Annotated Bibliography
*An annotated bibliography is a type of paper in which the reference entry is followed by short descriptions of the work called annotations. APA Style guidelines are applicable to annotated bibliographies, but instructors may set requirements for annotated bibliographies (eg. how many references to include, length, and focus of annotation, etc).
Refer to the APA writing and style guidelines, when writing the text of your annotations. Use 'in text' citations when you refer to multiple sources in an annotation.
If your instructor has not set any specific requirements, your annotated bibliography in APA 7th edition format (Section 9.51, p 307) should:
- be formatted in alphabetical order, the same as you would any reference list
- have an annotation below the reference entry that is 0.5 inches from the margin, the same as you would format a block quote
- only have indented paragraphs if the annotation spans multiple paragraphs (indent the first line of the second and subsequent paragraphs as you would a block quote with multiple paragraphs)
*Content adapted from: American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed). https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000
- How to Prepare an Annotated BibliographyThis USC research guide provides information on how to write an annotated bibliography and review the resources.
- What is an Annotated Bibliography?This guide from Purdue OWL provides a definition of annotated bibliographies, and an overview of why they are useful.
Annotated Bibliography Resources
- Writing Annotated BibliographiesThe slides were adapted from a presentation for DSW students at the Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work. They include examples from the Pierce College Library, Purdue OWL, and University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill as well as information from the APA 7th edition Publication Manual.
- APA Writing Style and Grammar GuidelinesAPA includes guidelines for using bias free language, writing with precision and clarity, spelling and hyphenation and avoiding plagiarism.
- Practice Writing an AnnotationHere’s an opportunity for you to practice creating an annotation. You can find your own source, or use the sources linked in the form. Practice writing a descriptive and analytical/evaluative annotation.
Use the guiding questions on the form to help you. You'll receive a copy of your response when you submit. - Purdue OWL APA AnnotationExamples of annotations in APA format
- Academic WriterRefer to the quick guides in Academic Writer for information on how to write the reference entries, apply mechanics of style to annotations, and use bias-free language within annotations.
APA Publications in the Library
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font optionsCall Number: Doheny Memorial Library ReferenceISBN: 9781433832178Publication Date: 2019-10-01
