Essential Services: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
Searching beyond USC Libraries Catalog: WorldCat and Google Scholar
Doheny Memorial Library
Resources for Creative Writers
Marketing and Promotion:
Where and how to get published?
|
PN161 W.83 |
PN161 W.84 |
In the Doheny Memorial Library (print in the Los Angeles Times Reading room behind the reference desk)
Trade Magazines and Reviews
|
Poets & Writers current Poets & Writers |
American Poetry Review current American Poetry Review |
|
Publishers Weekly current Publishers Weekly |
current Kenyon Review |
|
The Writer's Digest current The Writer's Digest |
Yale Review current Yale Review |
|
Kirkus Reviews current Kirkus Reviews |
current Poetry Magazine |
Paris Review is available online (via Libby) at Los Angeles Public Library
Poetry Resources
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations ... .
The Academy of American Poets offers a wealth of research resources for the study and enjoyment of poetry.
Special Collections Highlights
Special Collections
-
American Literature Archival Collections
Sophie Lesinska, Ph.D.
lesinska@usc.edu
How to search for Dissertations
Dissertations and Theses @ USC (Via ProQuest)
Click to watch: Browsing dissertations created by USC doctoral scholars in your field.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is a database of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
Click to watch: Finding a doctoral dissertation by a specific author.
New Yorker, New York Review of Books, London Review of Books
Selected Resources for ENGL 501
JOURNALS
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
PMLA: Publications of Modern Language Association (USC institutional subscription)
USC Journal subscriptions in the subject category <Critical Theory, Literary Theory, Cultural Theory> print and online
THEORY GUIDES
Brooker, Peter. A Glossary of Literary and Cultural Theory. Routledge, 2016.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers all aspects of philosophy from an international perspective.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory
A guide to criticism from classical antiquity to the present day.
Groden, Michael., et al. Contemporary Literary & Cultural Theory: the Johns Hopkins Guide. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012.
Hoose Library of Philosophy
Research Management
Zotero
Go to the Zotero Download page at Zotero.org
Click the Zotero for Firefox link.
When you see the message "Firefox prevented this site from asking you to install software on your computer," click Allow.
Click Install Now, and Zotero will download and install. Restart Firefox. If you're using Safari or Internet Chrome you will need to download the Standalone version of Zotero.
Content on this guide was originally created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License and adapted here for SWMS 410
Adapted from Chimene Tucker's guide
Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including USC's) and databases, with one click. If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or other compatible site, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the utility bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation to your library. If you'd like to see additional options for saving - click the arrow next to the icon. If you are using an older version of Firefox, you may see the icon directly in the URL bar on your browser.
After clicking the Zotero icon, you'll see it save to your library in the bottom right hand corner of your browser window.
Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from some web pages, but you can still add them to your Zotero library.
Click the Zotero button to access Zotero's controls and expand the Zotero pane. Click the page button (to the right of the green plus sign) to save a link to the page. This will save a new "web page" item to your library. You can add information about the author, etc., if you wish.
It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.
Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.
Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.
To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.
At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").
Sync Your Library: If you're regularly using more than one computer in your research, Zotero's sync feature can keep your library up to date on all of them. Zotero can store a copy of your library on the Zotero.org server and check it for updates whenever you open your library on a different computer. All your computers must be running the same version of Zotero.
First, set up a (free, of course) Zotero.org user account.
Then: Open Zotero preferences (via the gear menu) and select the Sync tab. Enter your Zotero user name and password. Check the "sync automatically" box. Check both boxes under File Syncing and choose Zotero storage for My Library. This will sync your PDF attachments as well as citations.
Click the green circular arrow button at the top right corner of the Zotero window. Zotero will upload your library to the server.
Find-it at USC: You've probably seen the Find it @ USC button in some article databases that allows you to locate the full text of an article online. Zotero allows you to use the same feature. To set up Zotero to access the Find it @ USC server, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar and choose Preferences and paste this link into the "Resolver:" http://zb5lh7ed7a.search.serialssolutions.com/
Add Additional Citation Styles to Zotero:
Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.
To install a style (Firefox):
- Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
- Search for the name of the style you need.
- Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.