Film databases
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowThis essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowFilm Index International is an international film database focusing on entertainment films and personalities FII was developed by the British Film Institute and gives full international coverage of films and film personalities from over 180 countries up to the present day.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowThis includes the Master Academic Video, World Cinema and the Master Career & Technical Education collections. Master Academic includes over 40,000 videos in the humanities and social sciences, science, business and economics, health and medicine. The World Cinema Collection includes over 1,000 titles from the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
- Icarus Films Collection This link opens in a new windowIcarus Films is a leading distributor of documentary film. With over 40 years in the film distribution business, Icarus Films has assembled an impressive collection in many area of social and political concern.
News and Newspapers
For in-depth lists of French news sources available online see:
French Newspapers Online Newspaper Directory for the World - Europe.
MIT Research Guide Foreign Language News and Newspapers: French.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowThis database offers access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
TV Channels
France TV Stations 107 TV stations from France.
Online Film Resources
Databases
Le Cinema Francais - Base de donnees
CNC: Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée.
Lumiere. The data base Lumière provides a systematic compilation of available data on admissions of the films released in European cinemas since 1996. The data base is the result of the collaboration between the European Audiovisual Observatory and the various specialised national sources as well as the MEDIA Programme of the European Union.
Miscellaneous resources
L'Avant--Scène Cinema. Includes Revue mensuelle and La Critique de la Semaine (interviews).
Cahiers du Cinema - French Film Magazine (Monthly).
Cannes Film Festival The first edition of the Festival was originally set to be held in Cannes in 1939 under the presidency of Louis Lumière. However, it was not until over a year after the war ended that it finally took place, on 20 September 1946. It was subsequently held every September – except in 1948 and 1950 – and then every May from 1952 onwards.
Cesar Award (Académie des Arts et Techniques du Cinéma) The César Award is the national film award of France; it is delivered in the Nuit des César ceremony and it was first awarded in 1976. The nominations are selected by the members of twelve categories of filmmaking professionals and supported by the French Ministry of Culture.[1] The nationally televised award ceremony is held in the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris each February.
ina (Institut National Audiovisuel). L'Ina est une entreprise publique culturelle de l'audiovisuel chargée de la sauvegarde, de la valorisation et de la transmission de notre patrimoine audiovisuel.
La Cinematheque Francaise la Cinémathèque française a été créée en 1936 par Henri Langlois, Georges Franju, Jean Mitry et Paul Auguste Harlé. Elle est devenue au fil des ans l'une des archives les plus célèbres dans le monde grâce à la richesse de ses collections. Longtemps installée au palais de Chaillot, la Cinémathèque française occupe depuis septembre 2005 un bâtiment moderne construit par l'architecte Frank Gehry, 51 rue de Bercy (Paris 12e). Lors de l'inauguration de la nouvelle Cinémathèque, Martin Scorsese a déclaré : « Les réalisateurs du monde entier connaissent la Cinémathèque française, même s'ils n'y sont jamais venus. C'est notre demeure spirituelle. »
Unifrance Unifrance is the organisation in charge of promoting French cinema throughout the world.
Created in 1949, in the form of an association under the law of 1901, Unifrance is under the supervision of the CNC (Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée). The association has nearly 1000 members: producers of feature films and shorts, exporters, sales agents, directors, actors, authors (screenwriters) and talent agents.