SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
These handbooks provide background information about contemporary issues, events, or topics concerning countries throughout Europe regardless of the subject area. They are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Abels, Gabriele, editor. The Routledge Handbook of Gender and EU Politics. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook maps the expanding field of gender and EU Politics, giving an overview of the fundamentals and new directions of the sub-discipline. In investigating the gendered nature of European integration and gender relations in the EU as a political system, it summarizes and assesses the current research on gender and the EU, identifies existing research gaps in gender and EU studies, and addresses directions for future research. Contributors inform about gender approaches and summarize the state of the art in gender and EU studies framed in the context of EU politics, gender studies, political theory, comparative politics, international relations, political economy, and European law.
Becchi, Paolo. and Klaus. Mathis, editors. Handbook of Human Dignity in Europe. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This handbook provides a systematic overview of the legal concept and the meaning of human dignity for each European state and the European Union. For each of these countries and the EU, it scrutinizes three main aspects: the constitution, legislation, and application of law (court rulings). The book addresses and presents answers to important questions relating to the concept of human dignity. These questions include the following: What is the meaning of human dignity? What is the legal status of the respective human dignity norms? Are human dignity norms of a programmatic nature, or do they establish an individual right which can be invoked before court? Is human dignity inviolable? The volume answers these questions from the perspectives of all European countries and in relation to events during World War II, human dignity (dignitas) found its way into international law, and Article 1 of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Bigo, Didier, et al, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Critical European Studies. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook comprehensively and critical analyzes European Union politics, policies, and processes, addressing four main thematic areas pertaining to the study of the European Union and its policies: Critical Approaches to European Integration; Critical Approaches to European Political Economy; Critical Approaches to EU's Internal Security; Critical Approaches to EU's External Relations and Foreign Affairs. In their contributions to this volume, the authors take a sympathetic yet critical approach to the European integration process and the present structures of the European Union. Furthermore, the book provides ideas for future research activity and introduces critical analyses rooted in a broad spectrum of theoretical perspectives.
Bouris, Dimitris, Daniela Huber, and Michelle Pace, editors. Routledge Handbook of EU-Middle East Relations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This Handbook provides an entry point for an informed exploration of the multiple themes, actors, structures, policies and processes that influence EU-Middle East relations by covering these relations from a broad perspective that captures continuities, ruptures and entanglements, this handbook provides a clear understanding of trends concerning the intricate entanglements in EU-Middle East relations. The volume offers original reflections on historical constructions, theoretical approaches, multilateralism and geopolitical perspectives, contemporary issues, peace, security and conflict and development, economics, trade and society.
Casarini, Nicola et al, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Europe-Korea Relations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
Informed by high-quality academic research and key trilateral data and statistics, this book brings scope, balance and depth, with wide-ranging coverage examining the history of Europe-Korea relations, the Cold War, contemporary Europe-ROK and Europe-DPRK relations, Europe and inter-Korea relations within the regional context, and relations between European countries and the ROK. Its contents provides an essential understanding of both the historical backdrop to, and the current crisis in, this region as well as a way of thinking about a way forward for a future relationship between Europe and the two Koreas.
Christiansen, Peter Munk, Jørgen Elklit, and Peter Nedergaard, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Danish Politics. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This is a comprehensive and thorough book on Danish politics and Danish political institutions and political life. It covers issues related to the Danes reservations towards the EU despite close to 50 years of EC/EU membership, the Danes rejection of the Maastricht Treaty in 1992, and its conflicted political battles over progressive issues such as being the first country to legalize pornography and formally register same-sex couples, yet recent Danish politics being associated with xenophobia and anti-Muslim sentiments. The handbook provides the reader with a detailed knowledge and understanding of almost all aspects of Danish politics.
Diamond, Patrick, Peter Nedergaard, and Ben Rosamond, editors. The Routledge Handbook of the Politics of Brexit. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This book examines the Brexit phenomenon so far, and looks to make sense of the British referendum held in June 2016 to leave the European Union. The book asks simple questions across a range of areas and topics so as to frame the debate into a number of navigable discussions, providing structure and form to what is an evolving and potentially inchoate topic. As such, it provides a systematic account of the background for, the content, and the possible implications of Brexit. The handbook therefore does not examine in detail the minutiae of Brexit as it unfolds on a day-to-day basis, but considers both the broad contextual factors that shape and are shaped by Brexit and the deeper sources and implications of British exit from the European Union.
Fagan, Adam, and Petr Kopecky, editors. Routledge Handbook of East European Politics. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JN 96 .A58 R68 2018]
This work provides a comprehensive overview of the political, economic, and social complexity of Central Europe, the Baltic republics, South Eastern Europe, and the Western Balkans, as well as all the countries of the former Soviet Union. Articles seek to explain and understand patterns of current Eastern European politics in support of the study of East European Politics, Russian Politics, EU Politics, and more broadly in European Politics, Comparative Politics, Democratization Studies, and International Relations.
Fernandes, Jorge M., Pedro Magalhaes, and António Costa Pinto, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Portuguese Politics. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2022.
This volume offer comprehensive coverage of the politics (broadly defined) of the country over the past fifty years. The handbook includes eight sections. Past and Present provides an overview of Portuguese political developments since democratization in the 1970s. Political Institutions explores the building blocks of Portuguese democracy. The third section examines the demand-side of mass politics. The fourth section turns to the supply side of mass-politics by looking at ‘Parties and the Party System’. The fifth section reviews the ‘Portuguese Society’ by unpacking a plethora of societal aspects with direct implications for politics. The sixth section examines ‘Governance and Public Policies’, with a view to understanding how a constellation of public policies has an impact on the quality of governance and in fostering well-being. The seventh section looks at ‘Portugal and the European Union’ and the last section unpacks Portuguese Foreign Policy and Defense.
Flesher Fominaya, Cristina, and Ramon A. Feenstra, editors. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary European Social Movements: Protest in Turbulent Times. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This volume offers a comprehensive overview of the analysis of European social movements. The book is divided into eight sections: Visions of Europe; Contemporary models of democracy; Historical evolution of major European movements; Feminism and sexualities; Movement diffusion within and beyond Europe; Anti-austerity movements; Technopolitical and media movements; and, Movements, parties and movement-parties. Key theories and empirical trajectories of core movements, their central issues, debates and impacts are covered, with a focus on how these have influenced and been influenced by their European context. Democracy, and how social movements understand it, renew it, or undermine it, forms a core thread that runs through the book.
Gendzwiłł, Adam, Ulrik Kjaer, and Kristof Steyvers, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Local Elections and Voting in Europe. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This work covers issues as local electoral systems and voting behavior or political representation in Europe. It provides comprehensive and expert coverage of forty European countries, organized along the respective local state traditions, and in addressing a wide range of important questions related to local elections and voting, broadens the scope of existing analyses quantitatively as well as qualitatively. Each country chapter follows a rigorous conceptual framework for cross-national comparisons, providing an overview of the local government system, details on the place of local elections within the multi-level political system, specific features of the electoral system, analysis of the main electoral outcomes in the recent decades and finally reflective discussion.
Gillespie, Richard, and Frederic Volpi, editors. Routledge Handbook of Mediterranean Politics. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks DE 100 .R68 2018]
This handbook provides an overview of the political processes that shape the Mediterranean region in the contemporary context. It explores the issues of crucial importance to Mediterranean dynamics through a series of analytical sections that guide the reader towards a comprehensive understanding of the main regional interactions and trends.The book explores: The complex historical formation of the contemporary Mediterranean; geopolitical perspectives; issues around peace and conflict; the political economy of the region; and, the role of non-state actors and social movements, all in the context of how distinct political, economic, social and cultural dynamics interact across the region.
Gill, Graeme J., editor. Routledge Handbook of Russian Politics and Society. 2nd edition. New York: Routledge, 2023.
Through balanced theoretical and empirical investigation, each chapter examines both the Russian experience and the existing literature, identifies and exemplifies research trends, and highlights both the richness of experience, history and continued challenges inherent to this shifting polity. This book addresses questions about democratic transition, the relationship between the market and democracy, stability and authoritarian politics, the development of civil society, the role of crime and corruption, the development of a market economy, and Russia's likely place in the emerging new world order.
Haastrup, Toni, Luís Mah, and Niall Duggan, editors. The Routledge Handbook of EU-Africa Relations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the changing dynamics in the relationship between the African continent and the European Union. Structured into five parts, the handbook provides an incisive look at the past, present and potential futures of EU- Africa relations. The chapters cover themes like multilateralism, development assistance, institutions, gender equality, and science and technology among others. This book provides original reflections from a diversity of conceptual and theoretical perspectives, and experts in Africa, Europe and beyond, offering a comprehensive analyses of contemporary global politics as manifested in Africa and Europe.
Hoerber, Thomas C., Gabriel Weber, and Ignazio Cabras, editors. The Routledge Handbook of European Integrations. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
The book provides crucial and groundbreaking coverage of several key areas that are usually neglected or excluded in European integration collections. Whilst still examining the largest and most influential institutions, such as, the Eurozone, the Common Internal Market, or European law the book covers areas such as such as culture in European integration or new technologies and their impact on the EU. Organized around three main sections, culture, technology and 'tangibles,' the book: offers an authoritative encyclopedia to understudied areas in European integration, from media, football, Erasmus and Tourism, to transport, space, AI and energy.
Keating, Michael, editor. The Oxford Handbook of Scottish Politics. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This handbook provides a detailed overview of politics in Scotland, looking at areas such as elections and electoral behavior, public policy, political parties, and Scotland's relationship with the EU and the wider world. It focuses on the period since 1999 as a European nation, with its own history and society, within the larger union of the United Kingdom. Since devolution, the book documents the party system and how voting patterns have changed as well as Scotland’s capacity to make its own public policy has grown in relation to the Independence Referendum of 2014 and a new phase with Brexit.
Klaus Larres, Holger Moroff, and Ruth Wittlinger, editors. The Oxford Handbook of German Politics. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2022.
Germany emerged from the Cold War as a newly united and sovereign state, eventually becoming Europe's indispensable partner for all major domestic and foreign policy initiatives. This work provides a comprehensive overview of some of the major issues of German domestic politics, economics, foreign policy, and culture. This book serves primarily as a reference work on Germany’s political landscape, but through this broader lens it also provides a magnifying glass of global developments, which are challenging and transforming the modern state. The growing importance of Germany as a political actor and economic partner makes this endeavor all the more timely and pertinent from both a German and European but also from a global perspective.
Leruth, Benjamin, Nicholas Startin, and Simon McDougall Usherwood, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Euroscepticism. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This handbook paints a fuller, more holistic picture of the extent to which the Eurosceptic debate since the advent of the 1992 Maastricht Treaty has influenced the European Union and its member states. Crucially, it focuses on what the consequences of this development are likely to be for the future direction of the European project. By adopting a broad-based, thematic approach, the volume centers on theory and conceptualization, political parties, public opinion, non-party groups, the role of referendums, and the media, and of scepticism within the EU institutions. It also reflects on the future of Euroscepticism studies following the United Kingdom's vote to leave the EU.
Leruth, Benjamin, Stefan Ganzle, and Jarle Trondal, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Differentiation in the European Union. New York: Routledge, 2022.
This work offers an essential collection of chapters reflecting on the causes and consequences of the complex phenomenon of differentiation in the European Union. With contributions from key experts in this sub-field of European Studies, it provides insights into the dynamics of differentiation as a mechanism of (dis)integration in the European Union, especially in the light of Brexit and other events and in relation to questions about to define differentiation in the European Union, whether it creates more challenges or opportunities for the EU, and what are the prospects for the future.
Lux, Gabor and Gyula Horvath, editors. The Routledge Handbook to Regional Development in Central and Eastern Europe. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This book identifies the main driving forces of spatial restructuring in Central and Eastern Europe and charts the different regional development paths which take shape against the backdrop of post-crisis Europe. A comparative approach is used to highlight common development challenges and the underlying patterns of socio-economic differentiation alike. The issues investigated within the handbook extend to a discussion of the varied economic consequences of transition, the social structures and institutional systems which underpin development processes, and the broadly understood sustainability of Central and Eastern Europe’s current development model in the context of the apparent limits to post-socialist growth models.
Marczewska-Rytko, Maria, editor. Handbook of Direct Democracy in Central and Eastern Europe after 1989. Opladen, Germany: Barbara Budrich Publishers, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JF 497.E85 H36 2018]
The handbook offers an instructive approach to the political history of Central and Eastern Europe since the collapse of the Soviet Union by focusing on the relevance of practices and institutions of direct democracy. It collects twenty political analyses of direct democracy in twenty Central and Eastern European countries with the aim of the book provide an in-depth political analysis of direct democracy in particular as it relates to: 1) the diagnosis of the state of democratic processes taking place in this area; 2) the synthesis and analysis of direct democracy institutions used there, and 3) the analysis and comparative study of implementations of solutions characteristic of direct democracy in the area investigated, both on a national and local scale.
Meijer, Hugo and Marco Wyss, editors. The Handbook of European Defence Policies and Armed Forces. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2018.
This volume provides a comprehensive analysis of national security and defense policies, strategies, doctrines, capabilities, and military operations, as well as the alliances and partnerships of European armed forces in response to the security challenges Europe has faced since the end of the Cold War. The six parts focus on: country-based assessments of the evolution of the national defense policies of Europe’s major, medium, and lesser powers since the end of the cold war; the alliances and security partnerships developed by European states to cooperate in the provision of national security; the security challenges faced by European states and their armed forces, ranging from interstate through intra-state and transnational; the national security strategies and doctrines developed in response to these challenges; the military capabilities, and the underlying defense and technological industrial base, brought to bear to support national strategies and doctrines; and, the national or multilateral military operations by European armed forces.
Ongaro, Edoardo, and Sandra Van Thiel, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Public Administration and Management in Europe. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks JN 94 .A58 P35 2018]
This book offers a systematic review of knowledge on public administration in Europe. Covering the theoretical and practical aspects of the field, it focuses on how public administration operates and is studied in European countries. In sixty-three chapters, it considers the uniqueness of the European situation through an interdisciplinary and comparative lens, focusing on the administrative diversity which results from the multiplicity of countries, languages, schools of thought, and streams of investigation across Europe. The book addresses issues such as multi-level administration and governance, intensive cross country cooperation in administrative reform policy, and public accountability under different systems. It also considers the issue of welfare service delivery, at a time of major economic and societal challenges, as well as understudied emerging issues like Islamic Public Administration and the dynamics of public sector negotiations.
Riddervold, Marianne, Jarle Trondal, and Akasemi Newsome, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of EU Crises. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2021.
This handbook explores the European Union’s institutional and policy responses to crises across policy domains and institutions, including the Euro crisis, Brexit, the Ukraine crisis, the refugee crisis, as well as the global health crisis resulting from COVID-19. It contributes to an understanding of how crisis affects institutional change and continuity, decision-making behavior and processes, and public policy-making. It also discusses how the existing repertoire of theories understand crisis and how well they capture times of unrest and events of disintegration. More generally, the handbook looks at how public organizations cope with crises, and thus probes how sustainable and resilient public organizations are in times of crisis and unrest.
Romanova, Tatiana and Maxine David, editors. The Routledge Handbook of EU-Russia Relations: Structures, Actors, Issues. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the changing dynamics in relations between the European Union and Russia. Organized into seven parts, the book provides a structure through which EU-Russia relations can be studied in a comprehensive yet manageable fashion. Informed by academic research and key bilateral data/statistics, the book brings together a range of experts from the EU, Russia, and beyond, covering key policy areas and issues that are fundamental to understanding the continuing development of EU-Russia relations, such as political and security relations, economic relations, social relations and regional and global governance.
Schumacher, Tobias, Andreas Marchetti, and Thomas Demmelhuber, editors. The Routledge Handbook on the European Neighbourhood Policy. London: Routledge, 2018.
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the European Union's most important foreign policy instrument. Coherently structured and adopting a multidisciplinary approach, this handbook covers the most important themes, developments, and dynamics in the EU's neighborhood policy framework, with chapters that encourage debates about neighborhood-specific perspectives leading to further studies on the EU's policies towards its neighborhood.
TezcuÌr, GuÌnesÌ Murat, editor. The Oxford Handbook of Turkish Politics. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This book includes in-depth analyses of Turkey being perceived as a model country that showed the feasibility of democratic governance in a Muslim-majority society, the rise of religious-nationalist populism and sociopolitical polarization that has resulted in an authoritarian turn that has stifled political liberalization, Turkish foreign policy with strong linkages to the West, and Turkish national identity. Coverage includes examining issues of authoritarianism and democratization, political economy, electoral politics, politics of identity, social movements, foreign policy, and the politics of art.
Tsygankov, Andrei P. Routledge Handbook of Russian Foreign Policy. London: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks DK 510.764 .R683 2018]
This work brings together an international team of scholars to develop a complex treatment of Russia's foreign policy. The chapters draw from numerous theoretical traditions by incorporating ideas of domestic institutions, considerations of national security and international recognition as sources of the nation's foreign policy. Covering critically important subjects such as Russia's military interventions in Ukraine and Syria, the handbook is divided into four key parts: Part I explores the social and material conditions in which Russia's foreign policy is formed and implemented. Part II investigates tools and actors that participate in policy making including diplomacy, military, media, and others. Part III provides an overview of Russia's directions towards the United States, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Eurasia, and the Arctic. Part IV addresses the issue of Russia's participation in global governance and multiple international organizations, as well as the Kremlin's efforts to build new organizations and formats that suit Russia's objectives.
Vihalemm, Peeter, Anu Masso, and Signe Opermann, editors. The Routledge International Handbook of European Social Transformations. London: Routledge, 2018.
This book focuses on European social transformations in the context of explaining invariable, universal attributes of societies and examining changing attributes. The book consists of four main parts, beginning with an overview of the theoretical and methodological approaches, and then focusing separately on post-communist transformations, institutional drivers of social transformations in the European Union, and European transformations in the context of global processes. It presents current theoretical, empirical and methodological approaches that complement the literature on social transformations.
Weinar, Agnieszka, Saskia Bonjour, and Lyubov Zhyznomirska, editors. The Routledge Handbook of the Politics of Migration in Europe. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2019.
This work provides a critical examination of what is exceptional about the European politics of migration, showcasing a European approach to the study of migration politics, inclusive of tendencies in all geographical parts of Europe (including Eastern Europe, the Western Balkans, Turkey) and of influences of the European Union (EU) on countries in Europe and beyond. Each chapter reviews the state of the art field of studies on a given topic or question in Europe as a continent while highlighting any dimensions in scholarly debates that are uniquely European. Thematically organized, it permits analytical comparisons across various geographical entities within Europe and broadens the focus on European immigration politics and policies beyond the traditional limitations of Western European, immigrant-receiving societies.
Yemelianova, Galina M. and Laurence Broers, editors. Routledge Handbook of the Caucasus. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook offers an integrated, multidisciplinary overview of the historical, ethno-linguistic, cultural, socio-economic and political complexities of the Caucasus. Covering both the North and South Caucasus, the book presents a thorough introduction. The rest of the book is divided into six parts which combine thematic and chronological principles: Place, Peoples and Culture, Political History, The Contemporary Caucasus: Politics, Economics and Societies, Conflict and Political Violence, The Caucasus in the Wider World, and Societal and Cultural Dynamics.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.