SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
These handbooks provide background information about contemporary issues, events, or topics concerning countries throughout Latin America and the Caribbean regardless of the subject area. They are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Atkins, G. Pope. Handbook of Research on the International Relations of Latin America and the Caribbean. New York: Routledge, 2018.
This work examines the long evolution of Latin American and Caribbean international relations both within the development of international relations as a general academic undertaking and in terms of the particular characteristics that distinguish the approaches taken by scholars in the field. This handbook provides a thorough guide to the literature on the various elements of the international relations of Latin America and the Caribbean. Citing over 1600 sources that date from the nineteenth century to the present, with emphasis on recent decades, the volume's analytic essays trace the evolution of research in terms of concepts, issues, and themes.
Bada, Xóchitl and Liliana Rivera Sánchez, editors. The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Latin America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
This handbook offers research essays that introduce the readers to the main assessments of the discipline’s key areas and current trends, specifically with regard to contemporary sociology in Latin America, as well as a collection of innovative empirical studies deploying a variety of qualitative and quantitative methodologies. The handbook is organized in eight sub-fields. These include studies in classical areas of sociology, such as sociology of inequalities, sociology of religions, and the well-established sociology of the state, collective action, and social movements. The sociology of migrations in Latin America, which has rapidly consolidated into a specialized sub-field in the region, provides analytical and conceptual categories that offer alternative theories. This collection also offers a group of sociological studies in diverse fields such as sociology of gender, medical sociology, and sociology of violence.
Bustos, Beatriz et al, editors. Routledge Handbook of Latin America and the Environment. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This book provides an in-depth analysis and theorization of environmental issues in the region. It illuminates connections between Latin American and other regions' perspectives, experiences, and environmental concerns, especially in relation to an acceleration of environmental degradation due to the expansion of resource extraction and urban areas. The work covers a broad range organized in three areas: physical geography, ecology, and crucial environmental problems of the region, key theoretical and methodological issues used to understand Latin America's ecosocial contexts, and institutional and grassroots practices related to more just and sustainable worlds.
Cupples, Julie, Manuel Prieto, and Marcela Palomino-Schalscha, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Latin American Development. London: Routledge, 2019.
This volume draws on contributions from across the humanities and social sciences to highlight Latin American development disrupted by a range of anti-capitalist, decolonial, feminist, and ontological intellectual contributions. The chapters consider the harms and suffering caused by various oppressive forces, as well as the creative and often revolutionary ways in which ordinary Latin Americans resist, fight back, and work to construct development defined broadly as the struggle for a better and more dignified life. The book covers many key themes including development policy and practice; neoliberalism and its aftermath; the role played by social movements in cities and rural areas; the politics of water, oil, and other environmental resources; indigenous and Afro-descendant rights; and the struggles for gender equality.
González Pérez et al, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Urban Studies in Latin America and the Caribbean : Cities, Urban Processes, and Policies. New York: Routledge, 2022.
This handbook examines the contemporary challenges facing cities and urban spaces in Latin America and the Caribbean. The content is organized into four large sections focusing on the histories and trajectories of urban spatial development, inequality and displacement of urban populations, contemporary debates on urban policies, and the future of the city in this region. The contributions enhance the theoretical, empirical and methodological study of urbanization processes and urban policies of Latin America and the Caribbean in the global context of architecture, urban design, urban planning, sociology, anthropology, political science, and public administration.
Kaltmeier, Olaf, Anne Tittor, Daniel James Hawkins, and Eleonora Rohland, editors. The Routledge Handbook to the Political Economy and Governance of the Americas. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This handbook examines the direct and indirect political interventions, geopolitical imaginaries, inequalities, interlinked economic developments and the forms of appropriation of the vast natural resources in the Americas. Forty-six chapters cover a range of Inter-American key concepts and dynamics This includes analysis of the flow of peoples, goods, resources, knowledge, and finances that have promoted interdependence as well as integration across borders that links the countries of North and South America (including the Caribbean) together as well as how these dynamics have contributed to profound asymmetries between different places. Contributors give a comprehensive overview of the theories, practices, and geographies that have shaped the economic dynamics of the region and their impact on both the political and natural landscape.
Rossi, Federico M., editor. The Oxford Handbook of Latin American Social Movements. New York: Oxford University Press, 2023.
This work presents a survey of the broad range of theoretical perspectives on social movements in Latin America. Bringing together a wide variety of viewpoints, the Handbook includes five sections: theoretical approaches to social movements, as applied to Latin America; processes and dynamics of social movements; major social movements in the region; ideational and strategic dimensions of social movements; and the relationship between political institutions and social movements. Covering key social movements and social dynamics in Latin America from the late nineteenth century to the twenty-first century, this book frames debates about formal and informal politics, spatial and relational processes, as well as economic changes in Latin America.
Sieder, Rachel, Karina Ansolabehere, and Tatiana Alfonso Sierra, editors. Routledge Handbook of Law and Society in Latin America. New York: Routledge, 2019.
This handbook presents in-depth analysis of the debates on law, politics and society, and the diversity of situations and contexts characterizing the region. Contributors argue that scholarship about Latin America has made vital contributions to longstanding and emerging theoretical and methodological debates on the relationship between law and society. Key topics examined include: the gap between law-on-the-books and law in action; the implications of legal pluralism and legal globalization; the legacies of experiences of transitional justice; emerging forms of socio-legal and political mobilization; and, debates concerning the relationship between the legal and the illegal.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.