Collections of Historical Newspapers
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 6,000 American, British, Canadian and several other international newspapers with coverage between 1607-present. Over 200 of these newspapers are from California, including the Oakland Tribune, the Bakersfield Californian and the Berkeley Daily Gazette.
- Black Studies CenterThe Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to African American Studies that includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), key historical African American newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
- Hispanic American NewspapersNewspapers from 22 U.S. states published from 1808-1980.
- America's Historical NewspapersCovers over 710 historical American newspapers from 1690-1876 from 23 states and D.C.
- Accessible ArchivesCovers 18th and 19th century newspapers, including African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Liberator (1831-1865), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Charleston Mercury, NY Herald, Richmond Enquirer, South Carolina Gazette.
- Ethnic Newswatch: A HistoryCovers 1960-1989.
- Eighteenth Century Journals IICovers 1685-1815 and serves as a portal to mostly British newspapers and periodicals.
- NewsBank RetrospectiveCovers 1970-1991.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersPapers from CA, FL, KY, NY, UT, NA, and DC published between 1900-1910.
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowone of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
Single-Title Historical American Newspapers Online from Proquest
- Historical New York TimesCovers 1851-2000.
- Historical Los Angeles TimesCovers 1881-1987
- Historical Atlanta ConstitutionCovers 1868 - 1939.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new windowCovers 1931-2003.
- Historical Boston GlobeCovers 1872-1924.
- Historical Chicago DefenderCovers 1910-1975.
- Historical Chicago TribuneCovers 1849-1986.
- Historical Christian Science MonitorCovers 1908-1997.
- Historical Guardian & ObserverCovers 1791-2003.
- Historical Los Angeles SentinelCovers 1935-2005.
- Historical New York Amsterdam NewsCovers 1922-1993.
- Historical Pittsburgh CourierCovers 1911-2002.
- Historical Wall Street JournalCovers 1889-1988.
- Historical Washington PostCovers 1877-1990.
Finding Aides: Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersCan find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present, including where they are archived.
- 19th Century MasterfileIndex of indexes covering 1800-1899, including Poole's Plus.
- Newspapers: A Reference GuideHas information on newspaper indexes.
The Listener Historical Archive
- Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991Covering the years 1929-1991 the archive features the complete 62-year run of, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its Director-General Lord Reith. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies