SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
These handbooks provide background information about contemporary issues, events, or topics concerning countries throughout East and Southeast Asia regardless of the subject area. They are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Bajpai, Kanti P., Selina Ho, and Manjari Chatterjee Miller, editors. Routledge Handbook of China-India Relations. New York: Routledge, 2020.
This book provides an understanding of the important and complex relationship between India and China. Reflecting the consequential and multifaceted nature of the bilateral relationship, it brings together thirty-five original contributions by a wide range of experts in the field. The essays show that China-India relations are more far-reaching and complicated than ever and marked by both conflict and cooperation. Following a thorough introduction, the handbook is divided into seven parts which combine thematic and chronological principles: Historical Overviews Culture and Strategic Culture: Constructing the Other Core Bilateral Conflicts Military Relations Economy and Development Relations with Third Parties China, India, and Global Order.
Biddulph, Sarah and Joshua Rosenzweig, editors. Handbook on Human Rights in China. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2019.
Examining both the theory and practice of human rights in China, this book provides an important analysis of rights in China in comparison to international standards and China’s international engagements concerning human rights. A wide range of civil and political, social and economic, and group rights in China are explored from an interdisciplinary perspective, examining the traditions behind modern human rights in China right up to contemporary issues such as the rise of the Internet and LGBTQ rights. The book also explores human rights in Greater China, and their relationship to rights in mainland China, revealing a complex reality where human rights recognition and protections are intertwined with Party-state programs and priorities, modes of governance, and the demand for social and political stability.
Burrett, Tina and Jeff Kingston, editors. Routledge Handbook of Trauma in East Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This handbook explores trauma in East Asia from the 19th to the 21st century, assessing how victims, perpetrators, and societies have responded to such experiences and to what extent the legacies still resonate today. Mapping the trauma-scape of East Asia from an interdisciplinary perspective, this work enhances understandings of the region's traumatic pasts and how those memories have since been suppressed, exhumed, represented, and disputed. The research in this volume examines the silencing and distortion of traumatic pasts and sustained efforts to interrogate denial and impunity in the search for accountability, addressing collective traumas from across East Asia (China, Hong Kong, Japan, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and Vietnam).
Cai, Fang, edior. Routledge Handbook of the Belt and Road. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2019.
This book provides a review of the theory and practice of the Belt and Road Initiative, a development strategy involving infrastructure development and investments in countries in Europe, Asia, and Africa. A total of 117 entries related to the BRI have been included and organized into twelve parts covering the following key topics: China's reform and opening-up and formation of the BRI; backstory, concepts, and frameworks; the five roads and six economic corridors; foreign affairs with Chinese characteristics; international action plans relevant and similar to the BRI, and case studies of the BRI implementation and promotion.
Carvalho, Pedro Miguel, David Arase Raposo de Medeiros, and Scarlett Cornelissen. Routledge Handbook of Africa-Asia Relations. London: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks DT 38.9 .A78 R68 2018]
The handbook aims at studying the interactions between countries across Africa and Asia in a multi-disciplinary and comprehensive way. Using comparative examples throughout, the chronological sections cover: Early colonialist contacts between Africa and Asia; Modern Asia-Africa interactions through diplomacy, political networks and societal connections; Africa-Asia contemporary relations, including increasing economic, security and environmental cooperation. This handbook grapples with major intellectual questions, defines current research, and projects future agendas of investigation in the field.
Casarini, Nicola et al, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Europe-Korea Relations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
Informed by high-quality academic research and key trilateral data and statistics, this book brings scope, balance and depth, with wide-ranging coverage examining the history of Europe-Korea relations, the Cold War, contemporary Europe-ROK and Europe-DPRK relations, Europe and inter-Korea relations within the regional context, and relations between European countries and the ROK. Its contents provides an essential understanding of both the historical backdrop to, and the current crisis in, this region as well as a way of thinking about a way forward for a future relationship between Europe and the two Koreas.
Chang, Teh-Kuang and Angelin Chang. Routledge Handbook of Asia in World Politics. London: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Library bookstacks JZ1980 .R68 2018]
This handbook brings together leading scholars of different disciplines to provide a comprehensive analysis of both the prospects and problems which have emerged from Asia's rise, including how economic growth and social change seen in the region, combined with new global security profiles and environmental challenges, have contributed to placing Asia at the forefront of international affairs. Sections cover: Major actors in Asian politics, especially China, Japan and India, international relations in Asia, and intra-Asian tensions, such as the 'Taiwan time bomb.”
Cheng, Tun-jen and Yun-han Chu, editors. Routledge Handbook of Democratization in East Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
Examining the challenges that East Asian emerging democracies still face today, as well as the prospects of the region's authoritarian regimes, this handbook provides a comprehensive analysis of the dynamics and prospects of democratization in East Asia. It offers discussion at both the country and regional level, including analysis of democratic attitudes and movements in China, Japan, South Korea and Hong Kong. Evaluating all the key components of regime evolution, from citizen politics to democratic institutions, the sections covered include: Regional Trends and Country Overviews, Institutions, Elections and Political Parties. Democratic Citizenship, Democratic Governance, and the Political Economy of Democratization.
De Varennes, Fernand and Christie M. Gardiner. Routledge Handbook of Human Rights in Asia. Florence, Italy: Routledge, 2018.
This work explores the underlying causes of human rights abuse in a range of contexts, considers lessons learnt from global, regional and domestic initiatives and provides recommendations and justifications for reform in Asia. It examines the strengths and weaknesses of human rights institutions in Asia and covers issues, such as, participation, marginalization, detention and exclusion; private sector responsibility and security; conflict and post-conflict rehabilitation; trafficking, displacement, and citizenship; and, ageing populations, identity and sexuality.
Duarte, Paulo Afonso B. et al. The Palgrave Handbook of Globalization with Chinese Characteristics: The Case of the Belt and Road Initiative. Singapore: Palgrave Macmillan, 2023.
This book offers various perspectives on globalization and multilateralism with Chinese characteristics. Chapters provide complementary, intertwined, and multi-level analysis on the topic, illuminating ongoing debates on the Belt and Road Initiative and global governance, within a shifting balance of world power, characterized by competing views between Western and Chinese norms, standards, values, and narratives. Split into three parts, the handbook views globalization as comprehensive concept that benefits from the contributions of various disciplines such as geography, geo-economics, political science, and international relations.
Fulton, Jonathan, editor. The Routledge Handbook of China-Middle East Relations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
As the largest extra-regional economic actor in the Middle East, China is the biggest source of and the largest trading partner for most Middle Eastern states. This portends a larger role in political and security affairs, as the value of Chinese assets combined with a growing expatriate population in the region demand a more proactive role in contributing to regional order. Exploring the effect of intra-regional development, trade, security, and diplomacy throughout the region, contributors also consider the reverberations in great power politics, as the U.S., Russia, India, Japan, and the European Union also have considerable interests in the region.
Hansson, Eva and Meredith L. Weiss. Routledge Handbook of Civil and Uncivil Society in Southeast Asia. Milton, MA: Taylor and Francis, 2023.
Contributors explore the nature and implications of civil society across the region, engaging systematically with both theoretical approaches and empirical nuance for a systematic, comparative and informative approach. The handbook actively analyzes the varying definitions of civil society, critiquing the inconsistent scrutiny of this sphere over time. It highlights the need to reconsider civil-society development in today's Southeast Asia, including activist organizations and platforms composition, claims, resources, and potential to effect sociopolitical change. Structured in five parts, the volume includes chapters relating to society's spaces and platforms, place within politics, resources and tactics, identity formation and claims, and advocacy. The handbook highlights the importance of civil society, as a domain for political engagement outside the state and parties, across Southeast Asia, as well as the prevalence and weight of 'uncivil' dimensions.
Hefner, Robert W., editor. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Indonesia. New York: Routledge, 2018.
This work offers an overview of the modern making and contemporary dynamics of culture, society, and politics in Indonesia. It provides a comprehensive survey of key issues in Indonesian politics, economics, religion, and society. It is divided into six sections, organized as follows: Cultural Legacies and Political Junctures, Contemporary Politics and Plurality, Markets and Economic Cultures, Muslims and Religious Plurality, Gender and Sexuality, Indonesia in an Age of Multiple Globalizations. All are placed in the context of Indonesia as the fourth most populous country in the world and home to more than four hundred ethnic groups and several major world religions and also as the world's most populous Muslim-majority country and the third largest democracy.
Horstmann, Alexander, Martin Saxer, and Alessandro Rippa, editors. Routledge Handbook of Asian Borderlands. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
The contributors to this handbook highlight some of these processes taking place at the fringe of the state. Offering an array of comparative perspectives of Asian borders and borderlands in the global context, this handbook is divided into thematic sections, including livelihoods, commodities and mobilities; physical land use and agrarian transformations; borders and boundaries of the state and the notion of statelessness; re-conceptualizing trade and the economy in the borderlands; the existence and influence of humanitarians, religions, and NGOs; and the militarization of borderlands. All are framed within the context fundamentally questioning some of the categories of state, nation, and the economy.
Hua, Shiping, editor. Routledge Handbook of Politics in Asia. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JS 6950 .R68 2018]
The handbook serves as a comprehensive guide to politics in East, South, Southeast, and Central Asia. Taking a comparative approach, it is divided in four parts: thorough introduction to the politics of the four regions of Asia, from the perspectives of democratization, foreign policy, political economy, and political culture; examination of the 'Big Three' of Asia: China, India, and Japan, focusing on issues including post-Mao reform, China's new world outlook, Indian democracy and Japanese foreign policy; discussion of important contemporary issues such as human rights, the politics of the internet, security, nationalism, and geopolitics; and, analysis of theoretical ideologies and belief systems connected with the politics of the continent, such as Confucianism, Hinduism, socialist constitutionalism, and gender norms.
Isaacs, Rico and Erica Marat, editors. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Central Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This book offers a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary overview of key issues in Central Asian studies. The thirty chapters summarize major findings in the field and highlight long-term trends, recent observations, and future developments in the region. It features case studies of all five Central Asian republics and is organized thematically in seven sections: History Politics Geography International Relations Political Economy Society and Culture Religion. The handbook highlights core issues permeating the region to enable readers to grasp the fundamental challenges, transformations, and themes in contemporary Central Asia.
Lim, Sojin and Niki J. P. Alsford. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary South Korea. London: Routledge, 2022.
This book examines the socio-political development of the Korean peninsula in the contemporary period. Contributors address key intellectual questions in the development of Korean studies, projecting new ways of thinking about how international systems can be organized and how local societies adapt to global challenges. Each chapter defines current research and lends in understanding the social, cultural, economic, and political developments of South Korea, ranging from chapters on the Korean Wave, to relations with North Korea and the Korean language overseas. The volume is divided into eight sections, each representing a focused area of inquiry: Socio-Political History Contemporary Politics Political Economy and Development Society Culture International Relations Security and Diplomacy South Korea in International Education.
London, Jonathan D., editor. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Vietnam. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
The is a comprehensive resource exploring social, political, economic, and cultural aspects of Vietnam. Following an introduction that highlights major changes that have unfolded in Vietnam over the past three decades, the volume is organized into four thematic parts. Part one address key aspects of Vietnam's politics, from the role of the Communist Party of Vietnam in shaping the country's institutional evolution to continuity and change in patterns of socio-political organization, political expression, state repression, diplomatic relations, and human rights. Part two assesses the transformation of Vietnam's economy, addressing patterns of economic growth, investment and trade, the role of the state in the economy, and other economic aspects of social life. Parts three and four examine developments across a variety of social and cultural fields, through chapters on themes including welfare, inequality, social policy, urbanization, the environment and society, gender, ethnicity, the family, cuisine, art, mass media, and the politics of remembrance.
Lu, Zhouxiang, editor. The Routledge Handbook of Nationalism in East and Southeast Asia. New York: Routledge, 2023.
This handbook presents a comprehensive survey of the formation and transformation of nationalism in fifteen East and Southeast Asian countries. The book examines a diverse set of topics that include theoretical considerations on nationalism and internationalism; the formation of nationalism and national identity in the colonial and postcolonial eras; the relationships between traditional culture, religion, ethnicity, education, gender, technology, sport, and nationalism; the influence of popular culture on nationalism; and politics, policy, and national identity. It illustrates how nationalism helped to draw the borders between the nations of East and Southeast Asia, and how it is re-emerging in the twenty-first century to shape the region and the world into the future.
McCarthy, Mary M., editor. Routledge Handbook of Japanese Foreign Policy. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This handbook investigates the widening variety of interests, sometimes competing, that constitute Japanese foreign policy, from a nuclear North Korea and territorial disputes in the East China Sea, to global climate change and Asia-Pacific free trade agreements, Organized topically and taking an interdisciplinary approach, contents are divided into sections, including Japan's evolving foreign policy landscape; global environmental and sustainable development; international and national security; international political economy; and, international norms and civil society.
Ogawa, Akihiro, editor. Routledge Handbook of Civil Society in Asia. London: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JQ 36 .R68 2018]
This handbook provides a comprehensive analysis of Asian social, cultural, and political phenomena from the perspective of civil society in the post-World War II era. It covers the directions and nuances of a particular set of relationships between the state and either society or the individual. Comprising thirty-five essays on critical topics and issues, it is divided into two main sections: Part I covers country specific reviews, including Japan, China, South Korea, India, and Singapore. Part II offers a series of thematic chapters, such as democratization, social enterprise, civic activism, and the media.
Padawangi, Rita, editor. Routledge Handbook of Urbanization in Southeast Asia. London: Routledge, 2019.
This work offers a collection of the major trends and themes in the study of the cities in the region, with a focus on the urbanization process rather than the city as an object. This handbook presents these diverse views to build a clearer understanding of theoretical contributions of urban studies in Southeast Asia and to provide a complete collection of research thematically structured around Theorizing Urbanization in Southeast Asia, Migration, Networks and Identities, Development and Discontents, Environmental Governance, the Social Production of the Urban Fabric, and Social Change and Alternative Development.
Pekkanen, Robert J. and Saadia Pekkanen, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Politics. New York: Oxford University Press, 2021.
This volume is divided into two parts, roughly corresponding to domestic Japanese politics and Japan’s international politics. Within the domestic politics part, there are four distinct sections: “Domestic Political Actors and Institutions,” covering the Japanese Constitution, electoral systems, prime minister, Diet, bureaucracy, judiciary, and local government; “Political Parties and Coalitions,” covering the Liberal Democratic Party, coalition government, Kōmeitō, and the political opposition; “Policymaking and the Public,” covering the policy making process, public opinion, civil society, and populism; and, “Political Economy and Social Policy,” covering industrial, energy, social welfare, agricultural, monetary, and immigration policies, as well as social inequality. In the international relations part, there are four sections: “International Relations Frameworks,” covering grand strategy, international organizations, and international status; “International Political Economy,” covering trade, finance, foreign direct investment, the environment, economic regionalism, and the linkage between security and economics; “International Security,” covering remilitarization, global and regional security multilateralism, nuclear nonproliferation, naval power, space security, and cybersecurity; and, “Foreign Relations” covering Japan’s relations with the United States, China, South Korea, ASEAN, India, the European Union, and Russia.
Pekkanen, Saadia M., John Ravenhill, and Rosemary Foot. Oxford Handbook of the International Relations of Asia. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2014. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JZ 1980 .O94 2014]
This work examines the theory and practice of international relations in Asia by concentrating on the countries that are pivotal to understanding Asia’s role in global and regional politics, as well as the processes that are responsible for the region’s particular characteristics. The Handbook begins with an investigation of the ways in which various theoretical approaches to international relations can elucidate Asia’s empirical realities. Individual chapters then examine the foreign relations and policies of specific countries or sets of countries; their political, economic, and security relations both within the Asian region as well as with the rest of the world; and the key thematic issues that draw states and peoples into particular institutions and networks. A concluding part examines Asia’s future prospects. The geographical scope of the Handbook covers Northeast Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Central Asia.
Thompson, Mark R. and Eric C. Batalla, editors. Routledge Handbook of the Contemporary Philippines. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This book provides an overview of the current political, economic, social and cultural issues of the country. The Handbook is divided into the following four sections concentrating on a different aspect of the Philippines: Domestic politics, Foreign relations, Economics and social policy, Cultures and movements. Chapters discuss the political parties and contested elections, as well as dynasties and local governance in the politics section, and the economics section looks at topics such as international political economy, industrial policy and economic nationalism. The section on Philippine society highlights the women's movement and gender issues, and goes on to concentrate on religion, culture and customs. The final section focuses on the relationship the Philippines has with China, Japan, Europe and the United States.
Turner, Oliver, Nicola Nymalm, and Wali Aslam, editors. Routledge Handbook of U.S. Policy in the Indo-Pacific. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This handbook provides a comprehensive survey of U.S. foreign policy throughout the Indo-Pacific region. Home to around 60 percent of the world's population, most of the world's largest and fastest-growing economies, around half of the world's states with full nuclear capabilities, and a complicated web of unresolved tensions, disputes, and conflicts, the Indo-Pacific is arguably the most diverse, dynamic, and contested region on Earth. The book is designed to be of interest to students and scholars interested in studying the complex dynamics of U.S. foreign policy with countries in the Indo-/Asia Pacific.
Yap, Po Jen and Rehan Abeyratne, editors. Routledge Handbook of Asian Parliaments. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This work showcases the varieties of legislatures that exist in Asia and explains how political power is constituted in seventeen jurisdictions in East, Southeast, and South Asia. Divided into thematic and country-by-country sections, this handbook surveys the range of political systems operating in Asia. Each jurisdiction chapter examines the structure and composition of its legislature, the powers of the legislature, the legislative process, thereby providing a clear picture of how each legislature operates both in theory and in practice. The book also thematically analyses the following political systems operating in Asia: communist regimes, liberal democracies, dominant party democracies, turbulent democracies, presidential democracies, military regimes, and protean authoritarian rule.
Yu, Jianxing. and Sujian. Guo, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Local Governance in Contemporary China. Singapore: Springer, 2019.
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of local governance in China, offering analysis of key factors underpinning key trends and the dynamic interaction and collaboration among multiple governmental and non-governmental actors and social sectors. It highlights the conduct of public affairs to address horizontal challenges faced by the local government, society, economy, and civil community and considers key issues such as governance in urban and rural areas, the impact of technology on governance and related issues of education, healthcare, environment and energy. The book highlights the characteristics, challenges, and trends of local governance and emphasizes the promotion of good governance and democratic development in China.
Zhao, Zhongwei and Adrian C. Hayes, editors. Routledge Handbook of Asian Demography. New York: Routledge, 2018.
This handbook provides a comprehensive study of population change across the whole of Asia. Comprising twenty-eight chapters, this handbook examines demographic transitions on the continent, their considerable variations, their causes and consequences, and their relationships with a wide range of social, economic, political and cultural processes. Major topics covered include: population studies and sources of demographic data; historical demography; family planning and fertility decline; sex preferences; mortality changes; causes of death; HIV/AIDS; population distribution and migration; urbanization; marriage and family; human capital and labor force; population ageing; demographic dividends; political demography; population and environment; and Asia's demographic future.
Zou, Keyuan, editor. Routledge Handbook of the South China Sea. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook presents a comprehensive and in-depth analysis of South China Sea issues. It evaluates the latest developments and identifying factors that contribute to dispute settlement and cooperative management regime of one of the most important seas in the world, one which not only contains rich marine resources and distinctive biodiversity, but is also a critical sea route for global trade and communications. The handbook is divided into six parts, each representing a focused area of inquiry: History and Geo-strategic Landscape Sovereignty and Maritime Entitlements South China Sea Policies of Major Claimants Natural Resources and Environment Cooperation and Institutions Challenges and Prospects. The volume's twenty-five chapters contribute interdisciplinary perspectives, reflecting the impact of how South China Sea policies are shaped by national governments and international organizations.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.