Article databases
These databases are useful for topics on second and foreign language acquisition and teaching.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Other useful databases for TESOL, like ERIC and Education Full-Text, can be found on the Finding Research Materials page.
TESOL-related journals
The links below will take you to the USC Libraries' online subscription page for each journal. You can search within each journal by keyword, or you can browse issues and examine the table of contents.
Associations
- TESOL International AssociationTESOL International Association’s mission is to advance professional expertise in English language teaching and learning for speakers of other languages worldwide.
- IATEFLInternational Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language
- NCELANational Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition collects, coordinates, and conveys a broad range of research and resources in support of an inclusive approach to high quality education for ELs.
- Center for Applied LinguisticsCAL's mission is to promote language learning and cultural understanding by serving as a trusted source for research, resources, and policy analysis.
- CALICOCALICO, the Computer-Assisted Language Instruction Consortium is an international organization dedicated to research and development in the use of computer technology in language learning: computer-assisted language learning (CALL).