Research Guides: Pharmacy Students: Year 1: Drug Information

Drug Information Resources


Type of Question	Best Bet Resource	Alternate Resource(s)
Adverse Drug Reactions	Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs Norris Medical Library, Reference, QZ 42 S568 2016	American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information Side Effects of Drug Annual Search the Catalog for Meyler's: USC subscribes to several books from this series covering specific drug classes.
Compounding	Allen's Compounded Formulations: the Complete US Pharmacist Collection. Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 778 A433 2003	Compounding Sterile Preparations Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations, Reserve, QV 735 t837t 2018 The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy. Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 704 R388 2013
Dictionaries	Dictionary of Pharmacy (2017) Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Medicine (2014)	The Libraries own several other dictionaries focusing on pharmacy-related professions. Search the Catalog for drug dictionary, pharmacoepidemiology dictionary, etc., for more titles.
Drug-Drug Interactions	Stockley's Drug Interactions. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 S865 2010	Stockley's Drug Interaction Pocket Companion 2016 Drug Interaction Facts (Tatro). Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 D7945 2013 Use interactive tools in Micromedex or UpToDate Lexidrugs
Drug-Food Interactions	Food Medication Interactions. Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 37.5 P965f 2015	Use interactive tools in Facts & Comparisons E-Answers or Micromedex
Equivalent Products	The Orange Book. Need help using the Orange Book? Watch a video from the FDA.
Foreign Drugs (Non-US)	Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Accessed via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Martindale entry from results.	Index Nominum. Accessed via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Index Nominum entry from results.
Geriatrics	Geriatric Dosing Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 G369	UpToDate Lexidrug includes Geriatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the geriatric monograph.
Identification	Ident-a-drug Reference. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 I19 2011	Identidex (through Micromedex) Drug ID (through UpToDate Lexidrug)
Infectious Disease	Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy	Pharmacist's Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy and Stewardship. Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Disease
IV Compatibility	ASHP Injectable Drug Information (former title: Trissel's)	IV Compatibility (through Micromedex) Trissell's IV Compatibility (through UpToDate Lexidrugs)
Laboratory tests	Effects of Drugs on Clinical Laboratory Tests. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 38 Y69e 2000	Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests.
Natural products	Natural Medicines	Natural Products Database available in UpToDate Lexidrug. Search for the product/ingredient and select the result from Natural Products Database.
Off-label use	Facts and Comparisons Off-Label available in UpToDate Lexidrug. Search for the drug and select the result from Facts and Comparisons Off-Label.	American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information. In-Depth monographs from Micromedex include information.
OTC Medications	Handbook of Non-Prescription Drugs	LexiDrugs (through UpToDate Lexidrug)
Package inserts	DailyMed	Physician's Desk Reference. Norris Medical Library Reference, QV 772 P578 Many manufacturers make the package inserts available freely through their websites.
Pediatrics	Pediatric & Neonatal Dosage Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Reference, WS 39 P3705 2017	UpToDate Lexidrug includes Pediatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the pediatric monograph. Pediatric and Injectable Drugs (Teddy Bear Book) 2018 is also available.
Pregnancy & Lactation	Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (formerly known as Brigg's)	Hale's Medications and Mother's Milk Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women. LactMed
Pricing	Red Book (Print edition discontinued; only access available via Micromedex)	The Red Book includes the most comprehensive pricing data. Free websites like drugs.com or goodrx.com will aggregate costs paid by patients to fill prescriptions, with or without insurance coverage. Search literature for cost-comparison articles to find additional pricing and cost data.
Stability & Compatibility	ASHP Injectable Drug Information (former title: Trissel's)	Extended Stability for Parenteral Drugs
Toxicology	Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 607 P754 2008	Lexi-Tox, part of UpToDate Lexidrug subscription. Select More Clinical Tools, then Toxicology.
Veterinary Information	Merck Veterinary Manual	Search the Catalog for names of species and type of information needed ("cows and vaccine"; "dogs and analgesics") to find handbooks on specific animal species. Plumb's Veterinary Drugs book is heavily discounted for Pharm D students in some years. Go to Plumb's website and search for student discount. PubMed@USC includes primary articles covering veterinary care. BIOSIS includes basic sciences and veterinary-specific articles.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Brief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window
Monographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.

Clinical Pharmacology (Clinical Key interface)
This database is purchased by the School of Pharmacy. Affiliates of the school may use the USC VPN to access this; or, find instructions for creating a personal username and password at the School of Pharmacy's Intranet.
Health Sciences Mobile Resources Guide
Looking for access to compendia via apps? Check out the Mobile Devices guide for up to date information about available apps and access.

PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Search US Patent Office applications, European Union patent applications, and Japanese patent applications using Google's search structures. Search US Patent office data using Google search techniques. Includes searchable full-text of US patents from 1790.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Articles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.

Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new window
Search for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new window
Online access to current and past United States Food and Drug Administration-approved labels for prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
European Medicines Agency This link opens in a new window
This organization approves and regulates human and veterinary medicines in the European Union (EU). Find detailed information on approved drugs, news about the EMA, and information on how drugs are tested and regulated in the EU.
Therapeutic Goods Administration- Australian Public Assessment Reports for Prescription Medicines This link opens in a new window
Package labels and scientific reviews of drug products approved for use in Australia. The TGA is the Australian government's analogue to the US Food and Drug Administration.
Health Canada - Drugs and Health Products This link opens in a new window
Health Canada regulates drugs and health products in Canada. Find reports and publications, recalls, legislation and guidelines, and additional information.

Health Sciences Mobile Resources Guide
The apps listed here are commonly asked about. Check out the Mobile Devices guide for up to date information about all available USC apps.
UpToDate Lexidrugs Apps (formerly Lexicomp)

1. Use a computer to access UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
2. Look for the box named Help and Training Resources. Inside this box, find a link titled Academic Discount. Click this link.
3. Select the app you wish to purchase, add to your cart, and proceed to checkout.
4. Follow instructions in email to obtain and download app.
Natural Medicines app

As of fall 2023 this app is no longer available to institutional subscribers. Individual subscribers may be able to access it. The Natural Medicines website has been upgraded and is now more accessible via mobile browser.
Micromedex Apps
USC's subscriptions include access to five apps:
- IV Compatibility
- Drug Reference
- Drug Interactions
- NeoFax
- Pediatrics
  
  1. To activate apps, go to Micromedex.
  2. You will have two options: Micromedex or CareNotes System. Click "Micromedex."
  3. Under "Resources", click on the gray box labeled "Download Mobile Apps" or click "Mobile Application Access" in the top banner.
  4. Scroll down to find instructions for the Micromedex Native Mobile Apps that include a password for each of the five apps available to USC affiliates.
  4. Download the Micromedex apps from your mobile device's app/play store.
  5. Enter password into app when prompted.