Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Notice
8/25/09: We are in the process of making changes to the "Browse by Subject" navigation bar on the
LibGuides home page.
* International Relations
A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009
URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/international_relations
Print Guide
- China Data Online -- provides access to data from yearly China macro-economic statistics
(1949-), monthly macro-economic statistics, monthly economic reports,
city statistics (1996-), county statistics (1997-), industrial
statistics, and most statistical yearbooks from the National Bureau of
Statistics of China.
Produced by the China Data Center at the University of Michigan.
- Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
(FIRST) -- integrated database containing information from research
institutes around the world. Coverage includes data on armed conflicts
and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure,
armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons,
chronology, statistics and other reference data.
- Gapminder
-- a non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and
achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The
site includes moving graphics that display development trends by the
countries, time periods, and indicators you choose.
- International Data Base
(IDB) -- maintained by the Bureau of the Census, this database provides
demographic data for selected indicators, countries and user-selected
regions, and years, population statistics, and summary data, population
pyramids and access to more data for a single country.
- NationMaster
-- designed by a web publishing company in Australia, this site gathers
statistics from a variety of sources, mostly international agencies,
and presents them in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical formats.
Links to ads are present but are generally unobtrusive.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
-- comprehensive directory of links to official government statistics
throughout the world. Site is searchable by country, region, or by
topic. Many data are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
- Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center
-- TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government
agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about
the nature of intra-domestic and international terrorism incidents,
organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and
nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and
tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism,
terror incidents, and the response to terror.
- World Development Indicators
[WDI] -- contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators
and time series data from 1960 to the present for over 200 countries
and 18 country groups.
- Worldwide Governance Indicators
(WGI) -- reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212
countries and territories over the period 1996–2006, for six dimensions
of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and
Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule
of Law , and Control of Corruption.