Catalogues and Literary Resources Online - French and Francophone Studies - A Research Guide to Resources - Research Guides at University of Southern California

Online Catalogs

Catalogue Collectif de France (CCFr) Le Catalogue Collectif de France (CCFr) constitue l'outil de recherches bibliographiques et documentaires le plus riche du domaine français.

Gallica. Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plus de 2 millions de documents.

International Online Catalogues

World Digital Library (WDL). This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections. (...) Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials in the WDL collection are presented in their original languages; more than 100 languages are represented, including many lesser known and endangered languages.

Europeana, le patrimoine de l'Europe en ligne "39 millions de documents numérisés issus des collections de plus de 3 000 institutions culturelles (livres, manuscrits, estampes, photographies, sons…)".

Réseau francophone numérique (RFN). Créé en 2006 à l’initiative des bibliothèques nationales de Belgique, du Canada, de France, du Luxembourg, du Québec et de Suisse, réunies à Paris à l’initiative de la BnF, le Réseau francophone numérique réunit 25 des plus grandes institutions documentaires de la francophonie.

Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of 5,000 full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with nineteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.
The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Europeana Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
World War I, Hildegard of Bingen, Art Nouveau, and the Euro are all covered in the multilingual Europeana archive.
This prodigious site includes over 15 million digital items culled from about 1,500 institutions throughout Europe, including the National Archives of Finland, the Germanisches National Museum, the British Library, and the Slovak National Gallery. Content includes images, videos, and film clips both individually and in curated online exhibitions.
Early European Books This link opens in a new window
This is an extraordinary resource at its inception and will be even more so upon its completion in a few years.
The scope of the collection is to provide high quality color scans, from the originals, not from microfilm, of all material printed in Europe or in European languages from the birth of printing (c.1455) to 1700. Based on holdings of a variety of major European libraries. The three initial collections, ultimately represent 4.1 million pages, are based on library collections in Denmark, Italy, the Netherlands and England. The project is successor and a complement to the 125,000 titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) already held by USC.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library is a cooperative project of the Library of Congress, the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and partner libraries, archives, and educational and cultural institutions from the United States and around the world.
The project brings together on a single website rare and unique documents â books, journals, manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, films, and sound recordings â that tell the story of the worldâs cultures. The site is intended for general users, students, teachers, and scholars. The WDL interface operates in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. The actual documents on the site are presented in their original languages

Online Collections

Early European Books This link opens in a new window
This is an extraordinary resource at its inception and will be even more so upon its completion in a few years.
The scope of the collection is to provide high quality color scans, from the originals, not from microfilm, of all material printed in Europe or in European languages from the birth of printing (c.1455) to 1700. Based on holdings of a variety of major European libraries. The three initial collections, ultimately represent 4.1 million pages, are based on library collections in Denmark, Italy, the Netherlands and England. The project is successor and a complement to the 125,000 titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) already held by USC.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) a digital library of works from STC I (Pollard & Redgrave), STC II (Wing), and the Thomason Tracts - over 125,000 individual titles.
Through EEBO, you can search the bibliographic citations, browse online the digital images of every page,download the digital images in PDF format for more extensive viewing and printing. From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content.
The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages. Currently available are over 10,000,000 pages in the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;British Politics and Society;British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High & Popular Culture//European Literature, 1790-1840.
Poem Finder This link opens in a new window
Poem Finder indexes 600,000 poems and includes over 50,000 poems in full-text.
Covering poetry from antiquity to the present from around the world from 3,000 anthologies, 4,500 single-author works, and periodicals such as The New Yorker. Poems are available only in English translation. Includes full bibliographic information for poem sources. The database is continually updated

Literature Online

ABU La Bibliotheque Universelle: L'accès libre au texte intégral d'oeuvres du domaine public francophone sur Internet depuis 1993.

ARTFL Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a large variety of other Subscriber Databases.

Athena E-texts . Online Full-texts by French authors. Created in 2009, this site is regularly updated and enlarged.

Ressources (en ligne) Internet Francophones. This is a portal which provides comprehensive access to a multitude of French ressources relating the arts, culture, and and literature.

Erudit Érudit est la plus importante plateforme de revues francophones révisées par les pairs en Amérique du Nord. Érudit rassemble en un seul point près de 150 éditeurs canadiens universitaires et culturels, y compris les plus prestigieuses presses universitaires canadiennes de langue française.

Fabula - La Recherche en Littérature . Actualités, Revues, Ressources.

Langue française du XIXe siècle. Cette page – disons foyer d'accueil – donne accès à un site sur la Langue française du XIXe siècle. Elle possède plusieurs portes s'ouvrant sur des espaces du XIXe siècle; d'autres portes apparaîtront.

Litterature Audio Plus de 4500 livres audio gratuits: Nos livres audio sont gratuits et téléchargeables au format mp3 pour que vous puissiez les écouter partout, par exemple sur votre baladeur numérique.

Marandet Collection of French plays. The University of Warwick's Marandet collection of 18th- and 19th-century French plays is a unique resource and one of the most significant collections of its kind in the country. There are over 2000 plays from the period 1700-1830 and a similar number from the period 1830-1900. Most of the plays were acquired originally by a 19th-century French collector, Amédée Marandet, who was himself an actor and playwright. Many of the works and their authors have now been forgotten but the collection is extremely rich in popular drama of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Poésie Française Plus de 6000 poèmes de langue française, du Moyen-Âge au début du XXème siècle.

Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links. 2nd Edition - Now a 10,000-Link Globe-Gate Supersite.

Voice of the Shuttle A gateway website which provides access to online resources across a broad spectrum of interests and disciplines within the Humanities, including anthropology, history, women and gender. .French resources are limited but can be retrieved by using the Search key phrase: "French History".

Print Resources at USC Libraries

Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft (1956-1958); (1960—) by Otto Klapp. Call No.: Reference Z2171 .B, Doheny Memorial Library and Grand Depository.

Bibliographie de la littérature française du Moyen Age à nos jours (1966-1980) par René Rancoeur. Doheny Memorial Library JRNLSTACKS Z2171 .B56

French and Francophone Studies - A Research Guide to Resources: Catalogues and Literary Resources Online

Online Catalogs

Databases

Online Collections

Literature Online

Print Resources at USC Libraries