Research Guides: Journalism *: Statistics

Crime Statistics

USC databases are web resources for crime statistics:

Crime and Arrests Statistics
Page by Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department. Data goes back to 1996.
Los Angeles Police Department Crime Map
Provided access to crime information (from police reports) by date, location and type.
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
more...less...
The Bureau of Justice Statistics, through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data
United States Attorneys Annual Statistical Report

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.

Census Data
Access to the US census from population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Editor & Publisher Market Guide
Demographic and market data for 1600 cities in the U.S. and Canada.
ComScore Press Center
Internet audience measurement data, including details of visitation, demographics and online buying power for Web site audiences across U.S. and global markets.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight abstracts include a detailed description of a publication's statistical contents and primary bibliographic information like title, date, collation, agency report number (if any), and periodicity.

Communication Source This link opens in a new window Includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.

Use the Advance Search. "Broadcasting & Cable" Publication type

Type in "Nielsen" in the fsecond search box, and "ratings" in the third search box.

SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
SRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources.
The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.

Hoovers Online
In-depth coverage of the world's top enterprises is at the core of our business tools and service that customers find vital to their operations.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers with a broad selection of international content plus company and market data.

Investext Plus
More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
S&P NetAdvantage
Business, investment and financial information including industry surveys.
IBIS World
America's largest business collection of Industry MarketResearch Reports. Industry reports contain key statistics and analysis. Each report is 25-30 pages in length.
Pew Center Publications
Reports about news, media and newspapers Covers 2004-present.
News Media Alliance
Our work focuses on the key challenges and opportunities of today’s news environment: Freedom of the press, public policy and legal matters, advertising growth, new revenue streams and audience development across all platforms.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for information on the newspaper industry, circulation data, media use and other topics related to hte newspaper industry.

Statistical Resources on the Web
Nice collection of statistics links. Click on 'Science' to get telecommunication and television stats.
Social Science Statistics
Key resources for statistics in the social sciences.
Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Inter-university consortium for political and social research
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Culture and communication statistics.
TableBase
A database of statistics and tables drawn from a wide range of trade publications and business news sources. In many cases the full text of the source article is included with the statistics.
Statesman's Yearbook Online
Brief statistics by country in communications and culture.
World Development Indicators
Annual compilation from the World Bank of statistical data about development, covering over 200 countries. Under 'topic,' select "Development framework" and then "Communications."