Drug Resources
Review the Drug Information tab to locate additional drug information resources.
AHFS Drug InformationPublication Date: Contnually updated
- APhA DrugInfoLineMonthly newsletter of emerging drug therapy topics.
- Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases (Pink Book)The Pink Book provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and others with the most comprehensive information on vaccine‑preventable diseases.
- Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs, 20th edPublication Date: 2020
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based database that gathers and grades published information on the effects of herbal products and other complementary and integrative medicine therapies.
Check out the Natural Standard demonstration video for help using this database.
The Practitioner's Quick Reference to Nonprescription Drugs, 2eCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 39 P895 2012ISBN: 9781582121666
Spanish for the Pharmacy Professional by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 15 S735 2009ISBN: 1582121206Publication Date: 2009-02-01In addition to specialized vocabulary for the pharmacy, this book includes many sample conversations between a pharmacist and patient; also provides some cultural contexts for Spanish speakers from Central America.
In Print & Electronic.
Databases, Guidelines, Evidence-Based summaries
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides brief, evidence-based summaries of diseases, conditions, and treatments.
Free web sites
These sites are available to anyone with an internet connection. In addition to using them in your practice, you could refer patients to these sites for their personal education.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowInformation about ingredients in 2000+ selected brands of dietary supplements. Search by brand names, indications, active ingredients, and manufacturers.
- DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new windowOnline access to current and past United States Food and Drug Administration-approved labels for prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products This link opens in a new windowFind medically-focused summaries describing herbal, vitamin, and supplement products. Patient-focused information includes side effects and uses. Health care professional-focused information includes mechanism of action, interactions, and scientific references.