Try the new PharmD guide!
This Pharmacy Students: Year 1 guide is no longer updated. Please visit the new PharmD Program guide for links to useful books, databases, and other information resources to support your pharmacy education at USC, and instruction provided by librarians from the Norris Medical Library in the School's curriculum, for students in all years of the USC PharmD program.
Textbook
-
Basic Concepts in Medicinal Chemistry
Publication Date: 2018
Suggested sources for course project
Encyclopedias and Tertiary Sources
-
The Merck Index
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 13 M555 2013
-
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window This free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.
-
DrugBank This link opens in a new window Combines chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical data with comprehensive drug targeting information.
-
PubChem This link opens in a new window Repository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
-
ChEMBLA manually curated database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties.
Databases for citation tracing or searching for patents or articles
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
-
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
-
Google Patents This link opens in a new window Search US Patent Office applications, European Union patent applications, and Japanese patent applications using Google's search structures. Search US Patent office data using Google search techniques. Includes searchable full-text of US patents from 1790.
-
Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new windowA repository of 3D and 2D structure data of biomolecules, proteins, and nucleic acids.
Recommended resources
These materials can help you understand concepts in this course. Search the library catalog or talk to a librarian to find more.
-
An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry
Call Number: Norris Medical Library,Upper Level, QV 744 P314i 2013ISBN: 9780199697397 -
The Organic Chemistry of Medicinal Agents
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 55 R421o 2016 -
-
Wilson and Gisvold's Textbook of Organic Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, 12th ed
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 744 W754 2011 -
Burger's medicinal chemistry, drug discovery and development
This encyclopedia of medicinal chemistry connects chemistry with therapeutics. -
Review of Organic Functional Groups
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 744 L554r 2012
Catalog Search with Options (Primo)
Citation Style for Pharm Ds
The Pharm D program has adopted AMA style, 11th ed., for references and citations in written work, unless otherwise specified. Read the Quick Guide for formatting in-text references and citations for commonly used publication types. For more help, view the full AMA Manual of Style or contact the library.
-
Quick Citing Reference- AMA 11th ed2 page handout covering the basics of using AMA style, 11th edition