Article databases
In addition to ERIC and Education Source, these databases are useful for topics related to educational outcomes, education policy, and assessment. The article databases listed below allow you to search for articles through multiple journals simultaneously. Click on the name of the database below to start searching. If you're off-campus, you'll be asked to log-in using your USC ID and password.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for articles in more than 100 journals related to the administration of primary, secondary and post-secondary educational facilities and programs. Subjects covered include: personnel, curriculum, school-community relations, supervision, minority group relations, and professional education. Educational levels include: early childhood education, K-12, community colleges, and higher education.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowAn excellent resource for policy issues related to education. International in scope, with good coverage of journal resources as well as "gray literature" like government information.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.
Other useful databases for TESOL, like ERIC and Education Full-Text, can be found on the Finding Research Materials page.
Country Data
The database below is a good resource for getting an overview of a country.
- EIU Viewpoint (Economic Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new windowOur subscription to the EIU covers two products. EIU Viewpoint combines political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data for approximately 200 countries.
International statistics
These resources collect and report statistics about educational systems around the world.
- UNESCO Education StatisticsUNESCO provides comparative data for countries at all stages of development to provide a global perspective on education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
- Education Policy and Data CenterEPDC serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country and subnational level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections.
- NCES International Comparisons in EducationAlso known as International Activities Program - NCES supports a variety of activities to provide statistical data for cross-national comparisons of education. These activities focus on 2 major areas: indicators and assessments.
- Open DoorsOpen Doors is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.