Research Guides: *Education: News Sources

News Databases

Newspaper articles can provide the latest information about a topic.

Newspaper database
Contains articles from numerous national and international newspapers.
Los Angeles Times
Full-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Access to national and international newspapers. Use the box titled "Search the News". For a list of publications available, go here: http://bit.ly/lexnexnews
Proquest Research Library
Search through newspaper and journal articles with the ability of narrowing to just newspapers.

Free Subscriptions to Newspapers

USC students, faculty, and staff may be eligible for free subscriptions to the digital editions of select newspapers. Offers are available to current USC affiliates.

New York Times

The USC Graduate Student Government offers free NY Times digital subscriptions to USC all students. Complete this form to start your NY Times subscription. Graduate students are eligible for complimentary NY Times Games access.

Los Angeles Times

As part of USC’s sponsorship of the LA Times Festival of Books, all students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free one-year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.

The trial offer includes unlimited access to latimes.com, as well as the LA Times app for mobile and tablet. In addition to award-winning storytelling, investigative reports, local news and commentary, this subscription includes early access to select LA Times podcasts, video series and special news projects, as well as subscriber-only editorial content.

Wall Street Journal

USC Libraries provides USC affiliates a free digital subscription to the Wall Street Journal. New users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address. Refer to USC Libraries Wall Street Journal guide for details and to start your digital subscription.

Trade Publications

Education Week
Since 1981, Education Week has been America's most trusted resource for K-12 education news and information. 1.6+ million readers. National coverage. From teachers to principals to district leaders across the country. Education Week's diverse audience turns to us for the most up-to-date information on K-12 education in the U.S., as well as innovative, high-value tools and solutions.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.

Inside Higher Ed provides the latest news, analysis and solutions for the entire higher education community. Readers can create a free account as this source is not funded by USC Libraries.