Contact Your Librarian
Spring Office Hours:
Tuesdays 10a - 12p
Wednesdays 12:30p - 2:30p
kvukic@usc.edu
Welcome to the Psychology Research Guide
Welcome!
This online guide to research at the University of Southern California Libraries is intended to assist students and faculty as they formulate, develop, and complete research projects within psychology.
Using this guide is easy! Just navigate through the tabs, located to the left of this box, and follow the instructions for your chosen task. It's that simple!
Quick Notes:
- If you're looking for Applied Psychology resources, visit the separate Research Guide at: https://libguides.usc.edu/appliedpsyc
- If you're in our Applied Behavior Analysis program, be aware that all of the key journals you need are all in the PsycINFO database, so start your research there
- IMPORTANT -- ALWAYS access databases and search engines (including Google Scholar) through a USC Libraries page! This links your computer to the USC databases to which you have FREE access and for which you've already paid.
Questions?
- Email Kelsey Vukic (kvukic@usc.edu), Social and Behavioral Sciences Librarian
- 24/7 chat and more reference options: Ask-A-Librarian
Where Do I Start?
Not Exactly Sure Where To Start?
To know where to look, you first need to know what you are looking for. Think about all the aspects you need to address your topic, these become your initial "keywords". Then it's time to start digging into your topic.
- Define your topic
- Identify keywords and terms to assist you in searching for articles and other resources
- Find background information; items in the Reference collection - particularly subject encyclopedias - are great starting points for your research (Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.)
- From your selected articles and databases, locate additional keywords and subject terms to focus and expand your search
The USC Libraries tutorials is a great place to start identifying the best search engines for your research questions. Additional resources include the Developing Keywords tutorial and Searching Solutions research guide.
Citation Management Programs
Managing all the materials you find and review is a key to success. Citation management programs allow you to import references from various databases and organize them to meet your needs. For more information, visit the USC Libraries Citation Guide and Library Tips: Choosing a Citation Manager and Citation Managers.
Find additional Resource guides under More.
- EndNote Online (through Web of Science)Citation management system free to USC faculty, students and staff. On the navigation bar or under My Tools, create an account by clicking on the EndNote link. EndNote Desktop is available through the USC Bookstore.
- PapersCitation management system; $79 for a personal license.
Related Research Guides
Quicklinks
- Citation LinkerLocate individual articles from their citation
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- IDDUSC Interlibrary loan and Document Delivery (IDD) service information; link to account on the right
- Renew Books onlinevia My Account: sign in, click on your name, then click on My Account