Literature Databases
Literature databases provide access to scholarly, popular, and proprietary literature relating to drug therapy, drug development, economic and policy issues relating to drugs, results from clinical trials, and related information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowSearch over 19 million citations to biomedical literature.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts to literature in psychology, neurology, and psychiatric journals. From the publisher: An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Contains almost 3 million records.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and conference proceedings from all areas of science and social science.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides access to full-text systematic reviews.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
Textbooks
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowTextbooks, drug monographs, quizzes, flashcards, videos, cases, and calculators, selected for relevance to Pharmacy education.
- LWW Health Library- Premium Pharmacy Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of textbooks, audio and video clips, cases, and self-assessments focused on pharmacy education.
- PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new windowCollection of textbooks, self-quizzes, and case studies from American Pharmacists Association (APhA).
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA collection of health sciences textbooks; features fully integrated links to Gold Standard's Clinical Pharmacology drug database.
- MedOne Education (Thieme) This link opens in a new windowCollection of medical and scientific ebooks and online full-color atlases with drawings, photos, and illustrations of the human body and biological processes.
RxSelect (formerly Pharmacist's Letter)
RxSelect is a product that is similar to Pharmacist's Letter that is provided free to students enrolled in US Schools of Pharmacy.
Visit their login page and click the link, then input the required information to activate your free account.
Citation Style for Pharm Ds
The Pharm D program has adopted AMA style, 11th ed., for references and citations in written work, unless otherwise specified. Read the Quick Guide for formatting in-text references and citations for commonly used publication types. For more help, view the full AMA Manual of Style or contact the library.
- Quick Citing Reference- AMA 11th ed2 page handout covering the basics of using AMA style, 11th edition
Evidence-Based Clinical Databases
Evidence-based clinical databases provide summarized, graded evidence to inform clinical practice.
Exact coverage varies by database, but generally includes overviews of diseases and clinical guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- 5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs on diseases, drugs, procedures, and laboratory tests. Includes patient handouts on drugs, aftercare, and physical therapy exercises. Combines access to all contents of the "5 Minute Consult" book series.
- Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI EssentialsContinually updated, this source provides overviews of diseases and treatments.
Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse will no longer be available after July 16 2018. There is no replacement product with the scope and depth of NGC. Use one or more of these sources to identify and access full-text guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- TRIP Database This link opens in a new windowThis clinical search engine allows users to quickly find high-quality research evidence to support practice or care. It also searches for images, videos, and patient education handouts.
Professional groups, non-profit organizations, and government agencies often develop guidelines and make them available freely on their websites. Search or browse groups like the World Health Organization, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Veterans Health Administration, or U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Use Google to find additional groups focused on your specialty.
- Guidelines.co.uk This link opens in a new windowSummaries of guidelines and recommendations from United Kingdom governmental agencies and European and global professional groups. Includes links to full-text of guidelines. Registration is not required to access guidelines.
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
Drug Information Databases
Drug information databases provide access to information about drugs.
Exact coverage varies by database, but includes topics such as dosage and administration, mechanism of action, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, and pill ID.
- Facts and Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new windowConstantly updated drug monographs for prescription and over-the-counter drugs; drug interaction checker. Includes additional handbooks on specific aspects of drugs, such as Review of Natural Products.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Clinical Pharmacology (Clinical Key interface)This database is purchased by the School of Pharmacy. Affiliates of the school may use the USC VPN to access this; or, find instructions for creating a personal username and password at the School of Pharmacy's Intranet.
Need More?
The Norris Library maintains additional research guides focused on a specific topic. Browse our list of health sciences research guides to find useful resources to support research and learning on all health sciences topics.