Arts-related Fields
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new windowArt and Architecture Archive is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Each journal/magazine issue is scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and has a fully searchable text.
- Art and Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new windowThe A&A ePortal is an eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowProvides access to abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective: 1929 -1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowNonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowBHA is the most comprehensive art history bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American art and material culture from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to the present.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field.
Open Access
Archives Portal Europe. One of the largest portals for entry to archival collections in Europe. Search by topic across institutions or by country.
British Society for Eighteenth Century Studies. This society was founded in 1071 to promote the study of the eighteenth century, not only as it was experienced in Britain but throughout the world. The website is a gateway to substantial research in the eighteenth century. The resource page is a gateway to additional sites of relevance and interest to scholars and others with an interest in the eighteenth century.
C18th Connect - Eighteenth Century Online. A search portal. 18thConnect gathers together information about and links to the best primary and secondary texts that are available in digital form, either freely available on the Web or available by subscription.
CollEX Persée.CollEx-Persée is a scientific and technical information research infrastructure, set up in 2017. It brings together, in the form of a scientific interest group, 21 research establishments (members or associates), 4 national operators (Persée for digitization; the Abes for bibliographic data; the CTLES for the preservation of documents; the INIST-CNRS for data mining), the National Library of France and around a hundred labeled structures for their collections of excellence . Its objective is to facilitate access and promote the use of library collections by researchers in a context where relations between these two communities are put to the test due to technical developments and the massive availability of documentary resources. online that changed the search process.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Open Edition. Brings together four platforms dedicated to electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences.
Portal Persée. Created in 2005, the Persée portal brings together complete collections of journals, conference proceedings, series and books. It now houses 356 collections, i.e. more than 900,000 documents, which are regularly enriched with new titles. These scientific publications are mainly in the humanities and social sciences, but also in the earth and environmental sciences. (…) . The collections of publications extend from the 19th to the 21st century (the oldest published scientific article dates from 1821).
Romanische Bibliographie (Electronic Access from Gallica: 1965-1992).
Humanities
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles from over 500 English and foreign language philosophy journals.
- PIO - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.