eBooks
In addition to these general textbooks, Norris Medical Library also owns many electronic books on special topics in pediatric and adolescent health (e.g. diagnostic imaging; pain management; psychiatric issues; dermatology, gynecology/urology, nephrology, cancer, etc.). Search the Catalog for access to these titles.
- Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics, 23rd edPublication Date: 2016
Handbook of Adolescent Health Care: a practical guideCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WS 39 H2359 2009
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th edCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WS 100 N432 2016- Pediatric Diagnostic Examination 1st edPublication Date: 2008eBook with step-by-step diagnosis/physical examination procedures for pediatrics.
Pediatric Nutrition HandbookCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WS 115 P3714 2009
Catalog Search (Primo)
Clinical Calculators
- Clinical Calculators (via Skyscape)This is a free calculator app. Topics covered include traditional pharmacy topics: dosing, dose conversions, nutrition, IV infusions, etc.; and measures used to evaluate research information (number needed to treat, etc.).
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowIncludes ~50 calculators covering dosing, conversion, and excretion. To access, open UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexi-Comp), then click on "calculations" under the search box.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowInclues~20 calculators on dosing and laboratory values.
To access, click on "Calculators" in the tools bar along the top of the window.
Databases
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
Free web resources
Drug Information
Also review the Drug Information tab.
- Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book)Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 354 T256 2013
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 3rd edISBN: 9781610020619Includes recommendations and guidelines from the American Academy of Pediatrics covering infectious diseases, prevention via immunization, and selection of antimicrobial agents.
