International Relations *

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of international immigration and related areas of research.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Databases that offer multidisciplinary coverage of immigration literature from scholarly and non-scholarly sources.

• Credo Reference -- comprehensive collection of highly-specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks across all subject areas. Good place to go for succinct definitions, explanations, and analysis of concepts, theories, or topics.
• Google Scholar -- the scholarly part of the Google empire. To set up Google Scholar with access to full-text journals and databases, go here.
• JSTOR -- a multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles covering most major disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for identifying historical research on a topic.
• Oxford Handbooks Online -- contains in-depth, high-level articles covering a variety of disciplines. Entries offer a thorough introduction to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
• ProQuest Multiple -- comprehensive, multidisciplinary database of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles updated daily. Content is more focused and manageable in locating relevant research than Google Scholar.

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH RESOURCES

Key Databases

• ABI/Inform -- database that features access to full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics magazines and trade journals as well as country-and industry-focused reports and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Covers research that examines the relationship between economic development and the worldwide private sector.
• Border and Migration Studies Online -- a digital research collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
• Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO] -- provides the full text of a wide range of scholarship books, working papers from universities and research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
• Public Affairs Information Services [PAIS] -- indexes selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Includes historical coverage from 1915 to the present.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.

Related Research Resources

• The Detention Database -- produced by the International Detention Coalition, this database brings together research and resources produced around the world that are specific to the issue of immigration detention.
• Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health -- a clearinghouse of open access guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, and similar materials related to the medical and public health aspects of planning, mitigation, response, recovery, and research related to disasters and public health emergencies. Good source for studies around forced resettlement due to disasters.
• HeinOnline Law Journal Library -- full text access to digitized content of more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals that cover criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from first issue and volume through the current issue or volume for most titles.
• International Organization for Migration -- an intergovernmental organization acting with its partners in the international community to assist in meeting the challenges of migration, advance understanding of migration issues, and uphold the dignity and well-being of migrants. Includes access to country synopses and publications such as the World Migration Reports.
• Latin American Migration Project -- a multidisciplinary research effort between investigators in various countries of Latin America and the United States to advance an understanding of the complex processes of international migration and immigration to the United States based on fieldwork carried out in Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador , El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Haiti, Peru, and Guatemala.
• Migration and the Law Database -- a global database of national legal frameworks affecting the integration of economic migrants and refugees. The project surveyed legal experts on integration laws affecting economic migrants in 152 economies and refugees in 134 economies to compare their respective treatment with that of citizens under formal national laws and regulations as of December 31, 2016. Data is provided for twenty qualitative indicators across four dimensions: economic opportunities, health care, housing, and political integration.
• ReliefWeb -- a specialized digital service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs that collects disaster and crisis updates and analysis from more than 4,000 global information sources around the world. Important resource for obtaining information on migration and resettlement due to disasters.
• Social Services Abstracts -- provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development, evaluation research, policy planning and forecasting, support groups/networks, and welfare services.
• Sociological Abstracts -- a resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
• Violence and Abuse Abstracts -- provides access to articles related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. A key database for locating research on violence against immigrants.

GROUP PERSPECTIVE

Databases that offer the opportunity to understand and contemplate the implications of immigration through the eyes of people who may be most impacted by those decisions.

• AgeLine -- focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older from individual, national, and global perspectives. Contents cover the social, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging derived from journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, and dissertations.
• Alternative Press Index -- database with links to the full-text of more than 368,000 journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Provides an interdisciplinary perspective about immigration and migration issues. There is a separate Alternative Press Archive dating back to 1969.
• Chicano Database -- focuses on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, and the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992. Covers Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health. history, labor, language and literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology, and women's studies.
• Child Development and Adolescent Studies -- provides citations to current and historical social and behavioral sciences literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21, including from scholarly journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations. Key database for locating studies about the immigration and forced migration on children, children's rights, and issues such child separation and detention.
• Ethnic NewsWatch -- includes current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. Very important database for gaining an understanding of immigration from the perspective of underrepresented groups, minorities, and indigenous cultures.
• Family and Society Studies Worldwide -- covers research, policy, and practice literature in family science, human development, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, and social welfare from a wide range of publications in the social sciences. Includes research about the relationship and impact of immigration and migration on families.
• LGBTQ+ Life -- comprehensive resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and transsexual issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content, such as, non-fiction books, bibliographies, and dissertations.
• Women’s Studies International -- an interdisciplinary database that covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history and the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Key database for locating studies about the impact of immigration, migration, and resettlement on women.

DATA AND STATISTICS--COMPREHENSIVE

• Google Dataset Search -- facilitates searching approximately 25 million datasets provided by government, public, and private groups. Users can filter results based on the type of data desired [e.g., images or text]. Data availability is based on the original source being formatted using schema.org standards, an open discovery standard for data on the web.
• National Statistical Offices -- a directory of country-specific statistical agencies maintained and updated by the United Nations Statistics Division. Also included is a list of countries and organizations which includes a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical program and much more.
• UNData -- searchable statistical database provided by the United Nations Statistics Division that provides access to current statistics. The database covers a number of different areas such as employment, industry, and trade. A single interface facilitates the creation of customizable tables and the use of various filters and search options to sort and locate specific statistical information.

DATA AND STATISTICS--SPECIALIZED

• Child Migration -- produced by UNICEF’s Data & Analytic team, this 2017 dataset provides cross-sector indicators on Child migrants and refugees (international migrants, refugees, asylum seekers and internally displaced persons). Also available are reports and brochures that examine various aspects of young migrants and refugees.
• Eurostat Asylum and Migration Statistics -- a data portal that provides access to European Union country statistics and articles about citizenship, asylum, first and second generation immigrants, migrant integration, migration by area and region, residence permits.
• Global Bilateral Migration Database -- developed by the World Bank, this site provides global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. Over one thousand census and population register records were combined to construct decennial matrices corresponding to the last five completed census rounds, providing a comprehensive picture of bilateral global migration over the last half of the twentieth century emerges.
• Humanitarian Data Exchange -- an open platform for sharing data across crises and organizations. Launched in July 2014, the goal of  is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. The site provides data to help analyze the context in which a humanitarian crisis is occurring (e.g., baseline/development data, damage assessments, geospatial data), the people affected by the crisis and their needs, and the response by organizations and people seeking to help those who need assistance.
• International Organization for Migration Migration Data Portal -- aims to serve as a unique access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally. The site includes data about migrant stocks and flows, forced migration, migrant deaths, migration policy, remittances, and more. Migration data can be accessed for all United Nations countries and complemented by contextual information, including demographic and employment data.
• Labour Migration Statistics -- a database of the International Labour Organization that includes international migration stocks, nationals abroad, international migration flow. Site also includes access to the latest edition of the ILO Global Estimates on International Migrant Workers: Results and Methodology, a global report on migrant workers provides information on the order of magnitude of labor migration worldwide. It describes and analyzes the global and regional estimates of migrant workers by gender, income group, and age.
• Migrant Integration Policy Index -- a unique tool which measures policies to integrate migrants in all European Union member states, Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United States. Index includes 167 policy indicators developed to create a rich, multi-dimensional picture of migrants’ opportunities to participate in society. The data is a useful tool to evaluate and compare what governments are doing to promote the integration of migrants in all the countries analyzed.
• Migration Data Hub  -- produced by the nonpartisan Migration Policy Institute, this site  showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
• Migration Data Portal -- aims to serve as an access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally. The site is designed to help users navigate the increasingly complex landscape of international migration data, currently scattered across different organizations and agencies. Includes an interactive world map visualizes international, publicly-available and internationally comparable migration data and key migration statistics by country and region and profiles of countries' migration governance structures according to the Migration Governance Indicators.
• OECD International Migration Statistics -- includes the International Migration Database and labor market outcomes of immigrants as well as data on foreign and foreign-born population, migration flows, naturalizations and labor market outcomes, together with data on acquisition of nationality. Also available from the OECD is the Indicators of Immigrant Integration at the National Level site that offers a broad international comparison across all European Union and OECD countries of the outcomes for immigrants and their children based on 68 indicators.
• United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees: Population Statistics Database -- provides access to statistics about UNHCR's populations of concern from 1951-2017. This includes data on refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons, returned refugees, returned internally displaced persons, and stateless people. Users can filter by location of residence, origin, and status.
• United Nations International Migration Flows -- contains annual data on the flows of international migrants as recorded by the countries of destination. The data presents both inflows and outflows according to the place of birth, citizenship or place of previous /next residence both for foreign born and native born individuals. Data available from 45 countries from 1980 to the present in Excel.
• United Nations International Migration Stock Estimates -- presents estimates of international migrant by age, sex, and origin. Estimates are presented for 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005, 2010 and 2015 and are available for all countries and areas of the world. The estimates are based on official statistics on the foreign-born or the foreign population. Data is downloadable into Excel.
• World Bank Migration and Remittances Data -- the site includes fact books that provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, annual remittances data, bilateral migration matrix, and some downloadable datasets. Also available are briefs, informal papers that highlight emerging trends or topical issues and describe the development implications of current migration and remittances issues. Also available from the World Bank is the World Bank Global Bilateral Migration Database which provides global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept.
• Yearbook of Immigration Statistics -- a compendium of tables compiled by the US Department of Homeland Security from 1997 to the current year that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns. Tables are released as they become available.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites