It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a print resource. The following information is contained in this resource:
A guide to the 25-volume Gallup Poll Annual Series, this index is just what you'd expect from Gallup: an orderly, reliable, and businesslike guide to American public opinion. Well organized and explanatory, it contains a methodical subject and name index to the nearly 10,000 surveys Gallup has conducted since it first started sampling public opinion on October 20, 1935Äplus the survey results themselves. The easy-to-read, large-type format features subject and poll year in bold type. Each entry also contains numerous detailed subheadings and relevant cross references
the largest archive of U.S. public opinion data in the world, covering the last 65 years. Use iPoll for individual survey questions and RoperExpress for entire datasets. First time users must register, but it's free.
The Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including a limited collection of non-U.S. data (specifically, Great Britain, France, Canada, Brazil, Germany, Mexico, Italy, Japan, Venezuela, Argentina). Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.
"Interactive database allows users to explore public opinion trends in 55 countries on topics ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives to views about globalization, democratization, extremism and other important issues."
Database of roughly 500,000 questions from more than 14,000 public opinion polls and surveys covering the United States and 100 other countries going back to 1986. Users can use this database to search for questions by keyword, topic, or other specification and quickly pull-up top-line percentage distributions.
The World Values Survey is administered to nationally representative samples covering values and perceptions of life, the environment, work, family, politics and society, religion and morale, and national identity, as well as demographic characteristics. Download data files or analyze online.
Sources: International Barometer Studies
Regional “barometer” surveys, in general, look at the social,
political and economic atmosphere in various countries—often including opinions
on democracy.Generally, these surveys
are given annually or in waves to nationally representative samples of adults;
however, methodology, scope, content, and availability may vary.
Globalbarometer project combines a common module of questions from the African, Arab, Asian, and Latino barometer surveys. While representing only a selection of the questions asked in the regional barometer surveys, these data are available for online analysis allowing for significant cross-national comparisons (see http://www.jdsurvey.net/gbs/gbs.jsp).
Afrobarometer began in 1999 surveying 12 countries while the fourth, and most recent, wave was conducted in 20 African countries in 2008. Users must apply to download the complete data files; however, a comprehensive online analysis option is freely available as well as summary findings and data documentation.
The first phase of ArabBarometer was conducted in 2006-07 in seven countries. The second phase is planned for additional countries and, while no online analysis is available, users can view summary statistics and download datafiles from the first phase.
Formerly East Asian Barometer, surveys focus on ‘citizens’ attitudes toward democracy, governance, and development’ in the East Asian region. Two waves of surveys have been conducted so far: the first wave (2001–2003) in 8 countries and the second wave (2005–2008) in 13 countries. While data files from the Asian Barometer surveys are freely available, researchers must apply for access.
AsiaBarometer has been conducted annually since 2003 to between 6 and 14 countries in East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia. The survey focus is the “daily lives of ordinary people and their relationships to family, neighborhood, workplace, social and political institutions and market place.” Users must apply to download data from this survey series; however, top-level statistics for each question (by country) can be freely viewed online.
Established in 1973, Eurobarometer surveys are conducted two or more times a year encompassing social and political attitudes in all European Union member states. Published reports and an interactive search function are available on the European Commission Public Opinion webpage.
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey of 18 Latin American countries that began in 1995. While the most recent years’ datafiles must be purchased, some online analysis is freely available.
Data Services Librarian
Contact our Data Services Librarian for help finding statistics.