19th Century and 20th Century
Please note: The companion Research Guide, French 307 (Paris: Maymester - 2021) has additional information about the 19th century and the 20th century.
The information included on this page complements the information appearing in French 307.
Our collection of books relating to 19th century and 20th century France is quite large. An effective search strategy is to search our catalog by using the filter Subject. For example:
french literature 19th century or french history 19th century or french civilization 19th century
french literature 20th century or french history 20th century or french civilization 20th century
Databases 19th Century
- C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new windowDraws on indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content.
Historical Events
Dreyfus Affair - Library of Congress. Information on Search Strategies and links to Selected Articles.
Paris Capital of the 19th Century. A digital project initiated by the French Studies and Comparative Literature Departments of Brown University. It provides a window into the cultural, political and social context of 19th century Parisian culture. It offers online access to pictorial works and texts selected from the collections at the John Hay Library.