global vantage points (e.g., Australia, Finland, Germany, Netherlands, South Africa, Thailand, and the United States).
Dam-de Jong, Daniella and Britta Sjostedt, editors. Research Handbook on International Law and Environmental Peacebuilding. Cheltenham, England: Edward Elgar, 2023.
This book addresses the growing recognition within the international law community that natural resource governance and environmental protection are crucial aspects of peace processes, both as a security imperative and as an opportunity for peace building. Examining the impact of international normative and institutional frameworks on environmental peace building, contributions revolve around three broad societal objectives: environmental peace building aims to improve environmental governance within and across nations for the purpose of preventing conflict occurrence and relapse;aims to protect the environment and natural resources against damage and illegal exploitation during and after armed conflict: and it aims to enhance cooperation between States and communities in environmental management, using environmental governance as an entry point for dialogue between and within States and communities.
Dauvergne, Catherine, editor. Research Handbook on the Law and Politics of Migration. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2021.
This handbook addresses the challenge of analyzing the relationship between the law and politics of migration. Discussing the evolving theoretical approaches to migration, it explores the growing attention given to the legal frameworks for migration and the expansion of regulation, demonstrating that the overlap between law and politics puts the rule of law at risk in matters of migration as advocates around the globe increasingly turn to law to address the challenges of new migration politics. The book focuses on institutions of migration and analyzes the securitization of migration management and the strengths and weaknesses of the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration.
Davies, Gareth Trevor and Matej Avbelj, editors. Research Handbook on Legal Pluralism and EU Law. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2018.
This work explores the phenomenon of overlapping legal systems within the European Union, the nature of their interactions, and how they deal with the difficult question of the legal hierarchy between them. Contributors offer both critical and positive assessments about the history, sociology, and legal scholarship on constitutional and legal pluralism, and develop this further by addressing pluralism within policy areas such as EMU, migration, and external relations, and applying different perspectives, from the constitutionalist to the Foucauldian.
Davis, Martha F., Morten Kjaerum, and Amanda Lyons, editors. Research Handbook on Human Rights and Poverty. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2021.
This book explores the nexus between human rights, poverty, and inequality as a critical lens for understanding and addressing key challenges, including the objectives set out in the Sustainable Development Goals and the premise that deprivation and distributive inequality of power and capability relate to economic, social, cultural, civil and political rights. Beginning with an interrogation of the definition of poverty, subsequent chapters analyze the dynamics of poverty and inequality in relation to matters such as race, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation, geography and migration status. The rights to housing, land, health, work, education, protest and access to justice are also explored, with a recognition of the challenges posed by corruption, climate change and new technologies.
De Varennes, Fernand and Christie M. Gardiner. Routledge Handbook of Human Rights in Asia. Florence, Italy: Routledge, 2018.
This work explores the underlying causes of human rights abuse in a range of contexts, considers lessons learnt from global, regional and domestic initiatives and provides recommendations and justifications for reform in Asia. It examines the strengths and weaknesses of human rights institutions in Asia and covers issues, such as, participation, marginalization, detention and exclusion; private sector responsibility and security; conflict and post-conflict rehabilitation; trafficking, displacement, and citizenship; and, ageing populations, identity and sexuality.
Duyck, Sébastien, Sébastien Jodoin, and Alyssa Johl, editors. Routledge Handbook of Human Rights and Climate Governance. London: Routledge, 2018.
This book provides comprehensive analysis of the opportunities and challenges for integrating human rights in diverse areas and forms of global climate governance and important gaps remain in understanding how human rights can be used in practice to develop and implement effective and equitable solutions to climate change at multiple levels of governance.. The first half of the book explores how human rights principles and obligations can be used to reconceive climate governance and shape responses to particular aspects of climate change. The second half of the book identifies lessons in the integration of human rights in climate advocacy and governance and sets out future directions in this area of international environmental law.
Ebbesson, Jonas and Ellen Hey, editors. The Cambridge Handbook on the Sustainable Development Goals and International Law. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2022.
In 2015, the United Nations established seventeen Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) that aimed 'to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all' by 2030. The chapters address each of these SDGs, considering how they relate to one another and international law, and what institutions could aid their implementation. Confronting the context and challenge of sustainable development, this collection outlines how the international economic system problematizes the attainment of the SDGs and suggests potential solutions.
Fassbender, Bardo et al. The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2012. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks KZ 1242 .O94 2012]
The handbook provides an authoritative and original overview of the origins, concepts, and core issues of international law. Pursuing both a global and an interdisciplinary approach, the Handbook brings together some sixty eminent scholars of international law, legal history, and global history from all parts of the world covering a wide variety of topics.
Francioni, Francesco and Ana Filipa Vrdoljak, editors. The Oxford Handbook of International Cultural Heritage Law. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This handbook assesses the international legal framework governing the protection of cultural heritage. The work is primarily focused on public international law, but it embraces aspects of private international law and comparative law. It analyses the substance of cultural heritage protection and explores its links with other areas of public and private international law, as well as the ways in which cultural heritage law is contributing to the development of international law itself. The Handbook concludes with an examination of the implementation of cultural heritage law and of regional approaches.
Gibney, Mark, et al., editors. The Routledge Handbook on Extraterritorial Human Rights Obligations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This work is organized into seven thematic parts: theoretical foundations and challenges, enforcement, migration and refugee protection, financial assistance and section, finance, investment and trade, peace and security, and environment. Chapters summarize current knowledge on key topics and, where appropriate, the Maastricht Principles to critically evaluate their value ten years after their adoption.
Hunter, Tina Soliman. Routledge Handbook of Energy Law. London: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook provides a global survey of the discipline of energy law. The book is divided into six geographical regions based on continents, with a separate section on Russia. Each section contains chapters that address a number of core themes in energy law and regulation, including energy security and the role of markets, regulating the growth of renewable energy, regulating shifts in traditional forms of energy, instruments in regulating disputes in energy, impact of energy on the environment, and key issues in the future of energy and regulation.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.