Research Guides: Doctor of Social Work (DSW) Research: Policy & Legislation

Finding Policy Briefs and Reports

Use these resources to find background information, analysis and current developments of the policy you are researching. A policy brief is a concise summary of a particular issue, the policy options to deal with it, and some recommendations on the best option. Find out how to prepare a policy brief from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for research in international affairs.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Focuses on public policy, international relations, economic and social conditions. Includes articles, books, conference papers, government reports, and research reports, 1915-present.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Public policy research indexing and abstracting, as well as full text items.
PolicyFile includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. The database can be browsed by primary contributor or thematically and all abstracts have been linked to Home Pages, electronic mail addresses and full text documents, where available.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly articles, abstracts and working papers in the social sciences including many Marshall faculty.

Public Websites with Policy Information

Policy Archive
PolicyArchive is digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Search for summaries and full text materials of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

Think Tanks, Research Centers, and Policy Organizations

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used. AHRQ priorities are described.
Brookings Institution
A nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.
Cato Institute
A public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans, through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action.
National Center for Children in Poverty
NCCP conducts research and translates the findings into actionable recommendations that advocates and policymakers use to improve the lives and futures of low-income children and their families.
National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA)
A directory which provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, better known as think tanks.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
Public Policy Institute of California
This is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. Publishes a variety of policy reports and research studies.
Rand Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous.