What are scholarly sources?
Scholarly sources are typically publications that have been reviewed by experts within that field before publication. These can include, books, and peer-reviewed journal articles. The resources on this page provide access to scholarly materials.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowDatabases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- Access USC Libraries OnlineYou can access library services, collections, and resources on the USC Libraries website.
Subject-Specific Databases
If you know the name of the particular database you want to search then go the browse database A-Z list and search for it in the alphabetical list.
To find databases that are useful for Social Work research you can narrow the list to "Social Work' and retrieve a list of databases that specifically index social work journals and related social science disciplines.
Other Useful Databases for Social Work Research
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive, in-depth review articles on topics ranging from basic sciences to the clinical sciences. These reviews are best used as introductions to new research topics.
- University of Southern California Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFind drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and audio and video recordings in applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Southern California This link opens in a new windowCurrent Research @, a listing of dissertations and theses from this institution (USC).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowDatabase of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowThis collection gives access to: DSM Library (including the DSM 5), self-assessment tools, news, and consumer health information.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
Recommended Social Work Research Journals
- Clinical Social WorkCovers contemporary clinical social work practice, research, theory, and policy.
- International Social WorkCovers and promotes communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services.
- Qualitative Social WorkCovers qualitative research and qualitative approaches to practice.
- Research on Social Work PracticeCovers research in the field of social work, including community practice, organizational management, and the evaluation of social policies.
- Social Service ReviewCovers social welfare policy and practice and its effects.