Try the new PharmD guide!
This Pharmacy Students: Year 1 guide is no longer updated. Please visit the new PharmD Program guide for links to useful books, databases, and other information resources to support your pharmacy education at USC, and instruction provided by librarians from the Norris Medical Library in the School's curriculum, for students in all years of the USC PharmD program.
Pharm I Textbooks
-
Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, 12th ed
ISBN: 9781975171773Publication Date: 2021 -
Shargel and Yu's Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, 8th Edition
Publication Date: 2022 -
Basic Physical Pharmacy
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 744 M111b 2013 -
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022 -
Modern Pharmaceutics
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 785 M689 2002Publication Date: 2002A more recent edition of this book omits some foundational information, but is available online. -
Modern Pharmaceutics (5th ed)
Publication Date: 2008The 4th edition of this book is preferred by course faculty, but the Libraries only own the 4th edition in print. The 5th edition is available online. -
Physicochemical Principles of Pharmacy
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 744 F632p 2011ISBN: 9780853699842Online access to 6th edition.
Print edition is 5th edition. -
Remington's Pharmaceutical Sciences
by
Call Number: Norris Medical ibrary, Upper Level, QV 704 R388 1990Publication Date: 1990
Pharm II Textbooks
There is no textbook for Pharmaceutics II.
Citation Style for Pharm Ds
The Pharm D program has adopted AMA style, 11th ed., for references and citations in written work, unless otherwise specified. Read the Quick Guide for formatting in-text references and citations for commonly used publication types. For more help, view the full AMA Manual of Style or contact the library.
-
Quick Citing Reference- AMA 11th ed2 page handout covering the basics of using AMA style, 11th edition
Additional Resources
These tertiary sources will help you understand concepts in these classes and find information for the course projects.
-
Absorption and Drug Development: solubility, permeability, and charge state
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 38 A947a 2012ISBN: 9781118057452 -
Martin's Physical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (8th ed)
by
Publication Date: 2024 -
Modern Pharmaceutics: Volume 1Publication Date: 2009With over 100 illustrations, Volume 1 addresses the core disciplines of pharmaceutics (absorption, PK, excipients, tablet dosage forms, and packaging), and explores the challenges and paradigms of pharmaceutics.
-
Evaluation of Drug Candidates for Preclinical Development
Publication Date: 2010Provides a complete view and understanding of why absorption-distribution-metabolism-excretion-toxicology (ADMET) plays a pivotal role in drug discovery and development. -
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Formulations, Volume 1, (3rd ed)
Publication Date: 2019-12-06The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Formulations, Third Edition: Volume One, Compressed Solid Products -
Remington Education: Pharmaceutics
Publication Date: 2014General overview of pharmaceutics topics, plus case studies and quizzes (includes answers) -
Pharm 501 & 502: project resources
Use these resources to gain basic information about a chemical and its properties, the mechanism of action of drugs, and how it acts or interacts with other chemicals and substances. These background resources can provide you with additional words or phrases to use to enhance your searches in databases, too.
-
The Merck Index
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 13 M555 2013This handbook covers chemicals and substances used in chemistry, pharmaceutics, and biomedicine. Over 10,000 separate entries include molecular weights, structures, citations to literature which describes formulation and clinical uses, alternate names, and physical data for a variety of chemicals and drugs.
-
PubChem This link opens in a new windowFree, US-government-produced resource. Includes properties computed from a structure (molecular weight, etc.), chemical class/functional grouping classification, and links to chemically-related structures.
-
ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowThis free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.
-
DrugBank This link opens in a new windowFree, Canadian-government-supported resource including chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical properties for 4000 drugs. Data is NOT VERIFIED prior to submission, so use with caution-- all information found should be verified by double-checking in another resource or carefully reviewed for accuracy.
-
Chemical Stability of Pharmaceuticals: A Handbook for Pharmacists
by
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 754 C752c 1986ISBN: 047187955X -
Clarke's Analysis of Drugs and Poisons, Fourth EditionCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 25 C611 2011Publication Date: 2011Volume 2 of this 2-volume set includes chemical structures and physicochemical properties for frequently-used drugs.
-
Disposition of Toxic Drugs and Chemicals in ManCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 38 B299d 2014This slim volume includes chemical structures and physicochemical properties of frequently-used drugs.
-
-
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients (7th ed)Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 735 H236 2012Publication Date: 2012
-
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Formulations
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 735 N577h 2009ISBN: 9781420081060
Suggested databases
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and patents from the chemical literature. Key database for PHRD 501 case studies and pharmaceutics research. Requires separate login. Go to http://libguides.usc.edu/chem/scifinder to register.
-
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
-
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowSearch over 23 million citations to biomedical literature.
-
Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowArticles and conference proceedings from all areas of science.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Regulatory documentation
Regulatory materials provide access to reports generated by pharmaceutical companies during the approval processes for drugs, which can include detailed chemical and pharmaceutical data. Need help navigating Drugs @ FDA? Watch this video made by USC librarians.
-
Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
-
European Medicines Agency This link opens in a new windowThis organization approves and regulates human and veterinary medicines in the European Union (EU). Find detailed information on approved drugs, news about the EMA, and information on how drugs are tested and regulated in the EU.
-
Therapeutic Goods Administration- Australian Public Assessment Reports for Prescription Medicines This link opens in a new windowPackage labels and scientific reviews of drug products approved for use in Australia. The TGA is the Australian government's analogue to the US Food and Drug Administration.
-
DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new windowOnline access to current and past United States Food and Drug Administration-approved labels for prescription and over-the-counter drugs.