Cassady Lewis Carroll Collection: About

The G. Edward Cassady, M.D. and Margaret Elizabeth Cassady, R.N, Lewis Carroll Collection includes rare books, manuscripts, and objects created by or about beloved children’s literature author, mathematician, and writer Charles Dodgson, better known by his pen name, Lewis Carroll. Most well known for his first children’s novels, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There, Carroll was a nineteenth-century British polymath with works spanning many disciplines, including but not limited to geometry, early photography, politics, logic, and puzzles. The collection was donated by USC alum Dr. George Cassady in 2000 and named for his parents. Housed at the University of Southern California’s Doheny Memorial Library in the Special Collections department on the second floor, the Cassady collection is open to the public for research throughout the year. Requests for materials may be made through your research account.

The Cassady collection includes:

• First editions
• Translations
• Artist books
• Stage and Film adaptations
• Victorian-era playing cards
• Pop-up books
• Letters and manuscripts
• Ephemera
• Illustrated editions of the ‘Alice’ books and Carroll’s other works by famous artists like Salvador Dali, Barry Moser & Ralph Steadman.
• Critical and reference works on Lewis Carroll.
• The most extensive collection of Japanese materials related to Alice housed outside Japan.
• Wonderland Award Archive of student work

About Special Collections at USC 

For research assistance, please contact contact Special Collections at specol@usc.edu

• License Agreement template

In order to publish any of our materials, patrons need to request permission.

Below, please find a preview of a License Agreement for your convenience.

For information about reproduction services, please click here.