SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated international diplomatic affairs. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Galluccio, Mauro. Handbook of International Negotiation: Interpersonal, Intercultural, and Diplomatic Perspectives. New York: Springer, 2015.
This cross-disciplinary handbook offers in-depth discussions of such topics as the role of emotion in negotiation, the value of truth and reconciliation commissions, and strategies for resisting “war fever”. In addition, they include case studies of conflict resolution in several hot spots around the globe. Though most of the chapters focus on international negotiation, contributors range in discipline from international relations and diplomacy to cognitive psychology and neurobiology. Many of the chapters present practical advice and tools of analysis that move beyond such familiar concepts as listening skills and cultural competence.
Hare, Paul Webster, Juan Luis Manfredi Sanchez, and Kenneth Weisbrode. The Palgrave Handbook of Diplomatic Reform and Innovation. Cham, Switzerland: Springer International Publishing, 2023.
Forty scholars and practitioners from some thirty countries take a critical look at the contemporary practice of diplomacy including its key institutions and conventions agreed more than six decades ago. Beyond identifying current problems diplomacy is facing, the book also identifies practical options for reform and innovation, the role that the United Nations, regional organizations, and Big Tech might play, and how new norms of diplomatic behavior and methods can be established in a multi-polar, digital world.
Kennedy, Liam, editor. Routledge International Handbook of Diaspora Diplomacy. New York: Routledge, 2022.
This is a multidisciplinary collection of research by leading scholars and practitioners that reflects upon the geopolitical and technological shifts that have led to the global emergence of this form of diplomacy and provides detailed examples of how governments, intergovernmental organizations, non-governmental organizations, and corporations are engaging diasporas as transnational agents of intervention and change. The organization in six thematic parts provides focused coverage of key issues, sectors and practices, while also building a comprehensive guide to the growing field.
McKercher, B. J. C., editor. The Routledge Handbook of Diplomacy and Statecraft. 2nd edition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This edition provides a unique multi-faceted assessment by experts of the new international order. Built around the thesis that Great Power rivalry dominated after the end of the Cold War, it examines how this multi-polarity has become more extreme. The Handbook assesses the diplomacy and statecraft of individual powers in seven key sections: The Context of Diplomacy, The Great Powers, Middle Powers, Developing Powers, International Organizations and Military Alliances, The International Economy, Issues of Conflict and Co-operation. It shows how diplomacy and statecraft have transformed on issues such as the evolving 'America First' strategy; the strengthening of the People's Republic of China; the growth of non-state actors in foreign policy; the unraveling of international arms control agreements; the aggressive nature of Russian foreign policy; and the emergence of major armed conflicts and the rise of terrorism and armed insurgencies around the world.
Onditi, Francis et al. The Palgrave Handbook of Diplomatic Thought and Practice in the Digital Age. Cham, Switzerland: Springer International Publishing, 2023.
This handbook offers important perspectives on the theory and practice of global diplomatic services in the age of rapid technological change. Focusing on African and international politics, the authors examine tools, case studies, and first-hand experiences concerning how to reconceptualize the theory and practice of diplomacy in the context of the global technological revolution. The book offers a useful corrective to previous Eurocentric theories, with a diverse set of contributors, perspectives, and case studies. By doing so, the content demonstrates how contemporary change impacts the work of diplomats representing sovereign states and provides useful insights into how modern diplomacy works, especially the integration of informalities into formal diplomatic practices in complex peace and security environments, within such a framework of technological change.
Pande, Aparna, editor. Routledge Handbook on South Asian Foreign Policy. London: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of South Asian foreign policy, examining the complex history and present state of South Asian foreign policy, the foreign policy of the countries of the region, as well as their relationships with their neighbors and key external players, such as China and the United States, in an effort to understand South Asia's place in the world order. The collection of twenty-six chapters written by experts on South Asian foreign, economic, and security policy, illustrate the future trajectory of foreign policy in the region and analyses future of regional arrangements like SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) and BIMSTEC.
Snow, Nancy and Nicholas John Cull, editors. Routledge Handbook of Public Diplomacy. 2nd edition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
The second edition of the handbook includes U.S. content but all case studies are outside the U.S., not only to appeal to a global audience, but also as a way of offering something fresher than the US/UK-centric competition. In Parts 1-4 retain the orginial content of the first edition with updated text. Parts 5 and 6 include sixteen global case studies in public diplomacy. The concluding part of the book includes chapters on digital and corporate public diplomacy, and a signature final chapter on the Noosphere and Noopolitik as they relate to public diplomacy.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.