About this page
This page presents some of the main statistical resources for education research.
Key statistical projects
These are key statistical projects covering diverse topics in education.
- IPEDSIPEDS is the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System. It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.
- Condition of EducationThis website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States. These indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics and are updated as data become available. A Congressionally mandated annual report on these indicators is provided to the White House and Congress each year.
- National Assessment of Educational ProgressThe National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.
- Projections of Education Statistics to 2030Projections of Education Statistics to 2030 is the 47th report in a series begun in 1964. It includes statistics on elementary and secondary schools and degree-granting postsecondary institutions. This report provides revisions of projections shown in Projections of Education Statistics to 2027 and projections of enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures to the year 2028.
- National Student Clearinghouse Research CenterRelevant, objective data on postsecondary metrics to serve the community. With the majority of institutions in the United States providing data to the Clearinghouse, the research center’s publications guide policymakers and business leaders to make the best decisions for higher education.
Large collection of statistics
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe single most important educational data resource in the United States, NCES is the statistical data arm of the US Department of Education, and the central clearinghouse for statistical information about education of all types.
See the Fast Facts, Common Core of Data, Surveys & Programs and Annual Reports to get started.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- SAGE Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data (formerly Data-Planet) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
- U.S. Census - Education InformationThe Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.
California Statistics
- EdDataEd-Data is a partnership of the California Department of Education, EdSource and the Fiscal Crisis and Management Assistance Team/California School Information Services (FCMAT/CSIS) designed to offer educators, policy makers, the legislature, parents, and the public quick access to timely and comprehensive data about K-12 education in California.
- California Department of Education - Data & StatisticsData and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources to identify trends and educational needs and to measure performance.
- Los Angeles Unified School DistrictThis district information page has links to demographics, accountability report cards and achievement indicators.
International statistics
These resources collect and report statistics about educational systems around the world.
- UNESCO Education StatisticsUNESCO provides comparative data for countries at all stages of development to provide a global perspective on education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
- Education Policy and Data CenterEPDC serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country and subnational level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections.
- NCES International Comparisons in EducationAlso known as International Activities Program - NCES supports a variety of activities to provide statistical data for cross-national comparisons of education. These activities focus on 2 major areas: indicators and assessments.
- Education Statistics (EdStats)This platform hosted by the World Bank allows easy access to data for key indicators in education covering topics such as access, completion, learning outcomes, expenditures, policy, and equity.
- Open DoorsOpen Doors is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.
Videos
- NCES VideosVideos on select NCES reports and publications.
- IPEDS Tutorials from AIRThe online tutorials have information on using IPEDS Data Tools to extract data and perform benchmark comparisons. These tutorials are produced by AIR and approved by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Data Sets
The following list provides access to datasets available through the USC Libraries or through open access resources.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research.
Data and Visualization Librarians
Eimmy Solis is the Social Sciences Data Libarian. Eimmy can provide information on data and statistical sources.
Andy Rutkowski is the Visualization Librarian. Andy can offer research support around all areas of data and visualization.