Background Information
Reference sources are a great place to start learning about your research project. Consult encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to learn about background information, theoretical frameworks, key figures, policies, and events. Familiarizing yourself with your topic is also an effective strategy to identify keywords to construct productive database searches.
The majority of the resources listed in this guide are digital, however, some items are only available as print resources. See the video Find Books by Call Number (Library of Congress) (3 minutes) to learn how to locate print books in USC Libraries.
This guide was adapted with gratitude to the University of Pennsylvania Education Guide by Joanna Thompson and Patty Lynn. It is in development and more resources will be added.
Reference Sources
- SAGE eReference This link opens in a new windowSage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Research Encyclopedias(OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. USC provides access to the ORE Encyclopedia of Social Work, Oxford Classical Dictionary, American History, Education, Communication, Latin American History, Literature, Religion, Climate Science, Environmental Science, International Studies, Linguistics and Politics.
Encyclopedia of Educational InnovationISBN: 9811322627
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, Cognitive Processes by ISBN: 1118953851Publication Date: 2015-03-31
- SAGE eReference This link opens in a new windowSage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
- SAGE Research Methods Online and Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects.
- SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by ISBN: 1506326153Publication Date: 2018-03-06
The Handbook of Critical Theoretical Research Methods in Education by ISBN: 9780429056963Publication Date: 2021-05-12
An Introduction to Grounded Methodology for Emerging Educational Researchers by ISBN: 9780367854393Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by ISBN: 0761930876Publication Date: 2006-02-16
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies by ISBN: 9781412915151Publication Date: 2007-08-28
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies by ISBN: 9781473942929Publication Date: 2020-07-27
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development by ISBN: 9781444325492Publication Date: 2010-06-25
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development by ISBN: 9781119679028Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Handbook of International Perspectives on Early Childhood Education by ISBN: 9781138673038Publication Date: 2018-03-02
The Oxford Handbook of Poverty and Child Development by ISBN: 9780199769100Publication Date: 2012-05-21
The SAGE encyclopedia of contemporary early childhood education by ISBN: 1506353185Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Science EducationISBN: 9400761651
The Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Care and Education by ISBN: 9781119148074Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education by ISBN: 9781317485537Publication Date: 2017-07-31
The Oxford Handbook of Higher Education Systems and University Management by ISBN: 0198822901Publication Date: 2019-08-21
The International Encyclopedia of Higher Education Systems and Institutions by ISBN: 9401789053Publication Date: 2019-07-29
The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and Training by ISBN: 9781119098614Publication Date: 2019-01-18
- The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and TrainingA collection of the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training written by international experts
Encyclopedia of Terminology for Educational Communications and Technology by ISBN: 1461465737Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Encyclopedia of Education and Information Technologies by Publication Date: 2020
- WCET FrontiersFrontiers is the blog for WCET, a "national leader in the practice, policy, & advocacy of digital learning in higher education." The Policy tab is a good source for public policy and regulation, and the "Practice" tab offers strategies, tools, and other practical resources for distance education.