SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated immigration and migration. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Bastia, Tanja and Ronald Skeldon, editors. Routledge Handbook of Migration and Development. New York: Routledge, 2020.
This book provides an interdisciplinary survey of the fields of migration and development, bringing together contributors from around the world to chart current and future trends in research. Starting by mapping the different theoretical approaches to migration and development, this work goes on to present research in poverty and inequality, displacement, climate change, health, family, social policy, interventions, and the key challenges surrounding migration and development. While much of the migration literature continues to be dominated by U.S. and British perspectives, this volume includes original contributions from most regions of the world to offer alternative non-Anglophone perspectives.
Caponio, Tiziana, Peter Scholten, and Ricard Zapata-Barrero, editors. The Routledge Handbook of the Governance of Migration and Diversity in Cities. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2019.
This book focuses on the ways migration and diversity have transformed cities, and how cities have responded to the challenges and opportunities offered. Strengthening the relevance of the city as a crucial category for the study of migration policy and migration flows, the book is divided into five parts: migration, history and urban life; local politics and political participation; local policies of migration and diversity; super-diverse cities; and, divided cities and border cities. Grounded in the European debate on "the local turn" in the study of migration policy, as contrasted to the more traditional focus on the nation-state, the handbook also brings together contributions from North America, South America, Asia, and the Middle East and contributors from a wide range of disciplines.
Cohen, Robin and Carolin Fischer, editors. Routledge Handbook of Diaspora Studies. Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2019.
With sections on 'debating the concept', 'complexity', 'home and home-making', 'connections' and 'critiques', this handbook expands research into the concept of diaspora that was previously confined use to the dispersion of Jews, Greeks, Armenians, and Africans away from their natal homelands to cover the cases of many other ethnic groups, nationalities and religions. The editors have carefully blended a variety of conceptual perspectives to facilitate generalizations, contrasts, and comparisons between cases in order to explore the evolving use of the concept of diaspora, its possibilities as well as its limitations.
Crepaz, Markus M. L., editor. Handbook on Migration and Welfare. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2022.
Chapters explore the extent to which immigration policy affects and is affected by welfare states, from both economic and political perspectives. This handbook also examines the effects of emigration on sending societies, exploring issues such as the impact of remittances, diasporas, and skill deterioration as a result of human capital flight on capacity building and on economic and political development more generally. This work includes the assumed tension-reducing role of multiculturalist and integration policies, the shaping of native beliefs about migrants by socio-economic constraints and the potential for the extension of social rights to migrants to influence and increase pro-redistributive attitudes as well as insights into the latest theoretical and empirical findings regarding the drivers of welfare chauvinism and its effects on social trust between native and immigrant groups.
Dauvergne, Catherine, editor. Research Handbook on the Law and Politics of Migration. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2021.
This handbook addresses the challenge of analyzing the relationship between the law and politics of migration. Discussing the evolving theoretical approaches to migration, it explores the growing attention given to the legal frameworks for migration and the expansion of regulation, demonstrating that the overlap between law and politics puts the rule of law at risk in matters of migration as advocates around the globe increasingly turn to law to address the challenges of new migration politics. The book focuses on institutions of migration and analyzes the securitization of migration management and the strengths and weaknesses of the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration.
Inglis, Christine, Wei Li, and Binod Khadria, editors. The Sage Handbook of International Migration. London: SAGE, 2020.
This volume provides an analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries. The handbook is arranged around four key thematic parts: Part 1: Inter-disciplinary Perspectives on Migration; Part 2: Historical and Contemporary Flows of Migrants; Part 3: Theory, Policy and the Factors Affecting Incorporation, and Part 4: National and Global Policy Challenges in Migration.
King, Russell and Katie Kuschminder, editors. Handbook of Return Migration. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2022.
This book provides an interdisciplinary appraisal of the field of return migration, advancing concepts and theories and setting an agenda for new debates. Structured into four parts, this work maps the contemporary field of return migration, examining the effects and politicization of return migration, before moving on to explore the theme of reintegration and the impact of return migration on development in the migrants’ countries of origin. It delves into the economics of return migration, deportation, the psychological well-being of migrants, student mobility, and second-generation ‘return’ migration.
Liu-Farrer, Gracia and Brenda S. A. Yeoh, editors. Routledge Handbook of Asian Migrations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
Offering a wide-ranging overview of Asian migrations, this handbook examines and evaluates the flows of movement within Asia, as well as into and out of the continent. Through in-depth analysis of both empirical and theoretical developments in the field. It includes key examples and trends such as British colonialism, Chinese diaspora, labor migration, the movement of women and recent student migration. Organized into thematic parts, the topics cover the historical context to migration in Asia; modern Asian migration pathways and characteristics; the re-conceptualizing of migration through Asian experiences; and, contemporary challenges and controversies in Asian migration practice and policy.
Makina, Daniel and Dominic Pasura. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary African Migration. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This book provides a multi-disciplinary overview of contemporary African international migration, covering issues such as migration history, trends, migrant profiles, narratives, migration-development nexus, migration governance, diasporas, impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, among others. Contributors address pertinent questions about contemporary migration patterns and trends, the architecture of migration governance in Africa and how migration, diaspora engagement and development play out in Africa, and what future trajectories of African migration may take place.
Mazurkiewicz, Anna, editor. East Central European Migrations During the Cold War: A Handbook. München, Germany: De Gruyter Oldenbourg, 2019.
This work covers the complex history of migration from the perspective of Central and Eastern Europe between 1945 and 1993. Chapters shed light on individual state reactions to various migratory phenomenon, and the political, economic, and ideological consequences of human movement. Thus it brings the multi-layered and complex histories of movement beyond the flat descriptor of "Soviet bloc" or Eastern European migrations and elucidates a complex migration history distinguished by national politics, ethnic composition, and economics, moving from World War II to the international migrations and politics of Cold War movement, as well as the politics of Cold War emigrants themselves. Each chapter ends with an epilogue on post-1989 international migrations and a valuable addendum on published and archival sources.
Menjivar, Cecilia, Marie Ruiz, and Immanuel Ness, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Migration Crises. New York: Oxford University Press, 2019.
This volume runs the gamut of situations that are constructed as crises in migration contexts around the globe, historically, and contemporaneously. The volume deconstructs and questions representations of migrations as crises, examining how crises arise, what is a crisis, and how this concept is used in the media and politics in transit and receiving countries. As a whole, the handbook unveils the structural forces and actors that contribute to the construction of migration crises. It highlights the role of the media and public officials in framing migratory flows as crises, revisits and redefines, through a critical lens, what is commonly understood as a "migration crisis."
Miller, Holly Ventura and Anthony A. Peguero, editors. Routledge Handbook on Immigration and Crime. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This book examines the relationship between immigration and crime by presenting chapters reflecting key issues from both historical and current perspectives. The volume includes a range of topics related to immigration and crime, such as the links between immigration rates and crime rates, nativity and crime, and the social construction of the criminal immigrant, as well as historical and current immigration policy vis-à-vis perceptions of the criminal immigrant. Other topics covered in this volume include theoretical perspectives on immigration and assimilation, sanctuary cities, and immigration in the context of the "war on terror."
Mitchell, Katharyne, Reece Jones, and Jennifer L. Fluri, editors. Handbook on Critical Geographies of Migration. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2019. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JV 6035 .H35 2019]
This handbook offers analysis of critical research on six thematic sections, including new areas in critical migration research, the book covers the key questions galvanizing migration scholars today, such as issues surrounding refugees and border militarization. Each chapter explores new themes, expanding on core theories to convey fresh insight to contemporary research. With a focus on spatial analysis and geographical context, this volume highlights a range of theoretical, methodological and regional approaches to migration research, covering a vast array of ideas with a specific focus on the geographical aspects of migration.
Phelan, Margaret, et al. Immigration Law Handbook. 11th edition. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2023.
The latest edition of this handbook provides an overview of the changes to immigration rules since 2018. It considers the amendments to immigration rules in response to circumstances arising due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Immigration and Social Security Co-ordination (EU Withdrawal) Act 2020 became the most notable change in the field after its provision included the right to free movement of people under EU law and to repeal other EU laws concerning immigration. Moreover, Procedure Rules and Practice Directions expanded to include practice statements and brought up to date with the latest rules and guidelines. The handbook also considers the European Materials section which includes the concepts of free movement and workers' rights.
Triandafyllidou, Anna. Handbook of Migration and Globalization. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JV 6035 .H338 2018]
This handbook explores the multifaceted linkages between two of the most important socioeconomic phenomena of our time: globalization and migration, offering the necessary background knowledge and tools to understand how population flows shape, and are shaped by, economic and cultural globalization. Through central themes which correspond to the four domains of human life – politics, economics (separated into trade and development, and the global division of labor), culture, and family life – expert authors from five continents highlight the interdependence between migration and globalization, and explore the mutual impact of economic, social, and political globalization on international population flows and how migrants themselves become agents of the globalization process.
Triandafyllidou, Anna, editor. Routledge Handbook of Immigration and Refugee Studies. Second edition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
Organized into thematic and geographical chapters, this book offers a comprehensive study of the field of international migration and asylum studies, examining the relationship between urbanization and migration, the role of advanced digital technologies in migration governance, decision making and human agency, and the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on global migration. Contributions provide an in-depth study of the major analytical questions pertaining to migration and asylum, whilst discussing key areas such as work, welfare, families, citizenship, the relationship between migration and development, asylum, and irregular migration.
Weinar, Agnieszka, Saskia Bonjour, and Lyubov Zhyznomirska, editors. The Routledge Handbook of the Politics of Migration in Europe. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2019.
This work provides a critical examination of what is exceptional about the European politics of migration, showcasing a European approach to the study of migration politics, inclusive of tendencies in all geographical parts of Europe (including Eastern Europe, the Western Balkans, Turkey) and of influences of the European Union (EU) on countries in Europe and beyond. Each chapter reviews the state of the art field of studies on a given topic or question in Europe as a continent while highlighting any dimensions in scholarly debates that are uniquely European. Thematically organized, it permits analytical comparisons across various geographical entities within Europe and broadens the focus on European immigration politics and policies beyond the traditional limitations of Western European, immigrant-receiving societies.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.