How to Find the Full Text of a Journal
- To locate journals online, go to the eJournals link and type in the name of your journal.
- Request journal articles not owned by the USC Libraries via interlibrary loan. Fill out the online form here.
List of Journalism Journals Online
Here is a list of e-journals related to journalism, broadcast journalism and radio and television:
- USC Subscriptions - Online Journals in CommunicationUse this page to search for a known journal by title, or browse through titles by subject area.
Top Databases for Journalism Article Searches
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCommunication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989), which includes over 30 full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
- Proquest Research LibraryScholalry, popular, and newspaper articles from 1980's - present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
- Sage PremiereFull text of many communication journals, including Communication Research, Games & Culture, Global Media & Communication.
- Academic OneFileScholarly and popular periodicals from the 1980's to the present.
- Web of ScienceIncludes arts and humanities and social sciences citation databases.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new windowSports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
- Public Health Databases This link opens in a new windowA directory of public health databases. Click the Free Public Health Databases link for the list of open access resources. This is helpful for resources with information in specific areas of public health.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess over 2,200 peer reviewed academic journals and selected books.
- SpringerLINK This link opens in a new windowThe SpringerLink database is the online central access point for Springer resources in all disciplines including arts, humanities, and social sciences, with particular strength in Science-Technology-Medicine.
Secondary Article Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains information on published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Updated monthly.
- JSTORA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. No coverage from 2006-present.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsAbstracts of linguistics-related articles from 1973-present.
- PAIS InternationalPublic affairs database.
- GenderWatchDatabase for gender studies.
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies
RefWorks
Use RefWorks to create bibliographies and put your citations into whatever style format you need.
- RefWorksFree to USC faculty, students and staff. From computers connecting via wireless or off-campus, the USC Group Code is required. The group code is RWUSC.