Searching our Catalog for Books Relating to the Medieval Period
Our collection of books relating to the medieval and Renaissance periods is quite large. An effective search strategy is to searchi our catalog by using the filter Subject.
For example, for the medieval period:
french literature medieval or french history medieval or french civilization medieval
For the Renaissance period:
french literature renaissance or french history renaissance or french civilization renaissance
Medieval and Renaissance Period - Databases
- Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale Online: International This link opens in a new windowBibliographie de Civilisation Medievale (BCM) is a bibliography of books that can be searched together with or separately from the IMB (Brepols International Directory of Medievalists.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is the international reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period.
- International Directory of Medievalists This link opens in a new windowThe International Directory of Medievalists will contain the names and addresses of specialists from over 70 different countries for the majority of their fields of study.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of articles on medieval and renaissance topics.
Open Access Resources
BP16 (Bibliographie des éditions parisiennes du 16e siècle) a pour objet le recensement de la production imprimée à Paris tout au long du XVIe siècle. Rédigée d’après les manuscrits de Philippe Renouard (1862-1934) conservés à la Réserve des livres rares de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, elle porte une attention particulière à la résolution des éditions partagées, au signalement des émissions ainsi qu'à l'identification du matériel typographique.