Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Language & Literature *: Long 18th C

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

Sources

History Subject Databases

Gale World History in Context merges  authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text  covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.

Primary Sources in Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers: The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Internet Library of Early Journals important 18th and 19th century British journals

 

 

ECCO

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
 
One of the largest resources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm or electronic formats. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This collection captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain in multiple academic disciplines, including history, literature, geography, social sciences, fine arts, religion, philosophy, and law.