Literature Databases
Literature databases provide access to scholarly, popular, and proprietary literature relating to drug therapy, drug development, economic and policy issues relating to drugs, results from clinical trials, and related information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowSearch over 20 million citations to biomedical literature.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowSearch biomedical literature. Searches similar data as PubMed@USC.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Drug Information Databases/Collections
These materials provide access to information about drugs. They are partially databases, in that they can be searched, but often include the full text of several books in addition to information about drugs.
Exact coverage varies by database, but includes topics such as dosage and administration, mechanism of action, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, and pill ID.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- Facts and Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new windowConstantly updated drug monographs for prescription and over-the-counter drugs; drug interaction checker. Includes additional handbooks on specific aspects of drugs, such as Review of Natural Products.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowIncludes high-quality data on natural products such as herbs, plants, supplements, and vitamins.
- Clinical Pharmacology (Clinical Key interface)This database is purchased by the School of Pharmacy. Affiliates of the school may use the USC VPN to access this; or, find instructions for creating a personal username and password at the School of Pharmacy's Intranet.
Evidence-Based Clinical Databases
Evidence-based clinical databases provide summarized, graded evidence to inform clinical practice.
Exact coverage varies by database, but generally includes overviews of diseases and clinical guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes calculators and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CME credits.