Eighteenth century - French and Francophone Studies - A Research Guide to Resources - Research Guides at University of Southern California

!8th Century Resources

Please note: The companion Research Guide, French 307 (Paris: Maymester - 2021) has additional information about 18th century resources.

The information included on this page complements the information appearing in French 307.

Our collection of books relating to 18th century France is quite large. An effective search strategy is to search our catalog by using the filter Subject. For example:

french literature 18th century or french history 18th century or french civilization 18th century

Databases

Eighteenth-century Scholarship Online (18thConnect) This link opens in a new window
A sister-organization for NINES, 18thConnect gathers together a community of scholars that shapes the world of digital resources.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
One of the largest resources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm or electronic formats.
The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This collection captures the essence of the Enlightement in Great Britain in multiple academic disciplines, including history, literature, geography, social sciences, fine arts, religion, philosophy, and law.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
The purpose of Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal for Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835 is to make available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
The primary aim of the portal is to promote a truly broad representation of the culture of print journalism in the eighteenth century, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

History

French Revolution Digital Archive (Stanford U. and Bibliothèque nationale de France). A multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.

Societies

American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies. The foremost society for the study of all aspects of the period from the later seventeenth through the early nineteenth century.

International Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ISEC). Founded with the initiative of Theodore Besterman, ISEC promotes the growth, development and coordination of studies and research relating to the eighteenth century in all aspects of its cultural heritage (historical, philosophical, ideological, religious, linguistic, literary, scientific, artistic, juridical) in all countries, without exception; the Society is non-profit-making and non-political. The website offers links to websites on 18th century topics and figures and to research centers.

Resources

Eurodocs - France: 1789-1871.

French and Francophone Studies - A Research Guide to Resources: Eighteenth century

!8th Century Resources

Databases

History

Societies

Resources