SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS
These handbooks provide background information about contemporary issues, events, or topics concerning countries throughout Central and South Asia regardless of the subject area. They are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
Bajpai, Kanti P., Selina Ho, and Manjari Chatterjee Miller, editors. Routledge Handbook of China-India Relations. New York: Routledge, 2020.
This book provides an understanding of the important and complex relationship between India and China. Reflecting the consequential and multifaceted nature of the bilateral relationship, it brings together thirty-five original contributions by a wide range of experts in the field. The essays show that China-India relations are more far-reaching and complicated than ever and marked by both conflict and cooperation. Following a thorough introduction, the handbook is divided into seven parts which combine thematic and chronological principles: Historical Overviews Culture and Strategic Culture: Constructing the Other Core Bilateral Conflicts Military Relations Economy and Development Relations with Third Parties China, India, and Global Order.
Bhan, Mona, Haley Duschinski, and Deepti Misri, editors. Routledge Handbook of Critical Kashmir Studies. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
The handbook presents emerging critical knowledge frameworks and perspectives that foreground situated histories and resistance practices in order to challenge colonial and postcolonial forms of governance and state building. It politicizes discourses of nationalism, patriotism, democracy, and liberalism, and questions the way the dominant globalist imaginaries and discourses serve institutionalized power, create hegemony, and normalize domination. In doing so, the book situates critical Kashmir studies within global scholarly conversations on nationalism, sovereignty, indigenous movements, human rights, and international law.
Duschinski, Haley, Mona Bhan, and Cabeiri deBergh Robinson, editors. The Palgrave Handbook of New Directions in Kashmir Studies. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2023.
This book provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and transregional perspective on the Kashmir dispute. Taken together, the chapters examine diverse people’s struggles to establish processes of democratic accountability in relation to the colonial-era state consolidations, postcolonial military occupations, interstate wars, intrastate armed conflicts and cold war and post-cold war politics that have shaped and transformed social and political identities in the region. The handbook further initiates a dialogue on the ways in which state power and border regimes have shaped scholarship and undermined the pursuit of shared intellectual and political projects across physical and epistemological boundaries.
Ganguly, Sumit and Frank O’Donnell, editors. Routledge Handbook of the International Relations of South Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of South Asian politics, human security, regional security, and international relations in South Asia. It offers a comprehensive collection of perspectives on the international politics of South Asia, covering an extensive range of issues spanning inter-state wars to migration in the region. Each contribution provides a careful discussion of the four major theoretical approaches to the study of international politics: Realism, Constructivism, Liberalism and Critical Theory. In turn, the authors discuss the relevance of each approach to the issue area addressed in the chapter.
Ganguly, Sumit, Nicolas Blarel, and Manjeet Singh Pardesi. The Oxford Handbook of India's National Security. New Delhi, India: Oxford University Press, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks UA 840 .O94 2018]
This handbook offers a comprehensive analysis of the many national security challenges, traditional and non-traditional, facing India. The essays cover a wide range of topics and issues including the colonial legacy, realist/liberal/constructivist approaches to national security, India's wars, strategic culture, conventional military challenges including issues of military modernization and defense-industrial challenges, nuclear security, the role of space, cybersecurity, terrorism, insurgencies, the role of the intelligence agencies, civil-military relations, and the relationship between national security and state-making in India.
Hegde, Radha Sarma and Ajaya Kumar Sahoo, editors. Routledge Handbook of the Indian Diaspora. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
This volume introduces readers to the contexts and histories that constitute the Indian diaspora. Contributors draw from a variety of archives and intellectual perspectives in order to map the narratives of the Indian diaspora. Providing a comprehensive analysis of the diverse social, cultural, and economic contexts that frame diasporic practices, topics covered range from the history of diasporic communities, activism, identity, gender, politics, labor, policy, violence, performance, literature and branding. The handbook analyses a wide array of issues and debates and is organized in six parts: Histories and trajectories, diaspora and infrastructures, cultural dynamics, representation and identity, politics of belonging, and networked subjectivities and transnationalism.
Isaacs, Rico and Erica Marat, editors. Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Central Asia. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
The handbook offers a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary overview of key issues in Central Asian studies, including case studies of all five Central Asian republics and is organized thematically in seven sections: History, Politics, Geography, International Relations, Political Economy, Society, and Culture and Religion.
Pande, Aparna, editor. Routledge Handbook on South Asian Foreign Policy. London: Routledge, 2021. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks DS 389 .R688 2018]
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of South Asian foreign policy, examining the complex history and present state of South Asian foreign policy, the foreign policy of the countries of the region, as well as their relationships with their neighbors and key external players, such as China and the United States, in an effort to understand South Asia's place in the world order. It illustrates the future trajectory of foreign policy in the region and analyses future of regional arrangements like SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) and BIMSTEC. The handbook is structured in five parts: Foreign Policy Relations within South Asia Relations within Indo-Pacific Relations with China, Europe and the United States Security.
Pant, Harsh V., editor. The Routledge Handbook of Indian Defence Policy: Themes, Structures and Doctrines. 2nd edition. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This work examines India's defense policy and contemporary military history, mapping the country’s political and military profile in South Asia and the Indian Ocean region, and analyzes its emergence as a global player. This edition of the handbook: Canvasses over sixty years of Indian defense policy, it's relation to India's rising global economic profile, as well as foreign policy shifts; discusses several key debates that have shaped defense strategies through the years; military doctrine and policy; internal and external security challenges; terrorism and insurgencies; explores the origins of the modern armed forces in India; evolution of the army, navy and air forces; investments in professional military education, intelligence and internet-cntric warfare; reforms in paramilitary forces and the Indian police; comments on India's contemporary strategic interests, focusing on the rise of China, nuclearization of India and Pakistan's security establishments, and developments in space security and missile defense.
Rajan, S. Irudaya. The Routledge Handbook of Refugees in India. London: Routledge India, 2022.
This handbook unravels the various socio-economic, political, and cultural dimensions of refugee issues in India. It examines the various legal, political and policy frameworks for accommodating refugees or asylum seekers in India, including the Citizenship Amendment Act and the National Registry of Citizens and evaluates the lack of uniformity in the Indian legal and political framework to deal with its refugee population and analyses the grounds of inclusion or exclusion for different groups. Drawing from the experiences of Jewish, Tibetan, Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Sri Lankan, Afghan, and Rohingya refugees in India, it analyzes debates around marginalization, citizenship, and refugee rights. It also explores the spatial and gendered dimensions of forced migration and the cultural and social lives of displaced communities, including their quest for decent work, education, and health.
Rajasekhar, D., editor. Handbook of Decentralized Governance and Development in India. New York: Routledge, 2022.
This handbook examines twenty-five years of decentralized governance and development in India. It provides a historical overview of developments since the introduction of decentralization reforms and critically assesses the measures initiated to strengthen decentralized institutions and deepen the grassroots democracy. The volume studies themes such as devolution of power in India, administrative and fiscal decentralization, decentralized planning, Panchayats in scheduled areas, sociological aspects of decentralization, caste, gender and local democracy, capacity building, ICT for local governance, urban local governance, workfare and decentralization, decentralized natural resource management and also looks at Panchayati Raj institutions from a Gandhian perspective.
Sahoo, Ajaya Kuman and Bandana Purkayastha, editors. Routledge Handbook of Indian Transnationalism. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2020.
This book introduces readers to the many dimensions of historical and contemporary Indian transnationalism and the experiences of migrants and workers to reveal the structures of transnationalism and the ways in which Indian origin groups are affected. The authors draw from a variety of archives and intellectual perspectives in order to map the narratives of Indian transnationalism and analyze the interplay of culture and structures within transnational contexts. The topics covered range from the history of transnational networks, activism, identity, gender, politics, labour, policy, performance, literature and more.
Turner, Oliver, Nicola Nymalm, and Wali Aslam, editors. Routledge Handbook of U.S. Policy in the Indo-Pacific. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This handbook provides a comprehensive survey of U.S. foreign policy throughout the Indo-Pacific region. Home to around 60 percent of the world's population, most of the world's largest and fastest-growing economies, around half of the world's states with full nuclear capabilities, and a complicated web of unresolved tensions, disputes, and conflicts, the Indo-Pacific is arguably the most diverse, dynamic, and contested region on Earth. The book is designed to be of interest to students and scholars interested in studying the complex dynamics of U.S. foreign policy with countries in the Indo-/Asia Pacific.
Widmalm, Sten. Routledge Handbook of Autocratization in South Asia. New York: Taylor and Francis, 2022.
This handbook offers a comprehensive analysis of the processes and actors contributing to autocratization in South Asia. The book analyses issues of state power, the support for political parties, questions relating to economic actors and sustainable economic development, the role of civil society, questions of equality and political culture, political mobilization, the role of education and the media, as well as topical issues such as the Covid pandemic, environmental issues, migration, and military and international security. The final section analyses conditions for democracy and autocratization and how they are affected by the interplay of political forces at the international level in this region, including how to comprehend autocratization in South Asia.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.