Magazines
- Economist MagazinePDF of articles published in the Economist magazine from 1992 to the present.
- New Yorker MagazinePdf articles published from 2002 to the present.
- Time MagazinePDF of articles published in Tim form 1984 to the present.
- ForbesPDF articles published from 1990 to the present.
- AtlanticText of articles published from 1994 to present.
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies
Magazines
- Economist MagazinePDF of articles published in the Economist magazine from 1992 to the present.
- New Yorker MagazinePdf articles published from 2002 to the present.
- Time MagazinePDF of articles published in Tim form 1984 to the present.
- ForbesPDF articles published from 1990 to the present.
- AtlanticText of articles published from 1994 to present.
- Variety MagazinePDF of articles from 1972 to present.
- Hollywood ReporterText articles from the reporter are indexed in the database.
- BillboardPDF articles are indexed from 1988-present.
- WiredFull text articles from 2008 to present.
- New York Review of BooksAn independent publication, editorial voice for literature.
Current Newspaper Individul titles
- Los Angeles TimesAll students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free three year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.
For the code enter Free - New York TimesUSC Students have access to the New York Times complimentary provided by USC’s Graduate and Undergraduate Student Governments.
Complete the Google form to confirm your registration and access to the NY TImes.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowNew users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address.
- Students will have seamless access through graduation
- Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh
- For those who have a personal WSJ membership and want to take advantage of the complimentary school-sponsored membership can call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel
- Washington PostProQuest Databases access to Full-text coverage daily articles from1996 - present.
- New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Database access to full-text articles covered in the New York Times.
- Los Angeles Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Database access to the articles published in the Los Angeles Times.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (current) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Database access to full text articles published in the Wall Street Journal.
- Los Angeles SentinalThe Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Coverage 2007-present
- FactivaThe Washington Post is included in Factiva.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new windowThe Historic Los Angeles Sentinel provides full-text access to the most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles, from its founding in 1934 through 2005.
Current Newspapers Databases
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowThe electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Coverage: 1980 - current - Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
- FactivaCovers 1975 to the present.
- Gannett Newsstand This link opens in a new windowThis database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowProvides access to major U.S. and international newspapers and allows to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.
- CQ WeeklyMagazine on government, commerce and politics.