Skip to Main Content

International Relations *

A guide to databases and scholarly online sources that support conducting research in international relations and comparative politics.

International Crime and Corruption Research Resources

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of international crime and corruption and related areas of research.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Databases that offer multidisciplinary coverage of crime and corruption literature from scholarly and non-scholarly sources.

  • Credo Reference -- comprehensive collection of highly-specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks across all subject areas. Good place to go for succinct definitions, explanations, and analysis of concepts, theories, or topics.
  • Google Scholar -- the scholarly part of the Google empire. To set up Google Scholar with access to full-text journals and databases, go here.
  • JSTOR -- a multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles covering most major disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for identifying historical research on a topic.
  • ProQuest Multiple -- comprehensive, multidisciplinary database of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles updated daily. Content is more focused and manageable in locating relevant research than Google Scholar.

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH RESOURCES

Key Databases

  • Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO] -- provides the full text of a wide range of scholarship books, working papers from universities and research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • Criminal Justice Database -- a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. In addition to scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice.
  • HeinOnline Law Journal Library -- full text access to digitized content of more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals that cover criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from first issue and volume through the current issue or volume for most titles.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals -- a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. The database covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, Canada,  Australia, and within the United Kingdom.
  • Public Affairs Information Services [PAIS] -- indexes selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Includes historical coverage from 1915 to the present.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.

Related Research Resources

  • AccessUN -- indexes the majority of United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed as well as bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series.
  • Anti-corruption Authorities – a platform created by the World Bank, in collaboration with the United Nation Office of Drugs and Crime (UNODC), the US State Department and the European Commission, that aims to gather more systematic knowledge on the structure and experience of Anti-corruption Authorities, increase awareness of the challenges faced by these bodies, and identify mechanisms that can help to overcome the challenges of reducing and preventing corruption and establish initial criteria by which effectiveness can be monitored. The site includes country profiles, basic data, cross-country analysis, case studies, and publication database provides access to a collection of research papers, technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, presentations, books, fact sheets and brochures that touch on Anti-corruption Authorities related issues. Currently contains little information after 2015.
  • Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative – promotes the open and accountable management of oil, gas and mineral resources. Guided by the belief that a country’s natural resources belong to its citizens, the EITI has established a global standard to promote the open and accountable of resources and the extractive industry value chain from the point of extraction, to how revenues make their way through the government, and how they benefit the public. The organization  is supported by a coalition of government, companies, and civil society in each of the 52 implementing countries.
  • ICC Legal Tools Database – purports to be the leading information services on international criminal law. The International Criminal Court database provides free online access to more than 100,000 legal sources relevant to core international crimes cases involving war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, or aggression. Documents can be freely read, printed or downloaded and most are full-text searchable. The ICC Legal Tools Project has been continuously active since 2003 with an increase in the content every year.
  • International Crimes Database -- hosted and maintained by the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague and supported by the Dutch Ministry of Security and Justice and the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague, the site offers a comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national and international and internationalized courts. In addition to case law on international crimes, the website incorporates general background information about international crimes, scholarly as well as news articles, working papers, and relevant links to other useful databases and websites on this topic.
  • OECD iLibrary -- provides full-text access to books, journals, and statistical resources of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, including content on international crime and corruption.
  • Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project -- a non-profit media organization providing an investigative reporting platform for the OCCRP Network. OCCRP dedicated to improving reporting and newsroom management around the world. We now by connecting 45 non-profit investigative centers in 34 countries and journalists and several major regional news organizations across Europe, Africa, Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America.
  • Transparency International – a global coalition committed to stopping corruption and promoting transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society. The site includes country information, links to resources, and produces the Corruption Perceptions Index, which measures levels of perceived corruption around the world.
  • TRIAL International -- a non-governmental organization fighting impunity for international crimes and supporting victims in their quest for justice. The site includes the Trial Watch Database, which offers open access to numerous procedures concerning international crimes before national or international tribunals. It can be searched by keyword, country, topic, cases, or judicial body. Also included are links to various reports and publications.
  • U4 Anti-Corruption Resource Center -- an open access multidisciplinary search portal of publications and other resources focused on international corruption sponsored by the Christian Michelsen Institute for Science and Intellectual Freedoman independent development research institute in Norway.
  • United Nations Digital Library -- search engine for locating official UN documents, speeches, voting records, and open access materials. To access materials that are not available from the Digital Library, search the UN iLibrary database.
  • United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime – has a mission to help make the world safer from drugs, organized crime, corruption and terrorism. Among its activities, the body supports implementation of the UN Convention against Corruption, the only legally binding universal anti-corruption instrument, by delivering technical assistance in various corruption-related thematic areas, such as prevention, education, asset recovery, and integrity in the criminal justice system, assisting countries in the areas of crime prevention, criminal justice, and transnational cybercrime, collecting, analyzing, and reporting data on drug trafficking trends, and combating human trafficking and the smuggling of migrants. Site also includes statistics on drugs, crime and criminal justice at the international level. The site also includes a variety of online databases dedicated to various areas of UNODC's mandates.
  • World Legal Information Institute -- an open access collection of world legal materials arranged country by country of legal information, including constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe. Good source of country-specific information concerning crime and corruption.

GROUP PERSPECTIVE

Databases that offer the opportunity to understand and contemplate the implications of crime and corruption through the eyes of people who may be most impacted by those decisions.

  • Child Development and Adolescent Studies -- provides citations to current and historical social and behavioral sciences literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21, including from scholarly journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations. Key database for locating studies about the effect of international crime on children.
  • Women’s Studies International – an interdisciplinary database that covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history and the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Key database for locating studies about the effect of international crime and government corruption on women.

DATA AND STATISTICS

  • International Crime Victim Survey Series -- a project set up to fill the gap in adequate recording of offenses by the police for purposes of comparing crime rates in different nations and to provide a crime index independent of police statistics as an alternative standardized measure. The ICVS is the most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at a householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. Access provided by Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
  • United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems -- goal of the United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends is to collect data on the incidence of reported crime and the operations of criminal justice systems with a view to improving the analysis and dissemination of that information globally. The survey results provide an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.
  • World Justice Project Rules of Law Index -- measures rule of law adherence in 113 countries and jurisdictions worldwide based on more than 110,000 household and 3,000 expert surveys. Featuring primary data, the Index measures countries’ rule of law performance across eight factors: Constraints on Government Powers, Absence of Corruption, Open Government, Fundamental Rights, Order and Security, Regulatory Enforcement, Civil Justice, and Criminal Justice.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites