Books and EBooks
The Norris Medical Library owns many additional print books on nutrition and nutrition support. Use materials available at your practice site. If you are on campus, use the Catalog search box or contact the reference desk to find titles focused on a specific topic in nutrition.
- ADA Nutrition Care ManualThe American Dietetic Association's Nutrition Care Manual includes nutrition requirements for a variety of diseases and conditions.
Handbook on Injectable Drugs, 19th edISBN: 9781585284191
Pediatric Nutrition HandbookCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WS 115 P3714 2009
Catalog Search (Primo)
Databases, Guidelines, Evidence-Based summaries
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Web Sites
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowThis US government-maintained resource includes labels from common-used supplements showing ingredients and amounts. Search/browse by ingredient to find products in which it is contained. Find contact information for supplement manufacturers.
- DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new windowPackage inserts for 60,000+ RX and OTC drugs marketed in the United States.
Clinical Calculators
- Clinical Calculators (via Skyscape)This is a free calculator app. Topics covered include traditional pharmacy topics: dosing, dose conversions, nutrition, IV infusions, etc.; and measures used to evaluate research information (number needed to treat, etc.).
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowIncludes ~50 calculators covering dosing, conversion, and excretion.
To access, open Lexi-Comp, then click on "calculations" under the search box. - Micromedex This link opens in a new windowInclues~20 calculators on dosing and laboratory values.
To access, click on "Calculators" in the tools bar along the top of the window.