Research Guides: Journalism *: Journalism tools

Tools

Journalism requires many tools and here are a few:

AP Stylebook
The AP Stylebook Online is a fully searchable version of the AP Stylebook with interactive features and links. AP Stylebook Online include an editor login to add custom entries and notes to AP Stylebook material.
Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-Based Reporting
The mission of Journalist’s Resource is to curate scholarship relevant to the media for use by practitioners, educators and students. We also invite all those interested in policy and public affairs — from citizen bloggers to civic groups — to use the site’s materials.
The National Freedom of Information Coalition
The National Freedom of Information Coalition protects our right to open government.
We are a nonpartisan alliance of citizen-driven nonprofit freedom of information organizations, academic and First Amendment centers, journalistic societies and attorneys.
The Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) i
the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) provides that any person has a right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to federal agency records, except to the extent that such records (or portions of them) are protected from public disclosure by one of nine exemptions or by one of three special law enforcement record exclusions.
ProfNet
As an online community of nearly 27,000 corporate, university and other communicators, we can connect you promptly with the experts you want to reach from within the largest network of experts of its kind.
Obituaries & Death Notices
The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use interface allows searching by name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s), philanthropic activities, etc.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
Nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal help to reporters and news organizations.
Journalist's Toolbox
Society of Professional Journalists provides news in internet tools for journalists search able website.
Public Searches and Public Records
Records are available for births occurring in Los Angeles County since 1866.
Los Angeles County Court Records
The most comprehensive single source for facts and statistics about Los Angeles County!
White Pages
White pages directory.
Records Project
Your Encyclopedia for State and County Public Records
Pipl.com
The most comprehensive people search on the web.
United States Court Locator
Great resource to locate the following:
U.S. Supreme Court
U.S. Courts of Appeals
U.S. District Courts
U.S. Bankruptcy Courts
U.S. Probation & Pretrial Services
Netroline
Public records searching

Lexis Nexis

Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Use the Search by Content Type to locate Broadcast Transcripts, Federal and State Cases, Dossier(Company, Executive, & Industry) and other legal research.

Looking for a Legal Case? Click on All Nexus Uni to choose Criminal Justice

Legal/Law databases

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. In addition to scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications (all PDF format) created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
With the focus on the public law, ProQuest Legislative Insight will make available approximately 18,000 legislative histories covering laws from 1929 to the present. 9,000 of these are brand new and 4,000 (from 1969-1983) include new research. PDF documents included with the public laws include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record and presidential signing statements.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is an ever-expanding, comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals.

Record Searching resources

Public Records & Statistics:

Gov. Agencies:

Photos, Footage, Transcripts & Articles