SPECIALIZED RESEARCH HANDBOOKS K-Z
Handbooks are useful for obtaining background information about contemporary theories, concepts, issues, events, or topics and for understanding how scholars have debated international law topics. These handbooks are available either electronically and/or located on the book shelves in the Medicine Crow Center Library for International and Public Affairs.
King, Colin, Clive Walker, and Jimmy Gurulé. The Palgrave Handbook of Criminal and Terrorism Financing Law. Cham, Switzerland: Springer International Publishing, 2018.
The handbook focuses on how criminal and terrorist assets pose significant threats to the integrity, security, and stability of contemporary societies. The book brings together leading experts, senior practitioners, and policy-makers to examine the institutional and legal responses to the funds generated by or for organized crime and transnational terrorism, set within the context of both policy and practice, with a view to critiquing these actions on the grounds of effective delivery and compliance with legality and rights.
Krajewski, Markus and Rhea Tamara Hoffmann, editors. Research Handbook on Foreign Direct Investment. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2019.
With regional perspectives from Africa, Asia, Australia and New Zealand, Europe, and Latin and North America, this book offers an analytical overview of the key areas of current research interest and developments in foreign investment law, including the proliferation of international investment agreements and domestic legislation and investor-state contracts, and the obligations between host states and foreign investors with investor-state dispute settlements at the juncture of national and international law and policy.
Kuo, Susan S., John Travis. Marshall, and Ryan. Rowberry. The Cambridge Handbook of Disaster Law and Policy. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2022.
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the ways in which laws and policies at every level, public and private, leave communities vulnerable to major disaster events. It provides detailed descriptions of the types of changes that governments, non-profits, businesses, and citizens can pursue to help make communities more resilient. International in scope, contributors critically evaluate the field of disaster law and policy as it has developed since Hurricane Katrina, offering a wide range of academic analysis and practical approaches to address the root causes of disaster vulnerability and offer solutions to build more resilient communities.
Mahtab, Nazmunnessa. Handbook of Research on Women's Issues and Rights in the Developing World. Hershey PA: IGI Global, 2018. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks HQ 1870.9 .H36 2018]
The handbook contributors discuss the current issues facing women’s rights in developing nations, as well as offering suggestions for improvements on these problems. Featuring in-depth discussions on relevant topics such as working-class women, gender theories, and international migration, this publication covers the current challenges to the women’s rights movement, and how to best combat them.
Ndulo, Muna and Cosmas Emeziem, editors. The Routledge Handbook of African Law. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2022.
This work provides a comprehensive, critical overview of the contemporary legal terrain in Africa. Contributors adopt an analytical and comparative approach to illustrate the nexus between different jurisdictions and different legal traditions across the continent. The volume is divided into five parts covering: Legal Pluralism and African Legal Systems, the State, Institutions, Constitutionalism, and Democratic Governance, Economic Development, Technology, Trade and Investment, Human Rights, Gender-Based Violence, and Access to Justice International Law, Institutions, and International Criminal Law. The book offers important insights into both the specific contexts of African legal systems and the ways in which these legal traditions intersect with the wider world.
O’Neill, Clayton et al. Routledge Handbook of Global Health Rights. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2021.
This book examines the idea of a fundamental entitlement to health and healthcare from a human rights perspective. The primary focus is the relationship or contrast between rights-based discourse/jurisprudential arguments and real-life healthcare contexts. The work queries the degree to which the existence of this legally enshrined right and its application in instruments such as ICESCR and the UDHR can be more than an ephemeral aspiration but can, actually, sustain, promote, and instil good practice. The first part analyzes the notion of a universal inalienable right to health(care) from jurisprudential, anthropological, legal, and ethical perspectives. The second considers the translation of international human rights norms into specific jurisdictional healthcare contexts. The third part summarizes the lessons learned and provides a pathway for future action.
Ramcharan, B. G., editor. A Global Handbook on National Human Rights Protection Systems. Boston, MA: Brill Nijhoff, 2023.
This book reproduces summaries by UN High Commissioners for Human Rights on the state of the national human rights protection systems of each UN Member State, identifying each state's constitutional, legal, judicial and institutional architecture, international conventions not yet ratified, areas of progress, problem areas, and problems affecting different parts of the population. The High Commissioners' summaries reproduced here are preceded by reflections on the concept of a national human rights protection system, and by regional outlines of national human rights protection systems in the Americas and the Caribbean, Europe Africa, Asia and the Pacific. The book also contains some case studies of the national human rights protection systems of sample states such as Australia, Bhutan, Brazil, Canada, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guyana, Portugal, Switzerland, Sweden, and South Africa.
Romano, Cesare, Karen J. Alter, and Yuval Shany. The Oxford Handbook of International Adjudication. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2014. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks KZ 6250 .O946 2014]
This volume brings together analysis of the legal, philosophical, ethical, and political considerations brought about by the post-Cold War proliferation of international adjudicatory bodies and international adjudication that has had dramatic effects on both international law and politics, greatly affecting international relations, particularly economic relations, the enforcement of human rights, and the criminal pursuit of perpetrators of mass atrocities. The book offers an original and comprehensive understanding of the various forms of international adjudication. Chapters include an overview key issues in the field, both theoretical and practical, thereby establishing a detailed understanding of important legal and political influences within the international adjudicative process as well as providing a detailed study of state-to-state, criminal, human rights, regional economic, and administrative courts and tribunals, as well as arbitral tribunals and international compensation bodies.
Ruys, Tom, Nicolas Angelet, and Luca Ferro, editors. The Cambridge Handbook of Immunities and International Law. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019.
This work addresses questions pertaining to immunity from jurisdiction or execution under international law before national courts, including at the highest levels of the judicial branch and before international courts or tribunals. Contents describe challenges stemming from uncertainty pertaining to the customary content of some immunity regimes said to be in a 'state of flux', the divergent, and at times directly conflicting, approaches to immunity in different national and international jurisdictions, and the increasing intolerance towards impunity that has accompanied the advance of international criminal law and human rights law.
Sandholtz, Wayne and Christopher A. Whytock. Research Handbook on the Politics of International Law. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2017. [Medicine Crow Center Library bookstacks KZ 1250 .R47 2017]
Rather than exploring the relationship between politics and international law through the lens of the dominant paradigms of international relations theory [realism, liberalism, and constructivism], this book presents an approach based on the premise that the relationship varies depending on the sites where it unfolds, and inspired by comparative politics and socio-legal studies, the book develops a novel framework for comparative analysis of politics and international law at different stages of governance and in different governance systems. Part I examines the problems of compliance, effectiveness and the domestic enforcement of international law, and legal institutions including domestic and international courts, national legislatures and regime complexes. Part II covers substantive fields of governance such as global financial regulation, environmental standards, trade, intellectual property and human rights. The final chapters in this Part tackle emerging yet critical issues in international law, including terrorism, cyber-conflict, and Internet regulation.
Sayapin, Sergey, editor. International Conflict and Security Law: A Research Handbook. The Hague, Netherlands: T.M.C. Asser Press, 2022.
Written by an international team of experts representing all the major legal systems of the world,, this two-volume work covers the full spectrum of international conflict and security law. It proceeds from values protected by international law, through substantive rules in which these values are embodied, to international and domestic institutions that enforce the law. It subsequently deals with current challenges in the application of rules of international conflict and security law, and crimes as the most serious violations of those rules. Finally, in the section on case studies, lessons learned from a number of conflict situations are discussed.
Skutnabb-Kangas, Tove and Robert Phillipson, editors. Handbook of Linguistic Human Rights. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2022.
This resource examines the relationship between the field of language rights and linguistic human rights. Bringing together key research in the area from around the globe, six sections offer an exploration of multidisciplinary theory and practice: General Issues; Language Human Rights (LHRs) in the policies of official or global institutions, Suppression of LHRs; Issues of access, procedure and implementation; LHRs and Documenting endangered languages; and finally Successful experience of recognising and implementing LHRs policies.
Tanaka, Yoshifumi, Rachael Lorna Johnstone, and Vibe Ulfbeck, editors. The Routledge Handbook of Polar Law. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2023.
This work describes the normative frameworks and legal orders that govern the relationships between humans, States, Peoples, institutions, land, and resources in the Arctic and Antarctic from a comparative perspective. Four main features define the collection: the Arctic-Antarctic interface; the interaction between global, regional and domestic legal regimes; the rights of Indigenous Peoples; and the increasing importance of private law. While these broad themes have been addressed to varying extents elsewhere, the editors believe that this Handbook brings them together to create a comprehensive (if never exhaustive) account of what constitutes Polar law today. Leading scholars in public international and private law as well as experts in related fields come together to offer unique insights into polar law as a burgeoning discipline.
Tignino, Mara and Christian Bréthaut. Research Handbook on Freshwater Law and International Relations. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2018.
This book critically examines the impact on freshwater law on various disciplines, offering concrete examples of the relationships between environmental sciences and law, and combining legal research with theories of international relations and political science to examine the challenge of freshwater management and protection. Topics covered include human right to water and sanitation, transboundary water disputes, and addressing disputes concerning international watercourses.
Villiger, Mark. Handbook on the European Convention on Human Rights. Boston, MA: Brill , 2023.
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the European Convention and the European Court of Human Rights and its case-law concerning the protection of human rights in Europe. Various summaries condense the different principles of the Court’s case-law. The Handbook has been written largely for practitioners such as lawyers, judges, and persons in administrative functions, but will also be invaluable to university teachers and academic researchers.
Zorzi Giustiniani, Flavia, editor. Routledge Handbook of Human Rights and Disasters. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge, 2018.
The volume provides a comprehensive review of the role played by international human rights law in the prevention and management of natural and technological disasters. Each chapter is written by a leading expert and offers an overview of a significant topic within the field. In addition to focusing on the role of human rights obligations in disaster preparedness and response, the contents offer a broader perspective by examining how human rights law interacts with other legal regimes and by addressing the challenges facing humanitarian organizations.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.