Education and STEM Resources
This page provides information and links to USC Libraries' resources for conducting research in the field of education and science, technology, engineering & mathematics (STEM). The box below have tabs with subjects listed. Click on the tab to view the recommended databases.
The databases under STEM are multidisciplinary and cover various areas within STEM. The databases under the specific subject areaas are more focused on the subjects listed on the tab.
Below the databases box are videos that will help you learn more about some of the databases and information on how to get the most out of your searches.
For questions, please contact the Social and Behavioral Sciences Librarians at sscihelp@usc.edu
Article databases
ERIC is key database in the field of education. PsycINFO covers psychology and behavioral sciences and is also a major database for locating education-related literature.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains information on published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Updated monthly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
The databases below are also useful in finding education-related literature. The sociology database provides access to journals not indexed in education databases. This may provide articles not available in the other databases.
- ProQuest Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for articles in more than 100 journals related to the administration of primary, secondary and post-secondary educational facilities and programs.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowAs the complete source of education scholarship, this resource covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
TIP: Keep an eye on how the results are sorted. The default search could be by publication date. You can change this to sort by Relevance, which may display more relevant items at the top of the list.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
VIDEO: Web of Science Search Tips
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
The links below point to a list of subject-specific databases.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception.
- ProQuest Computer Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
- Computer Science Research GuideMore resources for computer science and technology.
- Electronics/Technology - Industry ResearchSources for conducting industry research on electronics and technology.
The links below point to a list of subject-specific databases.
The link below point to a list of subject-specific databases.
The Databases A to Z list displays all of USC Libraries subscription databases. You can search by name and by subject area. Use this to find key and tangential databases for your subject area.
Are you looking for a specific journal and you know the title?
Go to the JOURNAL SEARCH PAGE on the home page of the library.
Search by title of the journal.
For example, Journal of Leadership and Organizational Studies.
Videos on accessing literature through USC Libraries
This video covers the basics of two key education databases, ERIC and PsycINFO.
Click on the video's title to view on YouTube.
Boolean operators help you build search strings using the connectors AND, OR and NOT.
Click on the video's title to view on YouTube.
Look for the FindIT@USC link to view the full-text of the article.
Click the title of the video to view in YouTube.
This video covers the basics of USC Libraries Search and Google Scholar.
Click on the video's title to view on YouTube.
This video covers how you can customize Google Scholar to connect it to USC Libraries subscriptions.
Click on the video's title to view on YouTube.