SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated the topic of international crime. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Agozino, Biko and Viviane Saleh-Hanna, editors. The Routledge Handbook on Africana Criminologies. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This Handbook defines and explores African criminology, moving away from the colonialist approach of offering administrative criminology about policing, courts and prisons, and making a case for decolonizing the wider discipline. Arranged in five parts, it outlines Africana Criminologies, maps its emergence and addresses key themes such as slavery, colonialism and apartheid as crimes against humanity; critiques of imperialist reason; Africana cultural criminology; and theories of law enforcement and Africana people. Coalescing a diverse range of voices from Africa and the diaspora, the handbook explores outside Eurocentric canons in order to learn from the experiences, struggles and contributions of people of African descent.
Allum, Felia and Stan Gilmour, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Transnational Organized Crime. 2nd edition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This updated work provides a holistic overview of Transnational Organized Crime (TOC) in relation to right wing populism, trade wars, and China is an emerging force. It includes chapters on issues, such as, criminal network analysis, environmental crime, cybercrime, people smuggling, drugs activities in the modern world, the relationship between organized crime and corruption, anti-organised crime resilience and the effectiveness of the fight against organized crime. New country case studies have also been included. The Handbook is presented in six sections: Theories, definitions and laws Origins and manifestations Contagion and Evolution Intensity and Impact Governance Reaction and Future.
Brisman, Avi and Nigel South, editors. Routledge International Handbook of Green Criminology. 2nd edition. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This work describes a range of environmental issues of regional and global importance, and argues for continued criminological attention to environmental crimes and harms, setting an agenda for further study. This edition reflects new methodological orientations, new locations of study such as Asia, Canada and South America, and new responses to environmental harms. It offers a range of chapters covering new and emerging areas of study, such as, conservation criminology, eco-feminism, environmental victimology, fracking, migration and eco-rights, and e-waste.
Brotherton, David, and Rafael Jose Gude, editors. Routledge International Handbook of Critical Gang Studies. London: Routledge, 2022.
International in scope and drawing on a range of sociological, criminological and anthropological traditions, this work looks beyond pathological, ahistorical, and non-transformative approaches. It reflects and defines the new theoretical and empirical traditions of critical gang studies and offers a variety of perspectives, including a view of gangs that takes into consideration the global context and appearance of the "gang" in its various forms and stages of development, an appreciation of the gang as a socio-cultural formation, a race-ethnic and class analysis of the gang that problematizes domain assumptions such as the "underclass", gender variations of the gang phenomenon with a particular emphasis on their intersectional properties, relations between gangs and the political economy that address the dominant mode of production and exchange, treatments that demonstrate the historically contingent nature of gangs and their changes across time, the contradictory impact of gang repressive policies, institutions and practices as part of a broader discussion on the nature of the state in specific societies, and critical methodologies on gangs that involve discussions of visual and textual representations and the problems of data collection and analysis.
Carrington, Kerry., Russell Hogg, John Scott, and Máximo Sozzo, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Criminology and the Global South. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.
This handbook addresses the problem of knowledge production in criminology, redressing the global imbalance with an original focus on the Global South by studying issues of vital criminological research and policy significance abound in the Global South along with the implications for South/North relations and global security and justice. The authors approach the subject from a range of historical, theoretical, and social perspectives, this collection promotes the Global South not only as a space for the production of knowledge, but crucially, as a source of innovative research and theory on crime and justice.
Cox, Alexandra L. and Laura S. Abrams, editors. The Palgrave International Handbook of Youth Imprisonment. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2021.
This handbook brings together the knowledge on juvenile imprisonment and the role of incarceration in young people’s lives to develop a global, synthesized view of the impact of imprisonment on children and young people. The work is organized around several core themes including: conditions of confinement, relationships in confinement, gender/sexuality and identity, perspectives on juvenile facility staff, reentry from youth prisons, young people’s experiences in adult prisons, and new models and perspectives on juvenile imprisonment.
Cunneen, Chris et al. The Routledge International Handbook on Decolonizing Justice. Milton, MA: Taylor and Francis Group, 2023.
This work focuses on the growing worldwide movement aimed at decolonizing state policies and practices, and various disciplinary knowledges including criminology, social work and law. Centering the perspectives of Black, First Nations, and other racialized and minoritized peoples, the book includes analyses of specific decolonization policies and interventions instigated by communities to enhance jurisdictional self-determination; theoretical approaches to decolonization; the importance of research and research ethics as a key foundation of the decolonization process; crucial contemporary issues including deaths in custody, state crime, reparations, and transitional justice; and critical analysis of key institutions of control, including police, courts, corrections, child protection systems and other forms of carcerality.
Dalla, Rochelle L. and Donna Sabella, editors. Routledge International Handbook of Human Trafficking: A Multi-Disciplinary and Applied Approach. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook is devoted to the growing international crimes of human trafficking and modern-day slavery. It offers in-depth analyses and opportunities for application (through case studies, critical thinking questions, and supplemental learning materials) as well as content experts representing multiple segments of society (e.g. academia, government, law enforcement, and practice) and global vantage points (e.g., Australia, Finland, Germany, Netherlands, South Africa, Thailand, and the United States).
Dawson, Myrna and Saide Mobayed Vega, editors. The Routledge International Handbook on Femicide and Feminicide. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This volume explores in depth femicide and feminicide and all forms of male violence against women and girls. It offers in-depth, global examination of the growing social movement to address femicide and feminicide. The handbook includes the current state of knowledge, the prevalence of femicide/feminicide and its characteristics across countries and world regions, as well as the social and legal responses to these killings. The contributions look at the accomplishments of the past four decades, ongoing challenges, as well as current and future priorities to identify where we need to go from here to prevent femicide/feminicide specifically, and male violence against women and girls overall, underscoring the importance of adopting a human rights framework in working towards its prevention.
DeKeseredy, Walter S., Callie Marie. Rennison, and Amanda K. Hall-Sanchez. The Routledge International Handbook of Violence Studies. Milton, NJ: Routledge, 2018.
Guided by a broader definition of violence is a serious public health problem, this work examines empirical, theoretical, and policy issues related to violent deaths and the many more survive violence that erodes communities by reducing productivity, decreasing property values, and disrupting social services. Contributors consider violence beyond the realm of interpersonal harms, such as, murder, armed robbery, and male-to-female physical and sexual assaults in intimate relationships, to include behaviors often ignored by the criminal justice system, such as human rights violations, racism, psychological abuse, state terrorism, environmental violations, and war.
DeKeseredy, Walter S. and Molly Dragiewicz, editors. Routledge Handbook of Critical Criminology. 2nd edition. London: Routledge, 2018.
The main objective of this title is to cover contemporary critical criminological theoretical offerings generated over the past five years and describe important topics that are currently being studied and theorized by criminologists. Special attention is devoted to theoretical directions in the field, such as southern criminology, queer criminology, and green criminology. The diverse chapters cover not only cutting-edge theories, but also the variety of research methods used by leading scholars in the field and the rich data generated by their rigorous empirical work. In addition, some of the chapters suggest innovative and realistic short- and long-term policy proposals that are typically ignored by mainstream criminology.
DeLisi, Matt, editor. Routledge International Handbook of Psychopathy and Crime. London: Routledge, 2018.
This book presents the full landscape of research on antisocial behavior that employs psychopathy as a central correlate. Organized into five distinctive sections, this book covers the etiology of psychopathy; the measurement of psychopathy; the association between psychopathy and diverse forms of homicidal and sexual offending, including serial murder, sexual homicide, rape and child molestation; criminal careers and psychopathy; the role of psychopathy in criminal justice system supervision, including institutional misconduct, noncompliance, and recidivism.
Gallien, Max and Florian Weigand, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Smuggling. New York: Routledge, 2022.
The handbook offers a comprehensive survey of interdisciplinary research related to smuggling, reflecting on key themes, and charting current and future trends. Divided into six parts and spanning over thirty chapters, the volume covers themes such as mobility, borders, violent conflict, and state politics, as well as looking at the smuggling of specific goods such as rice, gasoline, wildlife, weapons and cocaine. Chapters engage with the historical creation of borders, re-bordering, the criminalization of migration, and the politics of selective toleration of smuggling.
Holt, Thomas J. and Adam M. Bossler, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of International Cybercrime and Cyberdeviance. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This work synthesizes the global knowledge on cybercrime in relation to the constant evolution of technology and our relationship to devices and their misuse creates a complex challenge requiring interdisciplinary knowledge and exploration. It covers the foundations, history and theoretical aspects of cybercrime, followed by four key sections on the main types of cybercrime: cyber-tresspass, cyber-deception/theft, cyber-porn and obscenity, and cyber-violence, including policy responses to cybercrime.
Jaishankar, K., editor. Routledge Handbook of South Asian Criminology. New York: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook focuses on crime, criminal justice, and victimization in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in relation to rapid growth in population and economy that leads to transformations in social behaviors, including those related to criminality and victimization as well as processes, historical perspectives, politics, policies, and victimization. This collection of chapters provides a wealth of information on criminological issues and their effect on the countries and governments' efforts to mitigate them.
Kostoris, Roberto E., editor. Handbook of European Criminal Procedure. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2018.
This volume analyses criminal procedural issues from a European perspective, particularly in connection with EU law and ECHR law. Focusing on criminal procedural matters in the European context. It covers a broad range of topics: from the complex system of the sources of law to the multilevel protection of fundamental rights; from vertical and horizontal judicial and police cooperation to the instruments of mutual recognition, primarily the European Arrest Warrant; but also the European Investigation Order, the execution of confiscation orders, the ne bis in idem principle, the conflicts of jurisdiction and the enforcement of judgements. The book also reflects the latest regulation on the establishment of the European Public Prosecutor’s Office.
Kronfeldner, Maria E., editor. The Routledge Handbook of Dehumanization. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This is the first comprehensive reference source on the subject of the systematic persecution denying and stripping human beings of their humanity, where human beings are regarded and treated as inhuman or subhuman. and an outstanding survey of the key concepts, issues and debates within dehumanization. Organized into four clear parts, the book covers the following key topics: The history of humanization and dehumanization from the Enlightenment to the Twentieth century; victims of dehumanization: including genocide, race, disability, gender and immigration; ethical and legal aspects of dehumanization, including crimes against humanity, discrimination, hate speech, speciesism, and animal ethics; and conceptual and epistemological aspects: essentialism, measurement, the emotions and the future of dehumanization studies.
Lombard, Nancy, editor. The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Violence. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This work provides both a comprehensive and authoritative overview of research in the field of gender and violence. Each of the twenty-three chapters develops and summarizes key issue or debates including rape, stalking, online harassment, domestic abuse, female genital mutilation, trafficking, and prostitution. Contributors study violence against women, but also look at male victims and perpetrators as well as gay, lesbian, and transgender violence.
Piotrowicz, Ryszard W., Conny Rijken, and Baerbel Heide Uhl, editors. Routledge Handbook of Human Trafficking. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks HQ 281 .R78 2018]
This book provides an interdisciplinary introduction to trafficking in human beings as a serious criminal activity that has significant ramifications for the human rights of the victims and its challenges to the state, society and individual victims. It reviews trafficking through the lens of law, anthropology, social and political science and addresses statistical, data protection issues, showcases the most effective research methods, and analyzes the various actors and stakeholders and the different types of exploitation of trafficked persons.
Roberson, Cliff, editor. Routledge Handbook of Social, Economic, and Criminal Justice. New York: Routledge, 2018.
This work explores different perspectives on economic and social justice and the challenges presented by and within the criminal justice system. It critically discusses key concerns involved in realizing economic and social justice, including systemic issues in economic and social justice, issues related to organizations and social institutions, special issues regarding specific populations, and a review of national and international organizations that promote economic justice. Addressing more than just the ideology and theory underlying economic and social justice, the book presents chapters with practical examples and research on how economic and social justice might be achieved within the criminal justice systems of the world.
Walker, Clive and Jimmy. Gurulé, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Criminal and Terrorism Financing Law. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2018.
This work focuses on how criminal and terrorist assets pose significant and unrelenting threats to the integrity, security, and stability of contemporary societies. In response to the funds generated by or for organized crime and transnational terrorism, contributors consider national, regional, and international levels for laws, organizations and procedures, and economic systems. It examines the institutional and legal responses, set within the context of both policy and practice, with a view to critiquing these actions on the grounds of effective delivery and compliance with legality and rights.
Vanstone, Maurice and Philip Priestley, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Global Rehabilitation in Criminal Justice. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2022.
This handbook provides an overview of rehabilitation as practiced internationally in criminal justice. It reflects common features of criminal justice in different countries and documents their diversity and vitality. The handbook provides a counter-narrative demonstrating that although criminal justice dispositions, such as, probation, prisons, and parole can be represented as a ‘via dolorosa’, rehabilitation as illustrated in these pages can become a journey that leads by degrees towards the possibility of a better life.
Walker, Lenore., Giselle. Gaviria, and Kalyani. Gopal, editors. Handbook of Sex Trafficking: Feminist Transnational Perspectives. Cham, Switzerland: Springer , 2018.
This work assembles the current knowledge base on the scope and phenomena of sex trafficking as well as best practices for treatment of its survivors. A global feminist framework is used to provide an understanding of the entrenched social inequities and ongoing world events that fuel trafficking, including in its lesser-known forms. Contributor highlight who buyers and traffickers are, why some survivors become victimizers, and the experiences of victim sub-populations (men, boys, refugees, sexual minorities), as well as emerging trends in prevention and protection, resilience and rehabilitation located at the intersections of gender, race, socioeconomic status, and politics. A sampling of topics in the Handbook: · An organizational systems view of sex trafficking.
Wells, Joseph T. International Fraud Handbook. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley and Sons, 2018.
This handbook provides comprehensive guidance toward effective anti-fraud measures around the world. It contains information on cross-border fraud investigations, examination methodology, risk management, detection, prevention, response, and more, including new statistics from the ACFE 2018 Report to the Nations on Occupational Fraud and Abuse that reveal the prevalence and real-world impact of different types of fraud. In addition, this book includes jurisdiction-specific information on the anti-fraud environment for more than thirty-five countries around the globe. These country-focused discussions contributed by local anti-fraud experts provide readers with the information they need when conducting cross-border engagements, including applicable legal and regulatory requirements, the types and sources of information available when investigating fraud, foundational anti-fraud frameworks, cultural considerations, and more.
Winterdyk, John A. and Jackie. Jones, editors. The Palgrave International Handbook of Human Trafficking. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This handbook is covers aspects of human trafficking from historical perspectives to current topics from leading experts and international organizations to NGOs on the ground. The book is divided into eight key sections: 1. History of Slavery and Trafficking in Persons 2. Explanations and Methods of Inquiry 3. Types of Trafficking in Persons 4. Trafficking in Persons and Response Mechanisms 5. Organizational Profiles 6. Country, Region and Local Response Mechanisms 7. The work of Non-Governmental Organizations 8. Future Issues and Directions in Controlling Trafficking in Persons.
Zempi, Irene, editor. The Routledge International Handbook of Islamophobia. London: Routledge, 2019.
This handbook provides a comprehensive collection of key readings in Islamophobia. Consisting of thirty-two chapters, it seeks to examine the nature, extent, implications of, and responses to Islamophobic hate crime both nationally and internationally. This volume the increase in Islamophobic hate crimes following the terrorist attacks of 9/11 and 7/7 and more recent rhetoric surrounding Trump's election and presidency, Brexit, the rise of far-right groups and ISIS-inspired terrorist attacks worldwide.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.