Textbooks
There are no required textbooks for this course. Examine the Additional Resources box on this page for some texts suggested by your faculty as useful reference materials.
Citation Style for Pharm Ds
The Pharm D program has adopted AMA style, 11th ed., for references and citations in written work, unless otherwise specified. Read the Quick Guide for formatting in-text references and citations for commonly used publication types. For more help, view the full AMA Manual of Style or contact the library.
- Quick Citing Reference- AMA 11th ed2 page handout covering the basics of using AMA style, 11th edition
Books recommended for group project
Encyclopedia of Polymeric NanomaterialsPublication Date: 2015
Drug Delivery SystemsPublication Date: 2019Drug Delivery Systems examines the current state of the field within pharmaceutical science and concisely explains the history of drug delivery systems, including key developments.
Targeted Drug DeliveryPublication Date: 2022
Drug DeliveryPublication Date: 2016
Therapeutic Targets of the Tnf SuperfamilyPublication Date: 2009
Therapeutic Peptides and ProteinsCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QU 68 B216t 2015
Smart Biomaterial DevicesPublication Date: 2016
Polymers for BiomedicinePublication Date: 2017
Particulate Technology for Delivery of TherapeuticsPublication Date: 2017
Additional Resources
Texts recommended as resources to consult during the course by course faculty
Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, 12th edISBN: 9781975171773Publication Date: 2021
Shargel and Yu's Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, 8th EditionPublication Date: 2022
Basic Physical PharmacyCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 744 M111b 2013
Controlled Drug Delivery: Fundamentals and ApplicationsCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level or Reserve, QV 785 C7595 1987
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of TherapeuticsPublication Date: 2018
Modern Pharmaceutics (4th ed)Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 785 M689 2002Publication Date: 2002
Databases useful for group projects
- Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new windowA repository of 3D and 2D structure data of biomolecules, proteins, and nucleic acids.
- Molecule of the Month from Protein Data BankThis learning feature of PDB provides brief overviews of molecular structure and functions.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowTextbooks, drug monographs, quizzes, flashcards, videos, cases, and calculators, selected for relevance to Pharmacy education.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical textbooks, board review books and clinical support books. In addition, there are self-assessment modules with case studies and multiple choice questions. Good for study and review of basic medical topics.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowRegistry and results database; includes information about publicly & privately funded studies including; completed & ongoing trials, research design, results, and contact information.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patents Database Search patents from the following databases: USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT) ,USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT), Global Dossier, Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR), Public Search Facility, Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs), Patent Official Gazette, Common Citation Document (CCD),Search International Patent Offices, Search Published Sequences, Patent Assignment Search, Patent Examination Data System (PEDS)
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
