SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated international energy policy. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Asif, Muhammad, editor. Handbook of Energy and Environmental Security. London: Academic Press, 2022.
This work examines the wider dimensions of the distinctive yet intertwined subjects of energy security and environmental security. The book addresses these two topics in a comprehensive and composite manner, describing the concepts and wider dimensions of energy- and environmental security in technological, economic, social and geopolitical perspectives. Divided into three main parts, the book deals with the subject of energy security in terms of its concepts, broader dimensions, and allied issues, focuses on environmental security, and covers key environmental security challenges, especially in the areas of sustainable development and climate change.
Asif, Muhammad, editor. Handbook of Energy Transitions. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2023.
The work presents a holistic account of the 21st century energy transition away from fossil fuels. It provides an overview of the unfolding transition in terms of overall dimensions, drivers, trends, barriers, policies, and geopolitics, and then discusses transition in terms of particular resources or technologies, such as renewable energy systems, solar energy, hydropower, hydrogen and fuel cells, electric vehicles, energy storage systems, batteries, digitalization, smart grids, blockchain, and machine learning. It also discusses the present energy transition in terms of broader policy and developmental perspectives. Further, it examines sustainable development, the economics of energy and green growth, and the role of various technologies and initiatives like renewables, nuclear power, and electrification in promoting energy security and energy transition worldwide by featuring practical case studies and comparative assessments in relation to the latest renewable energy and low carbon technologies and the connection between energy transition and global climate change.
Araújo, Kathleen M., editor. Routledge Handbook of Energy Transitions. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
The book advances the field of energy transitions by connecting ideas, taking stock of empirical insights and challenging the theory and practice of energy systems change. It employs a socio-technical approach that accounts for economics and engineering as well as more cross-cutting factors, including innovation, policy and planning, as well as management, the volume considers contemporary ideas and practices that characterize the field. The book explores pressing issues including choices about infrastructure, the role of food systems and materials, sustainability, and energy democracy as well as topics such as digitalization, extreme weather, and COVID 19, along with regional similarities and differences.
Bellantuono, Giuseppe, Lee Godden, Hanri Mostert, and Hannah Wiseman, editors. Handbook of Energy Law in the Low-Carbon Transition. Boston, MA: Walter de Gruyter, 2023.
This handbook explores the legal pathways of decarbonization in the energy sector. The volume distills the legal knowledge, including the differences between the decarbonization strategies of developed and developing countries, the pace of the transition, the management of multi-level governance systems, the pros and cons of different policy instruments, the planning of low-carbon infrastructures, the roles and meanings of energy justice. It compares decarbonization pathways in several jurisdictions, discusses transition theories and decarbonization scenarios, and explains contextual factors that should be taken into account when deciding how to support the transition.
Bhattacharyya, Subhes C., editor. Routledge Handbook of Energy in Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This handbook offers a complete picture of Asian energy, covering supply and demand, as well as contemporary challenges in the sector. It presents a comprehensive review of the unprecedented growth of Asian energy over the past quarter of a century and highlights insightful analysis into variation across the continent, whilst highlighting areas of cross-learning and regional cooperation between the developed and developing countries of Asia. The book not only captures the East Asian domination, particularly that of China, but also highlights the growing influence of South Asia and the ASEAN. Organized into four parts, the sections include the demand for energy in the region and its main drivers at the sector level; developments in energy supply, including fossil fuels and renewable energy sources; energy policies and issues such as sector reform and climate change; and, the transition to a low carbon pathway.
Claes, Dag Harald and Giuliano Garavini, editors. Handbook of OPEC and the Global Energy Order: Past, Present, and Future Challenges. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook discusses and analyzes the history and development of Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), its global importance, and the role it has played, and still plays, in the global energy market. Part I focuses on the relationship between OPEC and its member states. Part II examines the relationship between OPEC and its customers, the consuming countries and their governments, while Part III addresses the relationship between OPEC and its competitors and potential partners, the non-OPEC producers, and the international oil companies. The final section, Part IV, looks at OPEC and the governance of international energy.
Davidson, Debra J. and Matthias Gross, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Energy and Society. New York: Oxford University Press, 2018.
This work offers a synthesis of recent developments in sociological analysis of energy-society relations, representing a wide breadth of contributors in sociology and related disciplines from across the globe. Regional case studies of different energy resources are featured, as are the roles of politics, markets, technology, social movements, and consumers, all contributing to a complex systems perspective on the uncertain future of energy-society relations. Topics covered include: structural perspectives on energy-society relations, the persistent material and geopolitical relevance of fossil fuels, consumption processes, the inequitable distribution of energy access, energy poverty, the influence of publics and civil society in contemporary energy-society relations, current trends in energy politics, and significant shifts in energy-society relationships.
Fathi, Michel., Enrico. Zio, and Panos M. Pardalos. Handbook of Smart Energy Systems. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2023.
This handbook analyzes and develops methods and models to optimize solutions for energy access (for industry and the general world population alike) in terms of reliability and sustainability. With a focus on improving the performance of energy systems, it synthesizes research on reliability enhancement, intelligent development, simulation and optimization, as well as sustainable development of energy systems. It illuminates the methodologies needed to improve the reliability of energy supply-and-demand systems, achieve more efficient long-term operations, deal with uncertainties in energy systems, and reduce energy emissions.
Feldpausch-Parker, Andrea M., editor. Routledge Handbook of Energy Democracy. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This handbook offers a comprehensive interdisciplinary examination of the research and practices that constitute the emerging research agenda in energy democracy. This volume defines energy democracy as both a social movement and an academic area of study and examines it through a social science and humanities lens, explaining key concepts and reflecting state of the art research. The collection is comprised of six parts: Scalar Dimensions of Power and Governance in Energy Democracy; Discourses of Energy Democracy; Grassroots and Critical Modes of Action; Democratic and Participatory Principles; Energy Resource Tensions; and, Energy Democracies in Practice.
Hafner, Manfred. and Giacomo. Luciani. The Palgrave Handbook of International Energy Economics. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2022.
This handbook critically examines international energy, rather than domestic energy policies or international geopolitical aspects. Addressing key topics, such as, energy production and distribution, renewables, and corporate energy structures, alongside global energy trends, regional case studies and emerging areas such as the digitalization of energy and energy transition, this handbook provides a thorough assessment of the field of international energy economics.
Hancock, Kathleen J. and Juliann Emmons Allison, editors. The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2021.
This work synthesizes and aggregates substantively diverse literature to provide insights about critical energy issues primarily in the areas of international relations and comparative politics as it relates to climate change and related support for renewable energy; the affordability of extraction of unconventional fuels; increasing demand for energy resources by middle- and low-income nations; new regional and global stakeholders; fossil fuel discoveries and emerging renewable technologies; awareness of (trans)local politics; and rising interest in corporate social responsibility, and the need for energy justice.
Hunter, Tina Soliman. Routledge Handbook of Energy Law. London: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook provides a global survey of the discipline of energy law. The book is divided into six geographical regions based on continents, with a separate section on Russia. Each section contains chapters that address a number of core themes in energy law and regulation, including energy security and the role of markets, regulating the growth of renewable energy, regulating shifts in traditional forms of energy, instruments in regulating disputes in energy, impact of energy on the environment, and key issues in the future of energy and regulation.
Kemmerzell, Jorg, and Michele Knodt, editors. Handbook of Energy Governance in Europe. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2022.
This Handbook provides a comprehensive account of energy governance in Europe, examining both energy governance at the European level and the development of energy policy in thirty European countries. The first part of the book offers a broad overview of the topics of energy research, including theories of energy transitions, strategies and norms of energy policy, governance instruments in the field, and challenges of energy governance. In the second part, it examines the internal and external dimensions of energy governance in the European Union. The third part presents in-depth country studies, which investigate national trajectories of energy policy, including an analysis of the policy instruments and coordination mechanisms for energy transitions. It closes with a comparative analysis of national energy governance.
Leal Filho, Walter., editor. Handbook of Renewable Energy. Berlin, Germany: Springer Berlin Heidelberg, 2020.
This book focuses on the emergent and rapidly growing market of renewable energy. The principal aim is to consolidate research around issues of technologies, approaches, methods, and projects in the field of renewable energy, supported with facts, data and trends from across the world. Topics include biogas and bioorefining energy, wind energy, and agroenergy derived from plant material.
Olawuyi, Damilola S. and Eduardo G. Pereira, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Natural Gas and Global Energy Transitions. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2022.
This work provides an in-depth examination of the transformative implications of the ongoing global energy transitions for natural gas markets across the world. With case studies from Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Latin America, South America, Australia, and the Middle East, the volume introduces readers to the latest legal, policy, technological, and fiscal innovations in natural gas markets in response to ongoing global energy transitions. It outlines the risk mitigation strategies and contractual techniques, focusing on resilience planning, low-carbon business models, green procurement, climate-smart infrastructure development, accountability, gender justice, and other sustainability safeguards, that are required to maximize the full value of natural gas as a catalyst for a just and equitable energy transition and for energy security across the world.
Petrovic, Slobodan. World Energy Handbook. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2023.
This handbook presents an overview of the energy systems of selected countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, and Europe. It is a complete guide to energy history and generation in these countries, including renewable energy, storage, and use. The authors follow the same analytical approach for each country to construct comprehensive surveys of all aspects of energy systems, examining the advantages and disadvantages of each country’s energy infrastructures. The handbook aims to raise awareness about the condition and deficiencies of energy systems in developing countries, and the potential for the countries to improve, grow, and advance the technologies for energy generation, especially by turning to renewable energy sources to increase energy storage capacities and optimizing the way subsystems are integrated.
Shahbaz, Muhammad and Daniel. Balsalobre-Lorente, editors. Econometrics of Green Energy Handbook: Economic and Technological Development. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This book investigates the relationship between energy innovations, economic growth, environmental regulation, promotion of renewable energy use, and climate change. It examines recent developments such as the impacts of globalization and energy efficiency on economic growth and environmental quality. It also explores the ways in which globalization has benefitted green energy development, including the expansion of new technologies and cleaner machinery as well as the problems it has caused. The contributions address topics including econometric modelling of the behaviour of and dynamics between economic growth and environmental quality, aspects of energy production and consumption, oil prices, economic growth, trade openness, environmental quality, regulatory measures, and innovations in the energy sector.
Taghizadeh-Hesary, Farhad, and Dayong Zhang, editors. The Handbook of Energy Policy. Singapore: Springer, 2023.
The book addresses the policy implications of energy demand and supply from their economic, political, social, planning, and environmental aspects. Topics covered include energy security, energy poverty, energy finance, energy pricing, energy and environment, energy and sustainability, energy and growth, energy efficiency, energy trade, technological innovation and energy, energy transition, energy nexus studies, economics, and policy of fossil fuels, economics, and policy of renewable and green energies. The policy recommendations provided in all chapters are supported by a rigorous empirical or theoretical analysis.
Tienhaara, Kyla Susanne and Joanna L. Robinson, editors. Routledge Handbook on the Green New Deal. Abingdon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This Handbook analyses the fundamentals underlying all of the Green New Deals as well as exploring the differences in emphasis and national or regional variations. It is divided into three key parts: the first part looks at the underlying economics of the Green New Deal focusing not just on the how the proposals will be costed but more significantly at how the Green New Deal offers an opportunity for a fundamental transformation of the economy. The second part will explores issues of justice which are central to many Green New Deal proposals including issues around jobs, indigenous rights, feminism. In the third part, authors will detail case studies of Green New Deal proposals at the national or regional level.
Wood, Geoffrey. and Keith. Baker, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of Managing Fossil Fuels and Energy Transitions. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.
This handbook examines how to manage the decline of fossil fuels as the world tackles climate change and shifts towards a low-carbon energy transition. Divided into four sections, the chapters span a wide range of energy technologies and sources including fossil fuels, carbon mitigation options, renewables, low carbon energy, energy storage, electric vehicles and energy sectors (electricity, heat and transport). They cover varied legal jurisdictions and multiple governance approaches encompassing multi- and inter-disciplinary technological, environmental, social, economic, political, legal and policy perspectives with timely case studies from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, South America and the Pacific.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.